“I vant to be ( left) alone” – Garbo

August 5, 2009 at 9:49 pm 13 comments

Greta Garbo star of the silver screen – famous for her “I vant to be alone” quote
greta Garbo 1925
urbanek Garbo 2009

It seems we have a Garbo in Lorain- star of the Lorain County dot com -Lorain Forum- and it seems I have rubbed “HIM” the wrong way – according to our Garbo’s post he is in fact Thomas Urbanek – Yup!!!! that is right our City Treasurer- that I , and the Morning Journal , took to task over the past few days

So since Our Garbo has decided to come out of his other personna for the sake of fairness I will let him have his say on this blog:

Title: Re: Lorain City Income Tax question /1999

Message: Ms Ritchie, I do understand that will i have been the cities tresurer let me tell the kind of accomplishments have been completed in our office. I wrote a new employee manual for my office long before the city had one.Replaced very old furniture and carpeting wth grants at no cst to the city. Moved the tax dept into the21st century by installing a drop box and an efile system. Taken several hundred dead beat non payers to court to bring in almost a half million in revenue more than anyone before me. Instituted a first ever collection agency ( at no cost to the city) that has brought in over fifty thousand dollars just this year. We have supplemented the general fund by more than half a million dollars by prudent investing. So Do Not tell me to watch the money because I have and will continue to do so. I am still negotiating the issues that have been in the papers and since the journal jumped the gun for a hot story it has not been very easy but I am moving forward. Your comments about me as of late are based on yor being disgrunted about a comment I may have mad years ago that did not agree with train of thought, due me and every other person you write about and please be sure to write about todys issues not those in the past. Thank You Thomas c. Urbanek OH and by the way yes I am a hair stylist and also attended L.C.C.C. and have owned a very successful busines in Lorain for 40 years\that has give me more reall everyday working knowledge about money and businees than the average person

Written by: garbo on August 5, 2009 12:34 PM
View other posts from garbo

I explained my thought process to Garburbanek
here
http://www.loraincounty.com/lorain/discussion.shtml?id=304928&f=11&v=

But just to reiterate: I find Mr. Urbanek’s thinking somewhat lacking in now at least three areas:

1. Ore Piles ( Taconite) in the middle of a neighborhood and downtown are NOT an asset as he stated- and I think you will find that any developer or any study will agree with me on that.

2. Taking a raise whilst your department has to take unpaid days off is not something that is endearing but smacks of “self” ishness

3. And finally in the I can’t understand this man’s logic . Mr. Urbanek in his Garbo stage name has made 162 posts to Lorain County dot com – Lorain Forum on a great many subjects – all of them Monday through Friday from 9:02 in the morning through 3:58 pm. giving the excuse for not working at those times (and they run at different times all through the day ( check them out I did )

wE ALL DO GET A BREAK AND LUNCH
Written by: garbo on August 5, 2009 3:11 PM
View other posts from garbo

Well Garburbanek sorry but you just keep making me wonder about your thought processes-

Why is the City of Lorain Treasurer posting about – Bishops, Pot holes, City Government , Parks and Cheese Festivals – taking BAH to task for his employee manual stance ( when you deemed your employee manual important enough to mention in your post to me – ironic that) since May 2008 –

Wouldn’t your time in the department be better spent explaining taxes for instance? ( just a thought)

Mr. Urbanek what you choose to write and what opinions you express are a matter between you and your conscience.

However I take issue with the fact that your days are spent doing this on city time ( taxpayers time – how many coffee breaks and hours off for lunch do you get anyway ) and presumably on a city computer.

Note:If you are using your own I apologize up front but then I may have to make a public records request to have that validated.

So , unfortunately , instead of changing my thinking as to your thought process I find that you have indeed, only confirmed my original opinion of your “thinking” or lack thereof.

But it makes no never mind in the grand scheme of things since you are running unopposed- my not voting for you makes no difference. and my opinion doesn’t count for much then does it ?
money  urbanek

1.

Entry filed under: AMNT, blogs, Brit take, city of lorain, commentary, opinion, personal opinion. Tags: .

Mothers and Sons An August- August – IT IS ALL ABOUT THE LAKE

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. muley  |  August 5, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    ……and attended L.C.C.C.?
    For what?
    Spelling and grammar lessons?
    And to think he’s in charge of tax collections, oh my!

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 5, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Muley as one who is the worst offender when it comes to flying fingers ( and lets face it maybe his break time was up and he had to get it finished πŸ™‚ I won’t find fault with him for being a FFer πŸ˜‰

  • 3. MCT  |  August 5, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Excuses are not explainations!

    How pathetic can one person be when trying to justify something as simple as “they want me to have more money, I’m not about to turn it down!” “I have to save departmental operation monies, therefore, the employees can take some unpaid time, they could use the break anyway!”

  • 4. kendra  |  August 6, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Miss Loraine – while we may have had differing opinions in the past…god bless you for taking up this particular torch. I’ve instigated a few of the debates with (who i thought at the time) was Mzzz garbo…. and I believe what we’ve all witnessed today was political suicude. I thank you for being the one who may have “pushed the envelop” so to speak πŸ˜‰

  • 5. Ben  |  August 6, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Damn, Loraine, Spankin that ass like an old school granny!

  • 6. thatwoman  |  August 6, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Kendra – having differeing opinions makes the world go round I respect yours even when we differ πŸ™‚
    Hey Ben ( not so much of the old πŸ™‚
    MCT _ exactly – and Mr. Garburbanek has his right to his take on things and I have as a taxpayer a right to take issue….

  • 7. Mark  |  August 7, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Check this out:

    http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2009/08/07/news/mj1438233.txt

    Garbo is so sweet!!!

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 7, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Well I counted more than five instances πŸ™‚ they probably didn’t check the “other posts” by Garbo just the ones on the forum the other day ………Well hopefully he will change his thinking πŸ™‚

  • 9. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Mark did you catch the headline

    City Hall drones cash in: Urbanek strikes gold
    definition of drone
    πŸ™‚
    1. A male bee, especially a honeybee, that is characteristically stingless, performs no work, and produces no honey. Its only function is to mate with the queen bee.
    2. An idle person who lives off others; a loafer.
    3. A person who does tedious or menial work; a drudge: “undervalued drones who labored in obscurity” (Caroline Bates).
    4. A pilotless aircraft operated by remote control.

  • 10. Mark  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    I actually have to give the MJ credit for nailing it.

    Wonder if it’s too late for a write-in candidate for the November elections?

  • […] same treasurer who under his “Garbo” name also ( even if he was on break) used taxpayer paid time and presumably computers to tout the 1/4 […]

  • 12. LakeSide  |  August 14, 2009 at 1:51 am

    How is it possible to know the real identity of “Garbo”. Maybe the authorities need to investigate this, it would seem a computer crime might have happened here. Or, did you write this just to attack it?

  • 13. Mark  |  August 21, 2009 at 2:55 am

    You mean besides the fact that “Garbo” outed himself on loraincounty.com?

    I think that was the dealbreaker.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31