A “RIGHT” MOTHER!!!!

May 9, 2009 at 11:11 pm 11 comments


by Loraine Ritchey thatwb@yahoo.com

I could write reams and reams about my own mum and actually have done so nana3
A Mothers Book
http://thewomblog.com/?p=120
Lest W Forget
http://thewomblog.com/?p=128
Valiant- Revisited
http://thewomblog.com/?p=983

But my thoughts today are not about thanking mums but on what it is like to be a mother.

My own child will be celebrating her first Mothers Day . As I left the hospital that night ,just over a month ago, I thought of how her life would change. She has just started her journey as a mother; it is a journey that has no end whilst we are still among the living.
gavin1

As she cradled that new little life in her arms and took him into her heart, I knew like millions of “us mothers” she would fight the devil himself to protect him from harm and hurt.

It really doesn’t matter how big he gets or how old- she will always be a mother. Mothers are expected to let go when their child reaches a certain age and maturity , gets married , starts a life of their own. A mother is expected to step back – not interfere- let their child “fly” into the world and for the most part we do.
nikchr

However, there will be times that “being a mother “ will over ride any protocol , people , situations , embarrassment and no matter the age of mum and child she will “charge in where others fear to tread”

Sometimes she is not thanked , infact just the opposite BUT that doesn’t matter in the least to her as long as child is safe and happy . If you are a “right mother” your own wellbeing, happiness, concern for self comes in a distant 2nd place

So on this Mother’s Day to all you “mothers” I hope you continue to be a RIGHT MOTHER”

They may cut the umbilical chord but they can never sever the heart strings!

Entry filed under: Brit take, personal opinion, Uncategorized, Women of Worth. Tags: .

A Thatwoman Review- Freedom’s Light One man’s graffiti- another man’s art?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  May 10, 2009 at 12:13 am

    You nailed it. There is nothing like a Mother’s Love.
    I want to thank my mother and my grandmothers for being the women that they are. They helped to make me the woman that I am today.
    Oh yes, and thank you to all the women that are mothers to the “children” in this world, your love and care are just (if not more) important than a blood mother.

  • 2. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  May 10, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    You are so right, Loraine . . . Happy Mother’s Day to all!

  • 3. thatwoman  |  May 10, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Of course you can’t be a “right mother” and be wrong! :)

  • 4. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  May 10, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Excellent point . . .

  • 5. Mark  |  May 11, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mothers out there, especially to the Mothers that write for this blog! Bless you all.

    I woke my son up at 7:30 this am, and we went up to the Church, and helped prepare and cook breakfast for the Mothers of our parish and their families. 150+, I was told. (My son thought it was great, his first real ‘cooking’ experience.) My daughter, wife, Mom, and Grandmother were there. Also took the Mrs. and the kids to Applebee’s yesterday.

    Hope y’all had a fun day with your families!!

  • 6. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  May 11, 2009 at 11:05 am

    What a wonderful thing for you and your son to do, Mark!

    My husband cooked steak for us on the grill . . .

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  May 11, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Well I received my frogs ( well tadpoles actually) we had a problem with the pump and the last of the frogs got caught up in it – now I have to get another pump…so my darlin son came over with 8 large tadploes and a Koi…. then we went to Eagles nest and had lovely steaks and the works…… and took the baby for a walk a great day …..

  • 8. Ngaire  |  May 11, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    I’ll share with you what is written in my (handmade) Mother’s Day card from my daughter, son-in-law and 2 beautiful grandchildren:
    “Dear Mum
    Happy mothers and grandmothers day!! We don’t know what we would do without you, your love and support and interest in our lives is wonderful and we cherish it.
    Each day we learn more about parenting and it makes us realize what a great mum you are, what a great job you did and continue o do by sharing in the lives of our children.
    Love you lots and lots and more each day!
    Felicity, Anthony, Alannah and Hamish xxx”
    Am glad I have shared this with you all – what goes around comes around eh? We had a lovely relaxing lunch (soup and sandwich) with a great Aussie dessert – pavlova to finish! Nice.
    love to all mums. Ngaire

  • 9. Loraine Ritchey  |  May 11, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Ngaire ( pronounced Nyree) is a “right mother ” from “down under” word is spreading as it seems we made the Plain Dealer

    http://blog.cleveland.com:80/pdworld/2009/05/what_local_bloggers_are_saying_24.html

    good job I cropped that picture of mum eh?

  • 10. Buster's Momma  |  May 11, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Better late than never, I hope that you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day! It sounds like everyone enjoyed some peace and relaxation, at least for the day.
    As for your post, Loraine, truer words were never spoken! No matter how new or old, small or large, sick or healthy the child[ren] may be, Mothers will always do whatever needs to be done to take care of the child[ren], NO MATTER WHAT.
    PS: I’ve quit reading those books! ;-)

  • [...] I will cry tears of happiness and sadness this Mother’s Day I will hold my daughter and my mother close and remember ……………… They may cut the umbilical chord but they can never sever the heart strings! http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/a-right-mother/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers