X- “HER VIKING “- Chris Ritchey

October 3, 2010 at 11:40 am 6 comments

The bitter sweet memory of an October day – the 3rd- one year ago , we all had gathered to see you back off to Texas- exactly two months later and you would be gone from us for good – the picture taken on that day used in your obituary.

We had gathered at Nikki and Jim’s – Nana, Uncle, Misty, Dad and I – you and Jim were leaving to drive the truck back to Texas and I would fly down to make sure the apartment and food etc was ready and waiting for you.

Nana hadn’t seen you in weeks, she didn’t recognize you at first, your hair had come back but dark and you had a goatee. She looked at you standing by Nikki’s large windows overlooking the woods and said

Oh! Chris you look just like a Viking, and that is how I am going to think of you as MY Viking.

That was the last time Nana saw you- that is how she remembers you. She clings to that memory, she was trying to put on her “footie” with some difficulty, you noticed, when others didn’t, bent down and without a word helped her slip it on. That last gesture of love is what she remembers.

Two months later , as you lay hooked up to that vent and the sun shone on your face , your beard had continued to grow – I thought, as I saw the red gold shimmer on your cheek that December day, you truly could be a Viking, in looks and courage.
I had sat in that folding chair by your bed for so many hours that my legs had swollen to twice their size, I was so tired Chris and so full of despair, my brain seemed numb like I was on some drug- heavy and wooly headed. I felt like I was breathing and living underwater everything was so surreal and still is. I didn’t know how much longer I could sit there – but I was frightened to leave you as information on your condition had been witheld from us in the hours before. I needed to be with you but my body too was breaking down and then you slipped away silently with love.

I would have given anything to change places with you if I could have – so that once again Nana’s Viking could have walked the woods on an autumn day and watched as the leaves turn to red and gold.

I WATCHED YOU SUFFER- A DULL ACHING PAIN

and WILD HORSES………..


Viking Ship- crafted by Chris Ritchey

I. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/in-search-of-my-son-and-in-search-of-me/

II. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/today-the-third-is-a-trigger/

III. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/the-gift-chris/

IV. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/04/03/love-plus-loss-does-not-equal-logic/

V. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/no-answers-my-son-chris-ritchey/

VI.http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/vi-pers-chris-ritchey/

VII. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/no-7-chris-ritchey/

VIII – http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/08/02/fate-plus-eight-chris-ritchey/

IX-http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/09/03/remember-the-kind-of-september-chris-ritchey/

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, grief, men of substance, personal opinion. Tags: , , , .

Flames-the fire of talent and remembering-CIA- Chris Ritchey Lorain County Beautiful Awards 2010

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  October 3, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    sending you much love ♥

  • 2. Mary  |  October 4, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Loraine, the 5th of this month will be the four year passing of our Sean. Can’t really speak right now. Remembering my own vigil with Sean. But know that I’m praying and thinking of you.

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 4, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I have no words of comfort Mary just understanding as I see what Chris passing has done to his sister……….so my heart is with you as is hers and Mary thank YOU!

  • 4. Mark  |  October 4, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    My prayers and thoughts are with you, Loraine.

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks Mark it is funny well not funny but not having “closure ” in the normal sense and that horrible obituary that was NOT written by us but the Committeee of 19 ……… has actually found this blog acting as our living obituary , “vistation”, memorial , place of rememberance and in some cases our church a depository for all the prayers and wonderful thoughts sent our way . and there is a comfort knowing that as long as there ise a WWW they will always be there in perpetuity .. hard to explain……….. but I think you understand…….. Love Loraine

  • 6. Happy 93 to my mum!!!! « That Woman’s Weblog  |  February 10, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    [...] hard on her http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/goodbye-my-luvleyful-grandson-chris-ritchey/ http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/x-her-viking-chris-ritchey/ and this year was another blow. Having to give up her independence ( through no fault or health [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers