Fabricating Broadway- The Dye is set- 418

June 28, 2013 at 10:14 am 20 comments

Style Center KharismaMr. Dye has been busy since our journey of discovery started with his building and signs of last week. As Mr. Dye said in his newspaper article

His goal is to continue restoration of the building exterior and eventually reopen the bar, create a rental party center or rent the bar to an operator. Dye currently has his own machine shop, Kris Dye Fabrication, in the building.”

In the last couple of days there has been much cleaning and painting and even a potted “palm” ( well not quite a palm) in place in the front of the old Style Center . The windows are shut and SO NO MORE SIDEWALK INSPECTIONS FROM THE STREET :)

The neon sign is up – the bikes are out – and all seemingly are invited in – DOORS ARE open!

Note photo sent to me ( no photo credit available)
kharisma at night

and the offensive language has been removed with just a trace ….

But the point of these articles is the fact of the “DIRE STRAIGHTS” of our “toothless ” inspections process .

http://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/the-cowboys-of-lorain-no-more-shooting-blanks-part-7/
So now we have up lighting and potted palms but we also (I would hazards a guess) still have

SC 2nd floor middle ceiling

SC 2nd floor south

Kathy Dye herself stated in all caps

EVERY BUILDING ON BROADWAY HAS ISSUES

and Lorain continues to

LipstickPig-1

NOTE I will be addressing the rest of Mrs. Kathy Dye’s “rant” hopefully for Monday

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain, Safety. Tags: , , , , .

On Broadway-Downtown- the 44052 On Broadway- “DYE” Downtown- the 44052

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jim long  |  June 28, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Good article Lorraine. Good to see improvememnts ojn the “old Style Center” now Dye Fabricating. You and Kathy Dye are absolutely correct that there are issues with many, and many buildings on Broadway. That fact is none of these issues are new and are many years old. It is good to see a few business owners care enough about downtown to improve their buildings. The rest are appartently are awaiting city enforcement to encourge correction of the the many building violations that are present. Nothing will revitalize our downtown until code violations are enforced and we have been waiting for many years for this to occur.

  • 2. aka/mozart  |  June 28, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Kathy was defending her sons piece of trash on broadway, and if Loraine did not post the pictures..all would remain the same I am certain. I will not patronize such a place. Just his rap sheet alone scares the bajeepies out of me. A real classy joint with God knows what is going on inside structurally.

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 28, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    I think we might find windows being closed and no looky in inspections happening but too late the photos have already been taken :) so property owners don’t rush…. :)

  • 4. jim long  |  June 28, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    Most of the buildings on Broadway that have issues, have plenty of exterior violations and problems that certainly allow for a complete building inspection. Broken windows, deterorating facades, peeling paint, signs of interior mold, water damage, and so on and so on. We just need to enforce what is already on the books and cite the violations.

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 28, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    yes I agree and we will be seeing some of those issues :) in living coIor have been asking who does what and who is responsible for what inspections….. and I will be be focusing on good too :)

  • 6. Mark Teleha  |  June 28, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    It’s been 5 years since I started the “Saving Downtown” series on my blog. March 24, 2008. I’ll give you one guess at how many of those buildings that I featured have changed. Maybe it’s time to look at the owners of those buildings and how long they’ve owned them…..

  • 7. Alice  |  June 29, 2013 at 2:17 am

    I hear he lives in that nasty ass building with real live gators!

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 29, 2013 at 11:00 am

    My understanding is the Design Review Board had not issued a certificate of approval for the sign ( if you read the article about the sign it said
    ” Design Review Board granted conditional approvals yesterday for a lighted sign on a downtown building and two Follow the Fish sculptures, as long as the applicants submit illustrations showing how the projects will look.
    Looks like Mr. Dye put up the signage BEFORE submitting the illustrations.

    Also I have been informed inspections are taking place so we will know if it is “safe” for the those alligators ;)

  • 9. aka/mozart  |  June 29, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    if I go there…I will be sure to have my “crocs” on. I hear alligators don’t mess with crocs.

  • 10. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 29, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Just spoke to someone for those of you that remember the beautiful plate glass curved windows on the old style center apparently Mark Ballard when he owned the building “smashed them out ” so they aren’t even there anymore – I was hoping they were still under that damned plywood……..

  • 11. Dr Tammy  |  June 29, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    I like the lighted sign over the entrance, if the inside looks as inviting as the outside, then he certainly has done a lot of work in there. We looked at that building before we bought the one that is now Club Copa. No matter how cheap it was to buy, it needed too much work to turn it into a usable space! I must say the downtown really does need some joy and light! Look at Faroh’s, their awning says what they do, it reminds me of peppermint! These drab colors (maroon, dark green and beige) just aren’t inviting. We need colors that are inviting and that say “welcome”.
    Someone commented on the Club Copa colors (blue, white and yellow), we were marketing to a specific group. Look at the Goya products, they have the same colors. Of course, the person who commented on the colors has obviously never been inside the building!
    If Mr. Dye needs assistance, lets pitch in and help instead of kicking each other!! Lets get positive!

  • 12. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 29, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    AHHHH Come on Tammy you sure have changed your tune from earlier in the week… losing respect for those that waffle. I would like nothing more than a healthy downtown it is after all where I live and as you know your Copa has had some issues with their clientele No and I haven’t been there not my kind of venue- but I hope the clientele that enters your building and the whatever the bar to be is are the sort of people that create a healthy and productive ambiance……

  • 13. Dr Tammy  |  June 30, 2013 at 1:44 am

    I believe I read in an earlier post Dye removed the trash talk phrases from the door. Therefore, success!
    As someone who has been through the permit and inspection process, the experience is very challenging at best. It will be another 6 to 8 months before this place will clear the permit hurdles and be able to open.
    We’ll be at the Copa for the parade tomorrow, I invite you and anyone else who would like to see the inside of the Copa to stop by for a tour and hopefully you’ll find it inviting enough to spend time there with friends and family.

  • 14. Alice  |  June 30, 2013 at 1:48 am

    @ Dr. Tammy…Mr. Dye needs more than assistance with that building. You yourself said it needed more work than it was worth. Now he lives there (is it zoned residential? or commercial?) and is treating the entryway facing Broadway like his patio, grill cooking and all. His building needs to be demolished, right along with the one next to your Club Copa building, and an easy dozen others.

  • 15. Dr Tammy  |  June 30, 2013 at 2:21 am

    @Alice: There are a number of buildings in the downtown area that are occupied, that probably shouldn’t be. I completely agree with removal of the building next to ours. Those panels on the outside are asbestos. I can only imagine what is inside that place (organic and inorganic)!!
    I really don’t think Dye’s building is zoned for “fabrication”, doesn’t that fall under industrial, not business? If he continues to fabricate in that building, we may have a major fire hazard and won’t have to pay for demolition…

  • 16. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 30, 2013 at 11:05 am

    As a consumer , one of the “wanted foot traffic” to come downtown, meaning someone who would be a paying customer rather than handouts or waiting for whatever they are waiting for ‘ foot traffic- type or even coming in by vehicle- let me give you my perspective on a business establishment I would walk in.

    I am not going into an establishment I can’t see inside plain and simple .I am not going to try and see through drapes ( Copa take note) or peer through doorways or be funneled down a dark entrance way .. if I have to get out of my car or walk through people that make me feel uncomfortable or accost me for change etc. not happening – and I am not going to recommend to any in my circle of acquaintances or readers of this blog they do so and 70 percent of my readership is outside Lorain and Lorain county

    “Dinge and Dirt ( as in windows) is not the welcome sign I am looking for- if they don’t wash the windows the establishment looks unkempt ( what else don’t they do thinking? ) chunks of building falling off and not just the Broadway Building does not endear me to a stroll downtown- Lorain 365 had a wonderful shot of fun downtown the other day a child skipping along – I though what a great marketing piece- but …………..
    ..

    Now this may seem picky but you see I am the consumer, I am your main stream- Tammy you mentioned you purposely painted the colors on the Copa to “market to a specific group” – it was done purposely – what is the Copa is it a night club, restaurant , bar?
    you see you ask to bring my family – I am not sure by some of your promotions such as
    “shot girls are doing two for one shot specials” featuring cyrroc skyye, patron xo and moet rose” “

    from the inside shots you have “lounge couches” along the walls – sorry but that was the club scene from my youth in London – bit dated but then so am I

    and I just don’t think I would feel comfortable bringing grandchildren or my daughter there for a meal or whatever. or even my daughter and son in law for a night out or recommend they take their friends …. ( who are the age group you would seemingly target the young with expendable income.

    However the Morning Journal photo of the girls with the pole ( for dancing??) girls pouring what a shot down a guys throat…. well sorry Tammy it looks tacky but then who am I – oh right the potential customer- you are going to get the clientele you are marketing to.. and so will Mr. Dye

    http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/05/25/entertainment/mj4087939.txt

  • 17. Mark Teleha  |  June 30, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Dr Tammy, I commented on the colors and no, I’ve never been inside due to the fact that you’re marketing for a certain group, and I’m not a member of that group. Regardless of the folks you want in your establishment, your blue, white and yellow colors don’t fit the color scheme or guidelines of the DRB’s booklet for the downtown area. And for someone that has visited many ‘downtowns’ in and out of the county that are THRIVING, I don’t see our downtown going in the direction that has been laid out.

  • 18. Loraine Ritchey  |  June 30, 2013 at 11:16 am

    Just a note here check out Marks downtown category on his blog

    http://www.locophotogblog.com/?cat=7

  • 19. aka/mozart  |  June 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Loraine..ghetto is what ghetto does.!! hve heard nothing but negative things about copa ca bana They can have it. No wonder no real restaurant wants to come here. Scorchers was brave, but then again they have people who own that establishment that give a damn about the downtown and their cliental. No fights or pole dancing going on there. and if you see a gator, it will be cooked on a bun. Great place for family and friends. Thank goodness we have a place to go where we are safe and can relax.!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers