custoMEr or consuMEr = ME!!!- Time Warner and Lorain IT

March 21, 2013 at 1:22 pm 7 comments

TimeWarnerCablelogoTIME WARNER CABLE WILL BE AT LORAIN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS FOR A PUBLIC MEETING – MONDAY MARCH 25TH AT 6:00 pm- 200 WEST ERIE AVENUE – LORAIN- YOU HAVE THE POWER OF YOU SO PLEASE ATTEND TO AIR YOUR PROBLEMS

customer-service
cartoon Source

Without further adieu, I would like to introduce ME- I am the ME in your customer and consumer - THERE IS NO ‘ME ‘ IN IT.Although the City of Lorain IT department seems to think there is- you see they are saying – the fault is ME.

They have been saying it for months – infact since I first apprised them of the issue I was having with my IP address being blocked “INTERMITTENTLY”. I wrote about the issue here: in AUGUST 2012

BLACKLISTED- WHO KNEW? It is all in a IP
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/blacklisted-who-knew-it-is-all-in-a-ip/

I did what I was supposed to do, on the advice of various IT people, I authenticated ME and my IP up the yin yang and then TIME WARNER informed me they were having a problem with their IP’s being blocked………..
TimeWarnerCablelogo


We are currently experiencing problems with sending e-mails as
they are being Blocked. Our team have been made aware of the problem and are working to resolve it
as soon as possible. As of now, we don’t have any expected time period on when the issue will be
resolved.
We appreciate your patience as we work towards a resolution as quickly as possible. We
apologize for any inconvenience caused.

I waited and then after a week or so I was able to email my city council members, administrations and various depts. within the City of Lorain. All was right with the world for a couple of months but January 31st found the block bad IP came back to haunt.
me

NOTE: Let me just for transparency sake tell you that THIS BLOG ADDRESS (URL) IS BLOCKED FROM THE CITY OF LORAIN for the last 3 years or so – PEOPLE WITHIN THE CITY CANNOT READ MY BLOG USING A CITY SERVER-
I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEM WITH THAT I don’t wish city personnel reading my blog on city time. I WANT THEM TO BE DOING THEIR WORK.

However it is this blogs URL that is blocked – not the IP address

I may be prolific but I am not a spammer- however being the co-chair of Charleston Village Society I have a lot of correspondence with various departments and administrations – no matter who is in office! For instance, the neighborhood known as Charleston Village has 5 concerned council people 2nd Ward, 7th Ward and three council at large that I send information to regularly.
230156_10200141018515152_1266785836_n
CVSI has been involved in various projects in the past five years that partner with the city of Lorain – such as Settlers’ Watch, Admiral King Tribute Space and Eric Barnes Heroes Walk and the ongoing situations with that green space.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This means I have to contact Lorain utilities, street depts, community development , Chief of Staff and legal. I have to send annual reports , financial reports, support letters for brown field grants and tax documents for the city to keep in their files.
benlcsw

Not to mention having the City of Lorain’s first Block Watch program- where we need to contact the Lorain PD from time to time.

No matter which of my personal and non -profit emails I send from -I am blocked intermittently because it is coming from the same computer IP.

Now the ME in question is totally fed up with the THEM- for months I have been told by Auditor Mantini and the City of Lorain IT –

it is you on the block list – up to you to take it off- call your server,

So I duly contact Time Warner, I contact Spamhaus, I contact Microsoft and finally I contact MY Geek Squad( out of desperation) and so it goes. This computer illiterate who is paying for all of these people one way or another has to sort it out????

The upshot of all this is that they all say :

contact the city- they are the ones blocking – it is their problem

- Do you notice a pattern here? ME I have to do this- I am the one who is PAYING FOR THIS RUNAROUND ……. ME!!!!!As my grandmother used to say

Why keep a dog and bark yourself?


ComputerFrustration-full

But since it is ME that is tearing out my hair over having a blocked IP I tried to do what I could . This is the same situation as to my pixellating problems with Time Warner – it comes down to CUSTOMER SERVICE!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yes I am pleased to say since Time Warner Cable Guys ran the new cable in my basement
I no longer have the freezing and pixelating- but getting through the “front gate” of the call center – well that was another hair tearing experience- and for that simple fix – I had to wait complain – write letters from MAY 4th 2011
http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/time-warner-cable-tv-oh-it/
until it was finally fixed DECEMBER 28th 2012

http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/the-continuing-time-warner-cable-guys/

I could show readers the plethora of emails – transcripts letters on BOTH my issues with television and cable and emails. Should anyone want to see them contact me; they have become somewhat wieldy of late.

However , my issues with a blocked IP’s or lack of authentication communication and pixelating television is NOT the point I am trying to make .
consumer-awareness

We, who are experiencing problems with cable TV or internet service or for that matter problems with the city, are first and foremost CUSTOMERS of a service provided by those entities -

My monthly Time Warner bill provides the City of Lorain six dollars a month toward their bank account- approximately 600,000 a year comes into the city coffers from Time Warner - coincidently about the same amount as budgeted to run the City of Lorain Auditors Dept for a year and could cover a huge amount of Lorain’s MIS depts. $752.717.00 budget

If I leave Time Warner out of frustration , as has everybody else that contacted me – the City of Lorain loses money The city has more than a passing interest in this situation- your citizens leave Time Warner you lose revenue!

The bottom line as I see it

I am paying Time Warner for a service “cable since the mid 1980″s” to watch television and “internet since 1995″ to provide me with access to email , the www, and to take me electronically anywhere I need to go ( with my IP address)

Time Warner, in turn, send $600,000 a year to one of the places I need to go. The place I need to reach is my local government who are also receiving money from me in the form of taxes and franchise fees.

Not-ME-300x222

I should not have to spend hours and weeks and in some cases months to get answers or help.

I should not have to write to Time Warner CEO or the FCC to get issues sorted- in the end it was a simple fix – new wiring in my basement shouldn’t have taken nearly two years of frustration and confusion.

I should NOT be the one trying to sort out the technical issues being faced by ME the consumer – I am paying for a service twice- I have identified my latest IP problem to Time Warner ( the IP designator) who gets my money to work with the recipient of my fees and the “blocker” the city of Lorain’s IT dept. to Fix IT- NOT ME!!!

Frustration, writing letters and having public hearings shouldn’t be the “business ” of the day! ( not in my world anyway).

Time Warner and the City of Lorain are intertwined they need to sort out these “untimely issues” and the citizens of Lorain need in my opinion a “local” LORAIN contact rather than the Time Warner call center debacle we have now “fielding” our concerns. time warner call center

SOURCE

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Blogging, blogs, city of lorain, Corporate responsibility, notorious opponents of exactitude. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Cowboys of Lorain- Schneider shoots!-Crazy Eight A Time with Time Warner- Lorain City Council

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich Robbin  |  March 21, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    Definitely agreed!

  • 2. Ngaire  |  March 22, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Do you have a Communications Ombudsman such as we have in Australia?
    Ngaire

  • 3. Dennis Lamont  |  March 22, 2013 at 10:55 am

    The great and much “touted” (it’s nice to be able to use that word in it’s proper context) IT folk still can’t keep a lid on spam. Yahoo runs hot, cold and choked but manages to catch a lot of it. Sometimes I get on the list for awhile and then things get back to normal. I have been clear of T-W for 5 months now and their local competition is doing quite well and within expectations. Being a “taker” in some peoples’s eyes I have more important things to do with the 60 bucks, like pay income tax (surprised ?)
    Dennis
    Keep hammering on them ….another example of what you have to to get “enlightened” self interest” to work.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  March 22, 2013 at 11:40 am

    No not as such Ngaire we have the FCC Federal Communications Communications Commission but they don’t take care of much to do with this sort of thing…… we do not have a press council either……. you are pretty much on your own which is why I am making the fuss with the City because they are a partner in this as they receive a “franchise fee” sooooooooooooo they need to give me something back for my money :)

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  March 22, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Thanks Dennis off topic the Mayor in his presentation for the taking down of the towers of power gave a glowing report about Kenosha and I thought of you your words finally coming home to roost…….

  • [...] the City of Lorain IT has been SILENT!!! as to their end of the situation HMMMMMMMMMM but as of yesterday I still can only send to the city intermittently – http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/customer-or-consumer-me-time-warner-and-lorain-it/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 149 other followers

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers