WILD HORSES- Chris Ritchey

December 16, 2009 at 11:24 pm 14 comments

The music of my heart Chris – our final farewell will be with strength, love and beauty ……..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yb3XAP0c8WU
Susan Boyle

Wild Horses
Songwriters: Richards, K;Jagger, M

Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted
I bought them for you

Graceless lady
You know who I am
You know I can’t let you slide through my hand

Wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away

I watched you suffer
A dull aching pain
Now you’ve decided
To show me the same

No sweeping exits
Or offstage lines
Could make me feel bitter
Or treat you unkind

Wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away

I know I’ve dreamed you
A sin and a lie
I have my freedom
But I dont have much time

Faith has been broken
Tears must be cried
Let’s do some living
After we die

And Wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses
Couldn’t drag me away


SOURCE

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, men of substance. Tags: , , .

A Letter – A Legacy – Nikki to Chris Ritchey – sister to brother The Chris- MISS – Tree

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  December 17, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Such a beautiful song . . . I’m crying listening to it.

  • 2. dave cotton  |  December 17, 2009 at 3:48 am

    It’s perfect!

  • 3. anne molnar  |  December 17, 2009 at 4:03 am

    The music,song and words are beautiful. I played it twice.
    My thoughts are with you and family.

  • 4. "B"  |  December 17, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Couldn’t have picked a more beautiful or perfect song Loraine!

  • 5. Rich Robbin  |  December 17, 2009 at 11:29 am

    That song brought tears to my eyes the minute I heard it …now it has a SPECIAL meaning! Our ‘other son’ Chris will always be in our hearts! Rich and Ellen

  • […] Visit Loraine as she bids farewell to Chris. […]

  • 7. Barbara Macgregor  |  December 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Such a beautiful and fitting song, I started crying on the first couple of lines My prayers are with you and the family

  • 8. thatwoman  |  December 17, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Chris loved the Texas sky and the openess he found there and the horses…….little did I think at the time that it would not be cancer that took my son but H1N1 and that he would be taken once again from those that loved him and still love him based quite frankly on the uneducated decision of what exactly cremation entails.

    A world of hurt, public grieving and the loss of love when instead of division from those that were part of his world for such a little while ( an extended family if you will) one of whom has a legal if not moral right to hold hostage to the ground in a place not of his faith or desire could have been about sharing grief and closure

    If there is some beauty and strength to come from this then we will try to find it because my son was beautiful and strong and free and this song is hopefuly the first step . I have been informed that this song will be performed this weekend by a local talent as a tribute to Chris ….. Loraine

  • 9. Joyce Smith  |  December 17, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Beautiful. The way I see it, having also lost someone so very special is, To lose someone you love, is to alter your life forever. You don’t get över it” because ït” is the person you loved. The pain does subside, there are new people, but the gap never closes. How could it? Hope you can get some comfort Loraine in all of the lovely things being said on here. Chris was so very special.

  • 10. Audrey Bruck  |  December 17, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Such a beautiful tribute sung by one who will become one of the great singers of our time. Chris is not gone forever but has only shed his earthly body, you who love him so will see him again.Peace to you and yours. Corky

  • 11. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 17, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Oh Corky I could see you singing this song…..thank you my friend at the moment I just want to be able to say goodbye…..

  • […] and Wild Horses […]

  • […] As readers know Susan Boyle’s rendition of Wild Horses has become a very special piece of music in our lives. https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/12/03/december-3rd-chris-ritchey-yesterday/ […]

  • […] I am inadequate to deal with “normal” – I long to escape the pain, the images that swirl in my brain waking and sleeping , the cruelty of cancer https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/wild-horses-chris-ritchey/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031