Big Knickers- Now What?

January 23, 2008 at 4:23 am 17 comments

  By Loraine Ritchey

I have left the comfort of big knickers, the women readers among you will understand what I am talking about.

You probably experienced the luxury of big comfy knickers when you were pregnant – cast off were the frilly little sexy lingerie that rides and binds

Ahhhhhhhhh! the comfort of cotton and an expanding panel that grows with your ever blooming waistline. It is a joyous relationship and too soon gone -the comfort of the big knickers.


That is how I feel with this new blog. WoM was my pair of big knickers, I felt comfortable, secure and expanding nicely and now the birthing process and I am back to a very uncomfortable “thong”( That Woman’s Weblog) -can you say wedgies?

So Now What?

Here I am all alone, without the comfort of big knickers, it is up to me to decide what direction, of course not wearing any knickers was not an option so here I am at the lingerie counter of a writing life -shopping. I am tossing around different options.

Of course there are things I have left unfinished, the trees

                                  

to cover (hopefully they won’t cover me again).

The CRA(p) and what ever sets me off and running on any given day, but I want to get out of the thong without putting on a “girdle” of restriction and censorship  

and since you all will be hopefully reading this blog what would you like, what would interest, what would make coming to this site a part of your day or week? In the meantime I will  update the blog every  Monday, Wednesday and Friday  mornings. I will be taking the weekends off .

If you would  like an email alert as to when the blog is updated please contact me  at lritch7@yahoo.com .

Entry filed under: personal opinion.

To Blog or not to Blog That “Mentoring” Woman- Jean Schaeffer

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  January 23, 2008 at 4:39 am

    I have you on my RSS now. 🙂 And the blogroll. No escaping you, and no escaping us commenters either.

    What I love most about Loraine That Blog Woman: the images she puts in her posts. I LOVE that. 🙂

  • 2. Tony Hines  |  January 23, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Loraine,
    good luck with the new site, let me know if you want the over the pond slant on anything. Happy to contribute in any way I can.

    Love Tony

  • 3. Paula Tobias  |  January 23, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Besides being kept up to date on the politics of Lorain….
    Can we discuss things that affect women? you know like the decision to run for Mayor as an Independent? motivation, fears, concerns of women (which I’m sure a few men may share)

    How about getting to know the real women of Lorain, the ones who aren’t plastered all over the front of the paper or fist news on TV?

    I would love to address any questions about work, family, politics, health care for family and share how I got through it all. Kind of a Dear Aunt Paula…….

    Just a few ideas. I hope everyone mentions what they would like to see.

  • 4. thatwoman  |  January 23, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Thanks Jill guess not 🙂

    Tony across the pond would be great ( we will talk) .

    Paula: I am so hoping that people let me know what they would like to see. I am thinking of a series ” Women of Worth”… and what you describe in your comment is exactly the sort of thing I was thinking about.

    Women of Lorain in politics, corporate, business volunteers, present and the past. I have started the series on Friday with my mentor.

    and start writing Paula 🙂 since I believe you were the first woman to actually “run” for Mayor of Lorain I would love to know “the rest of the story”

  • 5. Liz Tobias  |  January 23, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    A woman’s blog? I like the idea, but I hope there won’t be too much estrogen. I enjoy posts/comments from both genders.

  • 6. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  January 23, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Loraine . . . you do find the most interesting illustrations . . .

  • 7. thatwoman  |  January 23, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Well maybe not a totally woman’s blog …… definitely it is coming from a woman’s perspective since last time I looked I was a woman 🙂 And I agree a little testosterone is definitely needed to be fair and balanced 🙂

  • 8. thatwoman  |  January 23, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Kelly that is because I speak a different language and I have to communicate with pictures too! No! those really aren’t my knickers :)on the line ……

  • 9. CissyMathis  |  January 23, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Oh! I thought thongs were worn on the feet! 🙂

  • 10. thatwoman  |  January 23, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    I think they are probably as uncomfortable as if wearing a “flip flop” on your posterior… and we all know about flip flops in government eh? 🙂 hurts us all in the end ( groan!!!!)

  • 11. Black River Historical Society  |  January 23, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Loraine,
    We appreciate you adding The Black River Historical Society to the links on your new blog. We have enjoyed working with you on your projects this past summer. In our effort to promot our City, as our newest fundraiser we have three puzzles: one of the Lakeview Easter Basket, Lorain Lighthouse with the tall ship “Windy”, and the third is a reproduction of a postard with the familiar “Greetings from Lorain” with photos of Lorain landmarks in the letters. Carolyn Sipkovsky

  • 12. thatwoman  |  January 23, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Thanks Carolyn I am toying with the idea of using Saturday and Sundays space with just this sort of info so I will also put that up as its own space over the weekend You will be my first “come back and see us Monday and in the meantime look at whats new?” How does that sound? Loraine

  • 13. thatwoman  |  January 24, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    So obvioulsy I am playing with the look of the site.Originally I put it together in 5 minutes for a joke with Paula, but since it looks like this is going to stay I want something clean and less fussy. Watch this space you never know what will happen 🙂

  • 14. Back to Carving ! « That Woman’s Weblog  |  March 27, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    […] has been a long winter. I thought 2008 would be a time of winding down. I have had trees falling, starting a blog, horrible news, and preparations for my husband’s retirement “TODAY” and a […]

  • 15. I have arrived - apparently « That Woman’s Weblog  |  April 6, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    […] was a nice comfy little corner -this blog of mine , even without big knickers, I had some returning readers daily , didn’t have to moderate too many “All Mouth No […]

  • 16. The Media and The Blogger- ad- it- up « That Woman’s Weblog  |  December 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    […] just check the category list there are over 60 of them. What started out ( after leaving WoM) as a “finishing up on a follow through”soon became eclectic epistle of who I am , what I think at any given moment and a sharing of my […]

  • 17. 1-1-11 – The blog that was « That Woman’s Weblog  |  January 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    […] “That Woman Blog” started out as wrapping up of things left unfinished from the old Wom Blog : https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/big-knickers-now-what/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031