“I trail my life behind me like an endless scarf-”

July 16, 2012 at 1:57 pm 6 comments

I feel as if I had been in the world a thousand years, and I trail my life behind me like an endless scarf“Act II – The Sea-Gull – Anton Chekhov (1860-1904)

I can relate – sometimes the scarf will twist, knot , catch, pulling at my throat forcing me to stop before I strangle.

Other times the wind of friendship will playfully lift its length from the path that is mine to tread causing the weight to be taken from me if just for a brief moment of respite. The freedom of lightness of days when I danced along on my journey eyes unseeing the succubus of wickedness , deceit and control, selfishness, hypocrisy and disease that lay in wait -

reaching out with bony fingers from the safety of their impenetrable blackness of control to grasp, to catch, to pull me into the realm of unhappiness and the dank decaying darkness of loss of trust .

A brief blinding of my eyes as the folds hid from view their true nature and now the scarf shape shifts and wraps like a serpent around my heart bringing with it the biting cold of their deeds and the obscenity of the cancer.

Yet once again, gentle hands of love and friendship tug and pull me back, loosening the grip of those who dwell in the darkness for just another moment in the light.
Sketch of Isadora Duncan – Jose Clara

It’s discouraging to think how many people are SHOCKED BY HONESTY by and HOW FEW BY DECEIT.”
― Noël Coward, Blithe Spirit

Note:

Isadora Duncan

Duncan’s fondness for flowing scarves was the cause of her death in an automobile accident in Nice, France when she was passenger in an Amilcar, and her silk scarf, draped around her neck, became entangled around the open-spoked wheels and rear axle, breaking her neck.

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Doctors/Physicians, grief, hell is other people, Love, Mothers, personal opinion. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Nana’s view from the top- Lorain Dude(s) – BLoomin’ Balcony Linking Landlords- bloggers- and picture this- Lorain

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  July 17, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Loraine,
    While I am not dealing with the same issues as you, I can relate and empathize as how one can sometimes be overwhelmed by things that pull you in many directions.

    There is only so much that a normal person is capable of. While some believe that certain people have super human strengths and abilities, we are all pretty much the same once we are turned inside out.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 17, 2012 at 11:15 am

    thanks Brian very bad day yesterday emotionally – not one where I should be in “charge” of anything even the “remote” :)

  • 3. aka/mozart  |  July 17, 2012 at 11:44 am

    the only thing good that comes out of a dark day..is when a brighter one is to follow…sometimes it just takes time to see it… We all suffer.

    I hope today is more gentle toward you…

  • 5. Darla Cuevas  |  July 30, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Glad your back.. love reading everything.

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 30, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I did ask the question last week before the computer withdrawal :) about your old property – so far no answer to my question :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 136 other followers

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers