Paula’s Perspective- Pitch and Patch

July 24, 2008 at 3:17 am 17 comments

“Oh Mercy…. What have I gotten myself into now ?”

My thoughts as I stood outside the Street Department looking at this ….. this machine!!

How did this all begin? A comment from a reader: Jack Brake of Warren Power Attachments

Paula,
Is it too late to discuss solutions regarding the pothole problem you are having? I found your article when looking for something else.
I offer a pothole patcher that uses spray injection patching. In your article you mention that spray injection patching requires a skilled operator and the equipment cost is higher. I agree that some of our competition is more expensive and takes a lot of little tricks to run properly. I assure you that our patcher will be cost effective and is VERY easy to operate. In less than an hour I could have YOU effectively running the machine. Generally, operating total patcher costs about 1/2 the amount of the traditional methods. It also takes less labor and the patches are permenant. With this savings a city can generally make the machine pay for itself is a short time.
Please let me know if this is still open for discussion!
Thanks,
Jack Brake

So here we are today…….

Thankfully Paula’s Posse was there for moral support. Thanks to Mike Challendar, Henery, Liz Tobias, Mum Stack and of course “That Woman” Loraine Ritchey. (What did Jim Smith mean when he said, “Now what are you two up to??” when he saw us at Chello’s this morning?!

As soon as we pulled out of the Street Department we were at the first Patch to Pitch. This corner was chosen for its close proximity to the Department so Chuck can easily monitor. I was thinking of using one of my old campaign wickets and making a sign to designate this as Paula’s Pothole but I’m not sure it would last very long (the sign that is).

Jack Brake from Warren Power Attachments was a good sport in directing me in how to apply. It wasn’t hard to do. The hard part was trying to be sure I didn’t trip/fall in the other potholes around as I was spraying and that a vehicle didn’t get too close causing Paula to be part of the fill.

After experiencing this I have a new respect for the people who do repair work on our roads.

There was only so much “stone” to work with so we had to move down the road to work on patches by St. Stan’s church. Just before we were to begin on the final hole the Mayor Krasienko and Service Director Gilchrist showed up. (Wow now I really felt like I was under the microscope) Thank goodness I had my Hard Hat on (supplied by Chuck) and I even have my very own steel toe shoes ….. maybe I’ll wear them to council in case someone tries to step on my toes ;)

The real proof if this or any other machine is the answer will be when they (the potholes) go through a freeze/thaw cycle, heavy rain, plowing and a year of Lorain weather.

I appreciate everyone’s courtesy that was extended to me; I really do want to help this poor city in regaining some of its dignity.

ED NOTE: and it only took 15 minutes for Paula to get the hang of it by the time we reached St. Stan’s she could pitch and patch with the best of them Paula – Pitchin and a Patchin-rockin and rollin
video Henery Hawk
Photos Liz Tobias


FOR MORE INFORMATION ON THE PROCESS CHECK OUT TOTAL PATCHER http://www.warrenpowerattachments.com

Henery Hawk of Lorain County Photographers Blog will be following up on the potholes to see how well Paula’s Patch holds up!

Entry filed under: city of lorain, Paula's Perspective. Tags: .

PITCH AND PATCH PAULA- COULD IT BE DONE?? Free Flow Information Act – by Kelly Sagert

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Paula , THANK YOU FOR ALSO BEING A GOOD SPORT Henery for answering when I hollered HELP and Liz for the “idea” in the first place and the city who also enabled Pitch and Patch Paula do do “her thang” and Jack and his machine…. It was high time there was some “postive humor” on our roads as well as “exploring different avenues when it comes to the potholes” Thanks everybody ….Loraine

  • 2. Buster's Momma  |  July 24, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Anything the city can do, a girl can do better! :-)
    Way to show ‘em how it’s done!

  • 3. Henery  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Didn’t I tell you, Loraine?

    That was a nifty machine, though I’m gonna have to get with Chuck about the hole patched at Elyria Ave and 21st. I was by there 3x today, NOT by choice, and didn’t see it. In the PPP set on the Hawk’s Nest flickr site, I photographed the street posts as a reminder of where exactly the pitch patched potholes are. For me to go back to, and anyone else if they’re curious.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 25, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Henery : Yeah you did :)
    Thanks will check them out Loraine

  • 5. Dave Cotton  |  July 25, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    now THAT’S leadership!
    Way to go Paula!!
    D

  • 6. Brandon  |  July 26, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    hey you go girll

  • [...] few weeks back, I got invited to Paula’s Pothole Party. The first venue was at the corner of E. 34th and Elyria Avenue. While we waited for everything to [...]

  • 8. Mark A. Leaders  |  September 30, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Paula,

    My name is Mark Leaders, I own a business called Leader Machinery Company. I was searching the internet and ran across your blog detailing your demonstration of the Total Patcher. I too market a spray injection road repair machine, it is called the Dura Patcher. I would be honored if you would give me the chance to come to your city and show you my patcher. This would have the added benefit of giving you another reason to wear your hardhat and steel toed shoes. If we end up patching on the street I will even go as far as suppling you with a safety vest, (you can choose the color either safety yellow or safety yellow).

  • 9. Brian  |  October 2, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Reminds me of the time when I tried to change the radio station in my wifes car and she told me the radio played both kids of music, country AND western.

  • 10. Paula  |  October 4, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Mark,
    What an offer! But that decision is up to :

    Street Department Commissioner – Chuck Camera (440) 244-4294

    Good luck and appreciate the opportunity.

    Paula

  • 11. Mark A. Leaders  |  October 12, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Paula,

    Thanks, I’ll get in touch with him. Maybe we can lay some winter patches for the City. Hope to see you some time

    Mark

  • [...] Remember back to a hot and sultry July when our own Paula Tobias geared up and “patched the potholes”! http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/07/24/paulas-perspective-pitch-and-patch/ [...]

  • 14. Giving Credit #2 « Buster's House  |  July 15, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    [...] Paula, O Paula, wherefore art thou Pitch Patch Paula? Tags: [...]

  • 15. Paula Tobias  |  June 4, 2013 at 10:34 am

    I see the City has finally considered this idea.

  • 16. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 4, 2013 at 11:16 am

    yes only took them 5 YEARS!!!!! geesh

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 147 other followers

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers