It is all over- my friend

August 7, 2009 at 11:02 am 6 comments

Please check out Mark’s photos of Lorain High –
LHSchairs Photo Mark Teleha

I didn’t even attend that facility and they touch my heart-
http://www.locophotogblog.com/?p=388
http://www.locophotogblog.com/?p=387

Entry filed under: city of lorain, Link -ups.

An August- August – IT IS ALL ABOUT THE LAKE Rescinding the Raises- the time has come

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  August 8, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I talked to a few folks as they slowly walked around, watching the demolition. One guy bet that the rubble from the high school would be there 3 years from now. Another older gent, an alum from many years ago, walked past me, muttering that he wished he had a gun and bullets, that he would shoot the guys that were bringing down his alma mater. “Why does it have to be destroyed?! Why can’t they still use it?!” When I mentioned that it would probably cost too much to rehab and clean up to use, he just rolled his eyes and walked on, complaining out loud.

    I saw reporters from the MJ and the CT come by and spend about 5-10 minutes shooting the demo. Another woman with a digital and a camcorder was up there before me, and still there when I left, and I was there for almost an hour and a half. I’ve got a lot of video and pics that will go up soon.

    Lots of different feelings from many different people. What I can tell you is that the building was not secure. When I was inside, as you can see from the 1st photo I put up in the 2nd installment, I could see that many people had been in there recently, and up to no good. Fires had been started, graffiti sprayed and written on walls. It was also obvious that things had been cooked inside, and we’re not talking pork-n-beans, either.

    A lot of history going with this property. LHS was AKHS’s rival, but I still feel bad about this.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 8, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Yes I agree that the security is lacking- that fence is pretty useless….. they are going to build the “new Irving” over there at least that is what I was told and that means of course that they will be tearing down old Irving???? right across the street from me SIGH!!!!

    I know people don’t like living across from a school but in the summer it is quiet , they kept their property up to an acceptable standard and evening were also quiet…. Heaven knowsdwhat will take place when Irving is torn down….
    Funnily enough I just checked to see if my old “primary school” in England was still going strong and yes it is although they now have their website translated into Arabic and Telegu ( Indian) –
    Buildings are celebrated in Europe ….. here they are just expendable……… Loraine

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 9, 2009 at 12:26 am

    and from the English version of my old schools website- emphasis mine

    What sort of school are we? Roxeth Manor prides itself on being inclusive. We have children from many different backgrounds, speaking approximately thirty two different languages. Every major world religion is represented by the children of the school. We are proud of them and proud of the happy and striving learning environment that is our school
    Good job having to go to each of those countries to aclimate the teachers (as the China trip here was presented ) isn’t necessary ….LCS don’t know how good the school system has it in this country …. can you imagine the curriculum problems this entails apart from the language difficulties all the major religions in the world represented OUCH…….. can you imagine telling the BOE there they need to toddle off to thirty two countries to get aquainted 🙂

  • 4. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  August 9, 2009 at 1:37 am

    I drove by LHS twice today and it was really hard watching that building come down.

  • 5. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  August 9, 2009 at 1:39 am

    Mark writes: LHS was AKHS’s rival, but I still feel bad about this.

    You know what I think? I think that LHS and AKHS were good for one another! I know that, when I attended LHS, we didn’t want King to be able to say they were better at anything: grades, band, sports, the annual musical . . . whatever. I think we all got a boost from the competition.

  • 6. Mark  |  August 9, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    And I would have to agree with you, Kelly. There was competition off the fields and outside of sports, too.

    And we’re probably all the better for it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31