Toujours Moi – Always Me

January 5, 2010 at 12:02 am 8 comments

artwork Chris RITCHEY
In search of my son series No 1.


Words have always been important to me, symbolism has also played a role in my life. Having trod the boards ( acting) I realized just how important words really are and how we interpret those words and “body language” in telling the story .

There are acting techniques / directors etc. that point you in directions of how to play your character or how to tell the story. There are also directions given to us in life as to how we play out our story .

The title of this post Toujours Moi ( Always Me) happens to be the perfume I wear and have worn since before my children were born.

Through the years ,especially since it became difficult to find , I tried others but always came back to ‘Toujours Moi”

When I chose the song Wild Horses as a tribute to my son, the words also became symbolic and , for me ,had a deeper meaning than most would have recognized.

For example take the words:

Graceless Lady – the person who has caused such pain in our family by her decision to withhold our closure.

You know who I am I am of course “Always Me” ( That woman). Like it or not that is who I am

” You know I can’t let you just slip through my hands” _ Chris I cannot you slip away without your voice being heard- that is not who I am –

Today when I opened your portfolio . The first things on top were your posters you did when you were incensed about political correctness being used to stifle some of your work. It seems even the “anti establishment core of artists” had a political correctness side. Dont’ make too many waves 🙂

You took that situation and let your voice be heard.

“Nothing should be hidden or untouchable , if it is your truth and you stand behind it – no one should be able to silence you “

Those were the words you spoke to me that day when I met you for lunch in Little Italy . I was concerned that the college might be very annoyed with the ad campaign for “anti political correctness”

As your mother I was so proud , as the one paying for those college fees I was worried!
You see I knew that once you got the bit between your teeth and you thought you were in the right- there would be no fear of consequences – you wouldn’t stop until the point had been made and the goal reached.

That is what made you YOU. It was the same on the soccer field and in everything you did – so I held my breath and waited and you didn’t disappoint.
The anti political correctness campaign ads by Chris RITCHEY

Shoot your mouth off

A Lone Voice

Speak Out!

To be continued………

Entry filed under: Arts, Chris Ritchey, death, journey, personal opinion, weddings and funerals. Tags: , .

In search of my son and in search of me Always me – Always Chris

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  January 5, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Very well done!

  • 2. PUBLISHER  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Loraine:

    First and foremost let me say how sorry I was to hear about your son. As one who has previously published your work, I really hope you will consider fleshing out the “journey” for print. I believe, with some work, you have something that has an audience. The offer is there to help . Please e-mail me at the new address (as you can see we have moved). Don

  • 3. Always me – Always Chris « That Woman’s Weblog  |  January 7, 2010 at 12:02 am

    […] Chris « That Woman’s Weblog on In search of my son and in search of mePUBLISHER on Toujours Moi – Always MeMark on Toujours Moi – Always MeToujours Moi – Always Me « That Woman’s […]

  • […] me – Always ChrisAlways me – Always Chris « That Woman’s Weblog on Toujours Moi – Always MeAlways me – Always Chris « That Woman’s Weblog on In search of my son and in […]

  • […] is now subjected to them in death when he refused to be part of them in life only has HIS MOTHER to speak for him and I WILL- THAT IS MY RIGHT!!!! “Nothing should be hidden or untouchable , if it is your truth […]

  • […] came across the posters designed by my son when he felt “censored in his work” There you have it a new Guest Blog option-”OPEN FOR DISCUSSION’ and the rules […]

  • […] A symbol ( by definition) is something such as an object, picture, written word, sound, or particular mark that represents something else by association, resemblance, or convention. Numerals are symbols for numbers (amounts). All language consists of symbols. Personal names are symbols representing individuals […]

  • […] . As he grew into a young man, he did put his money where his mouth was. He did follow through and if he thought he was right about something nothing would stop him. He used his talent ( and sometimes MY money ) to get his point across, to stand up for his […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031