BLACKLISTED- WHO KNEW? It is all in a IP

August 1, 2012 at 8:46 pm 11 comments

UPDATE NOTE FROM TIME WARNER :

Thank you for contacting Time Warner Cable, Road Runner email Support.

I am glad you have contacted us.

I will provide you the information.

Ernest, I understand your concern. We are currently experiencing problems with sending e-mails as
they are being Blocked. Our team have been made aware of the problem and are working to resolve it
as soon as possible. As of now, we don’t have any expected time period on when the issue will be
resolved. We appreciate your patience as we work towards a resolution as quickly as possible. We
apologize for any inconvenience caused
.

It is not a good week , first of all the “horrible trogolodytes ( no this time it isn’t the used to be in- laws) found a way to attack my computer and the “spy ware” had trouble keeping up so the “defender of my windows”…. sigh…. decided to shut me down in safe mode. 5 days later I have a computer back BUT then strange things started to happen when I sent roadrunner email.

My Ip ( roadrunner accouint) was being blocked by “spam cop” from the Chronicle Telegram and something called Spam Haus-zen and SORBS – these are spam filters. Of course you can’t get through to these people to say -

I may be prolific BUT honest I am not a spammer.



So feeling like a low life with a “dirty IP” showing to “media” and to local government – I scrolled through all the pertinent information I could find on how to delist my “dirty IP”.

Frustration- is it worth it these emails and computers? I have been down this road before here before with Yahoo and their rotating servers…… being blocked -which means Century Link and I are only sometimes “connected”.

http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/the-i-t-non-factor-its-not-me/

and
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/it-wasnt-me-update-you-are-it/


Still as I went through to the very German sounding Spam-Haus zen- ( you think they cottoned on I was English and that may have had a bearing? ;) they informed me as I tried to get delisted


Ref: PBL359036

XX.XX.XXX.XX is listed on the Policy Block List (PBL)
Outbound Email Policy of Time Warner Cable/Road Runner for this IP range:

It is the policy of Time Warner Cable/Road Runner to share with other entities lists of our dynamic IP address space. While Time Warner Cable/Road Runner does not currently forbid customers from sending out mail directly from such space, it recognizes that others may wish to refuse mail from such space, and so Time Warner Cable/Road Runner makes that space known to others to facilitate their enforcement of their policies. Customers finding their mail refused by others due to a PBL listing should send their outbound mail through the outbound mail server designated for them; see http://help.rr.com/HMSFaqs/e_emailserveraddys.aspx for more information on the servers’ names.

and then following through I get

THE PBL IS NOT A BLACKLIST. You are not blacklisted for spamming or for anything you have done.

TELL THAT TO THE SPAM COPS AND MEDIA AND GOVERNMENT IT UNITS-

The PBL is simply a list of ALL of the world’s end-user broadband IP space, i.e: IP space normally assigned to broadband/ADSL customers. It is perfectly normal for dynamic IP addresses (DSL, DHCP, cable, dialup) to be listed on the PBL. In fact all IP addresses in the world which are not designated mail server machines *should be* on the PBL.

The PBL does not prevent you sending email unless your email program is not authenticating properly when it connects to your ISP or company’s mail server. This can happen if you have forgotten to turn on ‘Authentication’ in your ‘outgoing mail’ account settings, or if the username/password your email program is giving to your outgoing mail server is wrong.

If you are using a normal email program, such as Outlook, Entourage, Thunderbird, Apple Mail, and you are being blocked by a Spamhaus PBL listing when you try to send email, the reason is simply that YOU NEED TO TURN ON ‘SMTP AUTHENTICATION’ in your email program’s account settings. See: How do I turn on SMTP Authentication?


Like a dutiful little -non computer savvy IT illiterate- I did what was requested . I would check it out to see whether it worked and I I have cleaned up my IP – but quite honestly is it worth it???? – maybe tomorrow I will clear my IP in the court of IT-

In the meantime , you call me I won’t be emailing you :) with my dirty IP showing. Oh the shame of it all- what was it my mother said about always having clean knickers does that equate to Ip ‘s now in this cyber world?

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Corporate responsibility, hell is other people, notorious opponents of exactitude, tongue in cheek. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A Tor – a burrow- hill- an Olympic image- all magic? August 3rd- Magic Lost – Chris Ritchey

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis Lamont  |  August 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Another thing that kicks off spam or anti-virus software is just sending a link and your first name in the body of the message. This is a common trick used by folk that hack your address book and send the bug out under your name. Needless to say don’t click on the link. Even ‘tho everyone does it. you are taking a risk opening a message with “no subject”. in the header.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 1, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    As you see Dennis for once ( or actually twice IT WASN’T ME !!!! :)
    boy though the IT people make you feel like scum :)

  • 3. Dennis Lamont  |  August 2, 2012 at 12:43 am

    All I can say is shame on them (in a posting that is)! Among the Yahoo Groups it is a common occurrence and I sent many messages to the real folks informing then that their mailbox has been hacked. I have never heard of the IT folk from Yahoo pestering them. Maybe the “superstars” from “elsewhere” ain’t all that well informed ????

  • 4. Dave  |  August 2, 2012 at 1:24 am

    Spam cop bit me today when I sent out the Workshop e-news. Only 4-5 addresses out of 350 bounced back at me… Like you I went to spam cop’s site and my IP address is NOT on their list. So, I have no idea why it kicked!!! I think it is the full moon… or maybe sun spots! ;-)

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Yes mine wasn’t listed with the Spam Cop either but it was with Sorbs and The Haus frau :) but not with the other 70 or so other “listers”…. trouble is you have no way of knowing what is happening or what is getting through and no announcements :)

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 2, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Dave annoying isn’t it and it is weird because once you are on a list they red flag you and then there is AOL a whole other situtation with their IP

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Dennis I don’t have a smart phone BUT I have noticed that a lot of the times when people send me something from one of them the “subject line is also missing” and since the one malware also has the subject line missing well I never know Sigh but as soon as yu see just a link delete………

  • 8. Mark Teleha  |  August 3, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Ain’t it great? Technology is so wonderfu. LOL

  • 9. Dennis Lamont  |  August 3, 2012 at 10:11 am

    It’s also a great money maker …..I was reading about the IRS sending out 5B (two little clicks, but an unimaginable amount) dollars to fraudulent addresses, many multiple addresses. Pretty dumb or irresponsible when you think about it. IRS, SS, Medicare and Medicare and the fraudsters are milking them (us) for a lot of money…..have you heard about this from any of our great slate of candidates ….no, you have to cut “entitlements”, it’s so much easier!

  • [...] pointed out an issue with my emails to the city of Lorain not going through more often than not. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/blacklisted-who-knew-it-is-all-in-a-ip/ Like a good little consumer I went the route I did as that is what I was supposed to – from [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers