“Well why would you think anyone would listen to you?”

March 14, 2012 at 7:05 pm 2 comments

Unfortunately for me, I have been around the block a few times in this city . I have a wealth of “background information” on events and organizations I have been involved with since my first tiptoing into being a volunteer – helping to save the Palace Theatre in 1975 when I was a bright young thing.

A lot of things and events have happened since those idealistic times. I was involved – boy was I involved! I had forgotten myself how many until I made up a list for my “obituary” – Yup!!! I am writing my own because I will have the last word :)

I have tried to make things happen in a positive way but ideals and ideas can be compromised by “people” and especially “personal agendas”.

Case in point:

A few years ago (2006) I had served my time limit on a local board ( volunteer) with a paid director, but I kept in the loop so to speak as I had also been a “founding member” of that organization and I wanted to see it succeed. Things started to worry me – things weren’t adding up-

I contacted the President of that BOD- two other Board members and said:

“I am very concerned about things I am hearing and have questions as to accounting decisions being made by the Director – I really think you need to look closely at the financials as they ARE and NOT AS projected. Something is definitely out of kilter – I may be wrong but I believe you need to be more involved and look at which accounts are being used for what projects and operating expenses- If I am wrong then fine but”………

I was politely thanked (by the banker BOD) for my input and told:

” We have every confidence in our Director – his expertise in non -profits was why he was hired- We are not going to second guess/ micro-manage his ability and the direction he is taking the organization”

The others said

Oh! Ok!


…..placated me and ignored me as well

Not one, I believe, wanted to be the messenger. Of course there was no follow through until “S-IT” hit the fan so to speak. Then there was a scrambling and what to do and could I come to a meeting on a “WAY FORWARD” – I said at the time of yet another reorganization meeting/ aka damage control :

I don’t know why this is situation has come as such a shock to the Board – you know you were given a heads up – I warned 3 of you that you should look into how things were being handled

Mr. Banker, looked perplexed and incredulous and said :

“Well why would you think anyone would listen to you?”

( The thought crossed my mind to answer …. because I thought that I had earned enough respect as to having served 10 years on this board and was good enough to donate money and time and what “little expertise” I had )

But actually I replied ‘

Pity you didn’t you wouldn’t have found yourself in this position

Anti-political correctness ad byChris Ritchey


I learned my lesson the hard way that day. The other lesson I have learned that a number of people aren’t prepared to bring out truth and circumstances- they really don’t want to hear the unpleasant truth – they might just have to act . A number want “muggins” here ( me or others like me) to do it for them “they give you the bullets and hope you will fire the gun” and they can distance themselves from any residue. Well muggins doesn’t do that anymore – another lesson I learned.

There are times I, and others, have given a heads up and it has fallen on deaf ears and so now I watch – because I have also learned there are usually “hidden agendas” – hidden and sometimes open relationships and it really does come down dogs and fleas :)

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain, Open for Discussion, opinion. Tags: , , .

Trees coming down Oberlin Ave – Meeting -Downtown Review Board Oberlin Avenue Tree Removal and Replacement Meeting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aka mozart  |  March 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    “they give you the bullets and hope you will fire the gun” and they can distance themselves from any residue.

    That ole gun has been passed around so much. I have never been a sharp shooter,,,but sometimes I can be pretty sharp. I may have not always hit “the target: but I am a straight shooter. I have taken some to task…and sometimes the gun has backfired.
    but I think I will clean out the barrel…close my eyes and hope for the best…

  • 2. Dennis Lamont  |  March 15, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    It’s all part of a dysfunctional community ….I have seen sooooo many totally stuuuuuuupid ideas taken elsewhere and flourish! I quit updating my maps.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers