Misty Morn- No more squirrels and pussycats……….Chris’ Dog

November 18, 2012 at 12:51 pm 15 comments

This should have been a post about the before and after of the Eric Barnes’ – Heroes Walk. Instead I once again am reduced to blinding tears. Misty , who some of you know used to be my guest blogger from time to time ,
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/category/misty/
who literally saved my husband from himself, grief of such depths from which only she could rouse him.

Misty Morn- Chris’ dog and companion who loved him I would think as much as we did and do- has joined her master.

She was fine yesterday morning , she did her rounds chased a couple of pussycats before her breakfast , sat out on the balcony in the sunshine surveying her territory. It was late afternoon when my husband said –

“something is wrong with Misty she had slowed way down

Could it be she had eaten something ? Had she been eating Tetley’s food again ? Maybe she need to have a walk to get the juices flowing. Even the word “walk” which used to send her in a frenzy of

YES! YES! YES! YES! ME! ME! ME!

tail wagging and jumping behaviour was only 40 percent of normal. They left for their walk and I went to a function with my grandsons.

When I returned home both Misty and my husband were not doing well-

Something is definitely wrong- Do you think she could have been poisoned?

Her symptoms were more of “bloat” but she didn’t seem to have a distended stomach- the decision was made we went to the Emergency Animal Clinic -

Misty’s large and loving heart was surrounded by blood- there was a tumour and somehow I gathered from the vet – to be perfectly honest I couldn’t really tell you what he was saying – his mouth was moving but I heard those words 60 per cent chance the tumour was cancerous and I was immediately transported to another waiting room in another time I couldn’t hear anything . The nurse came in it was now about 11 p.m. with my daughter, whose eyes too were red and crying.

What I did gather, as we waited, all three of us now awash with tears – this tumour had caused the bleeding around the heart – a bit like an aneurism. Pericardial Effusion


So once again a decision to say goodbye to a life – one that had given us so much in her short time here – who had mourned with us- kept us close and safe. Misty is no longer here this morning to chase her squirrels and terrorize the feral cats or hunt the forbidden frogs. She, like her master before her, will not feel the Christmas snow .

Oh Misty Morn …………………………

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Fathers, grief, MISTY. Tags: , , , , , .

Dedication Ceremony- Eric Barnes – Heroes Walk-The coverage The “Rescue” dog (s)- life -lines- love

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  November 18, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Oh, no! So, so sorry . . .

  • 2. gramster1  |  November 18, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Saying sorry is not enough. My heart mourns with you at the loss of Misty. Let it be said “Good Dog!” Love and hugs to all!

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    she was a life line for us…………. and especially my husband ……….

  • 4. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  November 18, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I could tell . . . how heartbreaking.

  • 5. Tony  |  November 18, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I am so sad so young only 6 RIP Misty

  • 6. margareetaville  |  November 19, 2012 at 2:08 am

    My heart is with you. I am so sorry . . .

  • 7. Mark Teleha  |  November 19, 2012 at 10:50 am

    I’m so sorry for everyone. She was such a sweetheart.

  • 8. Becky Smith  |  November 19, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Loraine and Ernie,
    I feel you loss. When my mother passed away in March my dog Libby, who looked just like Misty, was my salvation, my ears for my tears. She would be right by my side as I sat alone crying for my mother., As we who have pets know ,they have every ability to read emotions. My Libby was my salvation for healing. Exactly, two months after mom passed, Libby too had a sudden change in behavior and fell to a heart issue. It was so devastating to me. I feel so for your loss. I cried reading your post, for you and Ernie, but also for the loss I felt such a short time ago. We know Libby is with mom and at the “Rainbow Bridge” but it is still difficult as they are so much a part of your family. I still hear her in the house and when I arrive home and touch the door knob I think she is there greeting me and ready for her run. I send you lots of love and prayers to get through yet another loss in your lives. God bless you during this difficult time as I well know the pain and absence of man’s best friend.

  • 9. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 19, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    It has been traumatic because she looked so healthy (if a little plump since Tetley came – poor Tetley if he didn’t finish his food it was gone in an instant. Misty was a dino dog from Flintstones she loved everyone – I used to say if a burglar came in the door he would be licked to submission.

    Funnily enought there was only one person that dog ever had a very very strong adverse reaction to so much we had to take her outside and that was Angelas mother Sue Lombardi - it was very embarrasing at the time NOW of course I know that Misty knew the true Sue Lomabrdi and saw her as the threat. and person she really is couldn’t hide from Misty I guess…….

  • 10. aka/mozart  |  November 19, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    well Loraine. I had a nice talk with Ernie…he told me about the new little German, that has now captured your hearts. Sorry to hear about Misty…so sad and tramatic…been there too.
    I’ll have to come by…and brush up on my german! How does one say” woof” in German..;~)….i ache little for your loss…:(

  • 11. Tony  |  November 21, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Loraine,
    to you and all your readers Happy Thanks giving from the UK, have a lovely day

    Tony

  • 12. Bryan  |  November 24, 2012 at 10:47 am

    I am sorry to hear that. Great member of the family.

  • [...] knew what he needed. To lose Misty was just another blow to hearts already broken with loss. http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/misty-morn-no-more-squirrels-and-pussycats-chris-dog/ Oh there is Tetley- Oh dear Tetley – my husband and Tetley have a mutual “toleration [...]

  • 14. Rich Robbin  |  November 25, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    I can say nothing! My heart goes out to all of you.

  • 15. muley  |  November 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

    I’m feeling for you both…..hugs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers