A Novel- idea- the words with in – a secret unwritten SHHHHHH

February 19, 2013 at 1:51 pm 7 comments

cow cove book
They say that everyone has at least one book within us to set to paper and print. My son Chris, even managed in his short life to produce one.

http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/words-are-all-i-have-chris-ritchey/

During the course of Chris’s education (Cleveland Institute of Art) he wrote a book- yes! a book!

The brief as I understood it – limited the number of words to be used ( under 30 ? ) – using different fonts to emphasize each word – texture of the paper / colours etc also to give visual emphasis to the reader. Subject (of one’s choice) telling the story with a beginning , middle and end- evoking at least two emotions from the reader.

and as
Frank Warren of Post Secret stated:

Every single person has at least one secret that would break your heart. If we could just remember this, I think there would be a lot more compassion and tolerance in the world.”


keely  sagert
I know my friend and neighbor Kelly Boyer Sagert has published more than one book.
http://www.kbsagert.com/html/about_kb_sagert.html
Oh! to have her talent and ability to start upon the journey she undertakes every time she starts another book. I can start but then ………….

In past years my thoughts , words, observations and conclusions have been published in magazines and periodicals but I can’t seem to get my plethora of thoughts together in a beginning – middle – and end- no matter the writing technique used- to actually write a nonfictional or even a fictional novel.

I did start a category on this blog on my family and my son . I have “saved” the categories and downloaded them as I wrote them in order that Gavin and now Braedyn will “know” their family, especially Chris, and the history of the events as they happened to us.

mybook
( Cover by Chris Ritchey)

My mother wrote her book ( selectively published) MY Book about her youth, the war years (WW2 Britain) and her life . I know the sons, daughters and grandchildren of my mum’s extended family were pleased and I hope in years to come her own great-grandchildren will enjoy her memories
mumgavbraey

One of my previous publishers has offered to take my writings about my journey and publish BUT I have to clean up the grammar, the run on sentences and edit my writing in order that a copy editor can take a further look- SIGH- easier said than done. It is asking a lot because I would have to edit my thoughts and sort them into some sort of order- the story is jumbled as is my life and my brain is fragmented . Where do I begin ?

I suppose I could start by telling my “secret“. Is there a book in that? Yes! I would say most definitely – but I hesitate –

there is the burning question does the world really want to know my secret…

Am I not being a hypocrite when I say I am all about truth when I am holding back a truth ( even if it a truth as I see it – my truth). And for whose sake am I holding back – mine or the readers?
alchemist PHOTO SOURCE

For instance, remember that old conspiracy theory about having a magic pill or process that would turn water into gasoline?

Ask yourselves IF you really had the knowledge of turning water into fuel simply and without a great deal of cost- Would you share that secret IF – it would mean the world’s economy would crumble- institutions would dissolve stock markets crash – the haves would definitely lose out , countries would fall( middle east in particular) would you share that knowledge? Would it mean the world’s water supply would face further annihilation what would be the trade-off?

There is a dire responsibility in secrets……

Generally, says Von Reiche, “secrets do create a lot of separation from other people, and they also prevent you from feeling truly authentic.”

“If the world were ready to be accepting of everyone, it would be a better place,” McDonald said. “In an ideal society, we would have no secrets. Do I think that’s likely in your lifetime or my lifetime? No.”

Will my “novel” idea become fact or fiction? That remains to be seen………….but I can tell you whose artwork will be on the cover :)
chrismarket.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Brit take, Chris Ritchey, Love, writers and writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

The Cowboys of Lorain- No more shooting blanks !-Part 7 From Hotel Room to ICU – The ghosts that haunt – the costs ?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich  |  February 19, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    SHARE! You are an awesome writer

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    ahhh but is the world ready :)

  • 3. Brian  |  February 21, 2013 at 11:40 am

    IMHO, if the “secret” is something private in your own life, not sharing it is not necessarily keeping a secret.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 21, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    ahhh but suppose it could change to world as the majority percieve it to be :) would you want to know ? I may have to publish after I die …

  • 5. aka/mozart  |  February 21, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    ………never mind………..

  • 6. Brian  |  February 22, 2013 at 12:12 am

    I guess it would depend on what it would change? I am starting to think that as much as things appear to be changing, most of the time they are really mostly the same.

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 23, 2013 at 12:24 am

    not in my world

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 149 other followers

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers