CVS Pharmacy- Meister Road- Hopping Mad!

May 9, 2008 at 12:45 am 15 comments

dark  and dangerous
by Loraine Ritchey thatwb@yahoo.com

My husband has already decided that he will no longer frequent the CVS store on Meister Road as he blames them for the demise of his favorite store of all time Willow Hardware

Whilst I had no umbilical cord attachment ( as it seems my husband had to Willow) I do expect them to live up to their televison ad personnas ( silly me I forgot the customer really is the bothersome consumer lately) However it is thrown up in our faces all the time how helpful their Pharmacy people are

So I expected more from my “miraculous” Meister Road CVS pharmacy, when my 89 year old mum had called in her prescription.
Now I do understand that things happen with computers, I understand that when I go to pick up the prescription there is a problem and somehow her insurance is not showing in the system on the Monday morning of this week, I understand that I can call the insurance people, I did .

“Oh we are so sorry we are having computer problems, you aren’t alone, but the pharmacy know what to do when this happens!
Can they call you ?
Certainly here is my number .”

I call the pharmacy full of people who care ( their ads say so ) at the Miraculous Meister Road , Lorain Ohio.

“We don’t make those calls- your mother isn’t in the sytem “ “well he said you knew what to do in this sort of situation and that you should call him”
With a very disgruntled ( I have to bother with this woman attitude) Yes! alright I will call.

The phone rings

“That isn’t the right number ,
That is the number I was given but here is the woman I spoke to .
“We really dont make these calls – your mother isn’t in the system.
I told you the system has a glitch he said to call him .

I went back 6 hours later thinking surely in the age of computer instantaneous satisfaction the poor little old lady would be back in the system”,

Your mother isn’t in the system nothing we can do.

OK I did not want to face these frosty face pharmasutical robots a forth time to hear “your mother isn’t in the system” - – the insurance was sending me a letter and a computer generated card so I waited – mum still had two pills left on each of her prescriptions.
The card duly arrived YEA!!!! I waited a further 5 hours after the card arrived in the mail and went back to the pharmacy .
A technician??? or perhaps a cashier in a white coat looked at me as if I was trying to cheat the system stated :

“This should be cash”
No ! there was a computer problem- sorry you will have to put it through again and just to be sure here is the card note the dates please.
It will take 10 minutes as we have to run it through

So off I toddle -buying all sorts of cosmetics and more haircolor, as life has turned me prematurely grey and the stress has caused my weight gain ( at least that is what the “musak” told me whilst I have been waiting on phones trying to sort this problem out…….. I needed some major repair. So up I went to the counter with at least 80 dollars worth of things to make me relaxed and beautiful.
Uh! OH there was that look again on their faces-

YOUR MOTHER ISN’T IN THE SYSTEM!!!!

I said

You have the card
YOUR MOTHER ISN’T IN THE SYSTEM
Do you want to pay for those- (looking pointedly at my purchases)

said Frosty Face Pharmacy robot
I looked at her – I looked at the people standing there like “moronic muppets” and decided
NO! they were no longer in MY system. I left them on the counter and proceeded to walk from the store – when from behind the computer screen a

“OH MY GOD” ( said with disgust )

directed toward me came wafting through the “pharmacy air”

It was no ordinary miracle that I didn’t tell them in less than lady like language what I thought – However, I merely stated I have been here 4 times now and still haven’t received a prescription or any help but and then to it came once more

NOTHING WE CAN DO SHE ISN’T IN THE SYSTEM


ERRRRRGGGGGGGGG
I WOULD SUPPOSE IF THE SYSTEM TOLD THEM THEY ALL HAD ONE LEG THEY WOULD BE BACK THERE HOPPING!!!!!!!!

So truth in advertising . “CVS Pharmacy that cares the way you do – CVS Pharmacy for all the ways you care

Well couldn’t prove it by me , they have been as helpful in this situation as a boil on the backside.

I will get this sorted tomorrow one way or another but my husband and I will no longer be frequenting the “old” CVS store or the new one !

Entry filed under: Corporate responsibility, notorious opponents of exactitude, opinion. Tags: .

YAKITY- YAK – LET’S LOOK BACK THE TAX MAN COMETH- ATTORNEYS NEEDED

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Henery  |  May 9, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Yea, I’d be pretty bent, too.

    Gotta give ya credit for being able to just walk away, especially after the ‘Oh my God’ comment. I’d have had to go back and chew off a big ol’ chunk of someone’s backside.

    Tell yer hubby he’s not alone re: visiting CVS after they displaced Willow Hardware. I’ll not be going there, either.

  • 2. muley  |  May 9, 2008 at 6:24 am

    ….well Henery, you may not have to travel “all the way” to Meister rd for your drug needs. The geese that fly over my house told me we just might have a “new, and improved drug store on the east side of Leavitt Rd at Tower Blvd. The fella that runs the car repair shop is moving soon, bought the old Sandy’s on 36 th and Broadway, and the church property behind his shop has supposedly already been sold to a “major” drug chain.

  • 3. cissy mathis  |  May 9, 2008 at 8:02 am

    In the U.S. , prescriptions have increased over the past decade to 3.4 billion annually. Retail sales of prescription drugs jumped 250 percent from $72 billion to $250 billion. With about 78 million baby boomers the pharmaceutical companies want to cash in on the healthcare revenue.

    The ban together like gnats over one apple and are regular lobbyist on the hill.

  • 4. thatwoman  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I realize my little voice will not be heard and my going elsewhere won’t mean a damed thing to them but it is my only recourse for protest of treatment…….all I needed was someone to say “I am sorry , I would suggest.as you KNOW this isn’t the first time this sort of thing happened.or does your mother have enough medication ……/could she purchase a partial of her prescription until this is sorted NO they just looked at me like I was trying to rip off the system.( ah the system!!!!)

  • 5. thatwoman  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:35 am

    By the way anyone know how I transfer her current prescription over to another drug store chain

  • 6. denise caruloff  |  May 9, 2008 at 11:40 am

    frosty faced pharmacy robots…i love it Loraine,.
    Godm you really kept your cool…they would of had to put me in one of those white jackets, and tied the arms together!!!
    I never went there other than once or twice,,and oddly enough, i had a problem with getting pictures that i had developed there. I usually go to drug Mart…and I still will..Have no desire for the new cvs..means nothing to me…i Miss my willow Hardware thou!

  • 7. thatwoman  |  May 9, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Well the look on my face ( make up less I might add) could have probably stopped traffic…….and I am still waiting even though I have called the emergency numberthree times last night and twice this morning .I guess emergencys only happen during set hours….. errrrrrgggggggggg
    warning to everyone stay out of my way today if you are going to be less than brilliant :)

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  May 9, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    WELL APPARENTLY THE “PHARMACY PART OF THE SYSTEM IS STILL DOWN ….BEEN DOWN FOR DAYS and all they can tell me to do is call the Dr. and get a sample .great ….except her DR is just changing locations and practices this week- and he isn’t even on the new locations voice mail….. AND the Insurance doesn’t know when they will be back up been apparently over a week BUT THEY ARE WORKING ON IT…we are TOO DEPENDENT UPON COMPUTERS WHERE IS THE HUMAN BACK UP????

  • 9. Paula Tobias  |  May 9, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Reminds me of the time I received an unsolicited call on a Saturday morning at 8:20 AM. I suggested she mention to her supervisor,”Calling at such an early hour is not appreciated on a Saturday”.
    She said the calls are “Programmed” they can’t control them. Since she was waiting for more information from me that “they needed” I thought to myself, well I can make the same call and hung up on them.
    I’m not programmed to receive their calls on Saturday mornings.

  • 10. Keri Sugerik  |  May 9, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Loraine, having worked at Higgin’s Pharmacy for years during my teen years, you get a presciption transferred by going to your new pharmacy, explaining the situation, and then the pharmacist will call CVS for a transfer. I have had good experiences each and every time at Walgreens, and Costco is also very nice. I gave up on CVS years ago. I will go to Giant Eagle on occasion, but that is sometimes hit and miss. The pharmacists are always nice, but the techs are iffy. I guess I figure that if I want to help out Lorain businesses still, the Rite Aid and Walgreens on Broadway are the first places I frequent. I have to say that when I really wanted that “human touch,” there are ALWAYS Higgin’s to go to, but they have also closed. I really miss them. I think one of the sons works at the Rita Aid in Amherst. Great family.

  • 11. thatwoman  |  May 9, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks Kerri this really is a comedy of errors as her records haven’t transferred from the one location ( DR.s Office) and he is in Westlake today not in Avon til Thursdays ( so a drive no matter what…. ugh …anyway they are seeing what they can do now I have to hunt down an old prescription bottle as mum relys on the pharmacy to keep her records and puts her months supply in a little pretty pill dispenser…I think my Karma is buggered lately or maybe I am supposed to go through these situations to give them a good airing……. course maybe the county auditor is sticking poins in my effergy :) well the saga continues and I am definitely changing drug stores I want the Lorain location think i will go and see how I am treated at both :) before deciding

  • 12. thatwoman  |  May 9, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    so it is now 12 noon, I have managed to get hold of the Dr.s office that will prescribe and emergency prescription for her to see her through and apparently a couple of pharmacy’s have this $4. deal for 30 days for certain prescriptions…. sounds too good to be true but I will let you know how that works out as CVSI wanted over $129.00 ( approx) for the three for her presciption so 12 dollars is certainly a leap…..I will keep you informed…also I have to take in her presciption bottle ( see if I can find them) to either of the Lorain pharmacys that Keri mentioned and they will make the call……gonna check see who is selling the hairdye and make up cheaper :) as I think after the past few weeks I have had I need a lot MORE :)

  • 13. Loraine Ritchey  |  May 9, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    So back from Giant Eagle where the Dr. had called in the prescriptions so that my mum had some medications to go on with until this mess is sorted out and YES! they were only $4.00 each…… I have the pamphlet of medicines they cover for $4.00 and will be adding that for Monday .so if you know of anyone who is struggling to pay for prescriptions tell them to check it out.

    Also it seems the only pharmacy who was haivng “troublle” with NOT BEING IN THE SYSTEM IS MEISTER ROAD CVS as the three other pharmacys i went to and asked this afternoon all three told me as long as she had the card they weretaking the card making a copy overiding the code and billing the insurance later…….NOW WHY COULDN’T CVS HAVE DONE THAT ????????????? I have changed pharmacys Loraine

  • [...] my quest to get my mum’s prescription filled last week I was told of this program . I had seen it advertised but thought it a co – pay of [...]

  • 15. YET ANOTHER UPDATE -CVS « That Woman’s Weblog  |  May 15, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    [...] 15, 2008 I received this a couple of days ago after I sent the “blog” article to CVS Corporate Headquarters Dear Ms. Loraine Ritchey: Thank you for your recent e-mail regarding [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 136 other followers

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers