“IT” wasn’t me update: YOU ARE IT!

July 6, 2011 at 3:19 pm 3 comments

The continuing trials and tribulations of IT
Part One :
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/the-i-t-non-factor-its-not-me/
Let us start with the good news:
TA DA!!!!!! CenturyLink they are awesome!!! Joey thanks so much – I did end up in good hands!

It seems that sometimes YOU AREN”T IT.
those that followed the post know that I was being blocked by the postmaster of CenturyLink as an abuser according to Spam Cop BUT my ip address ( when I checked) wasn’t listed. It seems that sometimes servers ( of which there are many especially under yahoo ( which is the addy I used) yahoo get blocked as a whole entity. Apparently Yahoo routinely takes care of that problem and I just happened to get caught up in the “culling”.
Nothing I could do IT WASN”T ME…

The Lorain Port Authority and its e-mail server ( which it turns out wasn’t CenturyLink) – is using Sorbs which has its own IT issues and IT WASN”T ME AGAIN although I am still hit and miss as to getting through- I just use the phone it is easier!

City of Lorain- this problem is quite strange _ and I am sure the IT people and city officials really can’t believe IT isn’t me. They have a weird problem going on there ….

The emails are still hit and miss even though they have taken off any blocking , they have allowed all my email addresses and still it has been going on for at least 9 weeks by my counting ! A very long time for any entity doing business to be hit and miss when dealing with their “clients”

For instance:I sent an email last week to 5 people in the City of Lorain – no links- no attachments -just plain text. I even put them ALL in the TO line You tell me WHY three got the email and 2 didn’t? Once again I got the message 12-14 hours AFTER sending the emails

Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address.

:
Mail server for “cityoflorain.org” unreachable for too long


Now that is a head scratcher…….. Joey maybe you can help ;)

Worryingly , although my emails aren’t important, in the grand scheme of things, there may be some that are and some frustrated citizens who aren’t tracking who got what and if they got it-

However over the weekend there arose in the City of Lorain an issue ( and definitely more on that later)

http://margareetaville.blogspot.com/2011/07/who-ya-gonna-call.html

Since it is my penchant to go to the source for an explanation I tried so to do. One of the people I tried to contact on a long weekend when the City of Lorain offices were closed were The Fire Chief and various council people who have cityoflorain email addresses.

You guessed it they ALL came back.Oh well so what? The ones whose private addresses I had got through BUT then when I called the Fire Chief he was disappointed I hadn’t contacted him as he could have explained the situation in which a local blogger and others found themselves.

Source
AHHHHHHHHHHHHH WELL I DID TRY and here is the result sent July 2nd 8:20.53 am.

Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address.
chief_brown@cityoflorain.org
Mail server for “cityoflorain.org” unreachable for too long

so although IT isn’t me – I am sure the city of Lorain IT dept wishes it were just thatwoman who was their problem ;)

LORAIN YOU HAVE A PROBLEM!!!!!!
I have actually given up on the City of Lorain communications in more ways than one lately but especially with their emails……….


Then we have Time Warner Cable -
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/time-warner-cable-tv-oh-it/
my problem is somewhat fixed although freezing and pixelating is still happening intermittently they have added amplifier in my basement which has helped solve the issue I had -can’t see them adding amplifiers in all homes though can you? .

I know their technicians are still working on a fix in Lorain because the google searches that are coming to this blog in ever-increasing numbers I was not alone with this problem and it is still happening to others .

In the meantime I am assured once more IT WASN”T ME!!! now if I could only convince the city ;)

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Blogging, Brit take, city of lorain, Corporate responsibility. Tags: , , .

The Lowest Ebb – I knew my son- Chris Ritchey When Literary License fuels the burn!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis Lamont  |  July 6, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    At least you get a message that they were unable to deliver it!
    I never know unless I get an answer.

    I’m out here in the boonies on T*********r (internet only) but it is darn fast most of the time. C*********k picks up on the barbed wire fence in the field behind me heads over to the twisted pair in the Old Birmingham Exchange (Green Line Station) and trundles into Lorain at the Green Line speeds.

  • 2. thatwoman  |  July 6, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    thanks for the smile…….. actually I only know the next day that the city didn’t get my mail and then it is only because I check my spam routinely because the announcement goes to spam ( probably because there are so many of the same messages :(

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers