“In Search of My Son- Chris RITCHEY- Thanks

January 8, 2010 at 7:47 pm 11 comments


Artwork Chris RITCHEY
In search of my son series

No1. - “In search of my son and in search of me”

No.2 “Toujours Moi – Always Me”

No.3 “Always me – Always Chris”

I have realized in my journey to give my son back his voice, and to take him back from those that hold who he was captive with their limited knowledge of “who was Christopher David RITCHEY”, that I had an ally.

Cleveland Institute of Art has unwittingly and unknowingly given me my son’s voice . It was they that taught him how to use his talent, to express himself, to reach out , to speak , as he has done for me in recent days. As I have found and reviewed his work, I have once again heard his voice.

To that end, I contacted Cleveland Institute of Art , Chris’ family ( read RITCHEY)( father, mother, sister, nana and uncle) will sponsor a scholarship to be given to a 4th year Communications and Design Student . A scholarship in Chris’ name to the student that shows , tenacity, diversity , and stands behind their work no matter how controversial.

It is our way of thanking those that helped form my son and have in fact helped give him back to us.

to be continued……..

Entry filed under: Arts, Chris Ritchey, death, journey, men of substance. Tags: .

Always me – Always Chris What happens after you die?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kalin  |  January 10, 2010 at 4:45 am

    That’s outstanding news. Let us know who gets that scholarship and when they have a show.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 10, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I will Kalin I sent the check Friday and I will update … I am not finished yet……..although next week I take a little diversion along the journey ( and that will be a bit of a bumpy road ) but it all actually should make everything clear as to my journey eventually…… and I will be using some of Chris work even during the “diversion” :)

  • 3. Paula  |  January 10, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Loraine,
    May others contribute to this scholarship as well?
    If so, do you have an address/name etc where they may be sent?

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 10, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Yes if they so wish Loraine
    Attn D. Deming,
    Office of the President
    Cleveland Institute of Art
    11141 East Blvd
    University Circle
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106

  • 5. Antonio Barrios  |  January 10, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    wow What a great idea! Good luck. We would like to do something like that for the kids of Lorain County. You know Arts Concil has a local coloring contest for the kids here in Lorain and we have been discussing the possibility of honoring Chris here in Lorain my changing the name of our coloring contest to name it in honor of your son. Please let me know if that would be acceptable. Thank you again all you have done to help get the Lorain Arts Council back on it’s feet and independent.

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Antoniio , I know he would be so honored and I know I am ….. you have brought tears to my eyes. THANK YOU!!! I just cannot bear to think that Chris’ name just ends up an etching on a cold slab of granite..his obitutary was terrible it broke my heart… but then I was not consulted about that either. Chris was so much about life and laughter and enjoying the talents of others ……

    Please let me know and of course you can expect a donation from this family to the Lorain Arts Council and I also wanted to thank you for publicizing the fund raiser that ironically then paid for a funeral and closure his family were not a allowed….. anyway I am sorry I digress the wound still bleeds…. I will be in touch Loraine

  • 7. dave C  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Excellent tributes to Chris – both the CIA scholarship and the local coloring contest!!

  • 8. Antonio Barrios  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Loraine, I know the wound is deep and pain won’t subside. I still mourn my grandson, stolen from me by a cowards bullet. I can’t find answers but I am trying to continue……… what I am not sure of so I must still have a purpose. The Lorain Arts Council is so very grateful for all of your help, the naming of our coloring contest is just a small way of showing how much we think of you and Chris. Take your time. Ciao, Antonio

  • 9. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 14, 2010 at 2:56 am

    I know Antonio a “coward indeed” and the great pain and loss of youth …..makes us old …….

  • 10. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 14, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Dave I find more and more of Chris ‘ work daily in fact I have taken a lot over to Nikki – some of the work should not be hidden away in portfolios, other pieces I am giving to people who loved him …. but today it was strange I came across a reading notebook , tucked away in a window seat, I decided to do some cleaning .it was from about the 4th grade ( and Chris as you know had some reading issues when he was youngevery page had drawings all over it not one thing to do with reading. :)

  • [...] deceit that found us reeling and still does wound. We decided as I wrote in my blog post of thanks http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/in-search-of-my-son-chris-ritchey-thanks/ to have a “living” memorial for Chris. one that gives back, embraces his life and [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers