Always me – Always Chris

January 7, 2010 at 12:01 am 7 comments


artwork Chris RITCHEY

In search of my son series
No.1- No. 2

It is no wonder the college remembers you. I received a lovely note from the Cleveland Institute of Art, part of which reads:

“Chris had left a great impression on all of us at CIA over his school years and we were proud of his accomplishments professionally as well.”

Cleveland Addy Awards

I am sure you did leave an impression. There was that time you were very upset about a painting grade that you felt was unfair. You used your talent to enter into a project where , if you won, you could place your entry anywhere on the college.

You did a full size body cast of yourself , sitting slumped on a floor with the broken painting across your knee – dressed in jeans and a hooded sweatshirt pulled over the face, empty beer cans strewn about .

When the project won you had it placed outside the painting instructor’s office .

And there was the time not so very long ago , when I got the call

I am having to put a few hundred dollars on your credit card for lumber and dry wall!

Why?

“Well the college admin took away our display space for our show and gave it to one of the other majors so I am building my own display area”

I remember saying :
Oh! Chris do you think that is wise?

“Yes! I am supposed to be promoting myself to employers , to stand out , well I am only doing what they have taught me”

Little did I know or the college that Chris trucked in 2 by 4s, dry wall paint and carpet and built an office/reception/studio space right in the middle of the display floor.

He spent all night building it and surprised the “powers that be” and the student body .

Of course, he had to take it all down after the show, but other students then picked up on it and built their own display areas ( only out of cardboard) and me I was out a few hundred bucks but I was so damned proud of your guts and fight !

Someone asked me about my decision to take this route ( as I am not going quietly into the night with my grief and anger- obviously) :

Honestly answer would your son agree with what you are doing ? Answer honestly “

In my 2nd guessing state that I was in -I answered

“He would understand why I was doing it “

That is not what I asked !


came the reply

So now here is my answer after exploring my son’s work and searching for that answer :

I would say YES!!!! He would expect nothing else as he knew who I am and he would be right there with me.

The essence of who Chris was did not change because of Cancer or H1N1 or anything or anyone else. He was Chris and he still speaks.
My birthday card ( designed by Chris) the year I fought the selling of Lorain’s 200-year-old park.

to be continued……

Entry filed under: Arts, Chris Ritchey, death, journey, men of substance, personal opinion. Tags: .

Toujours Moi – Always Me “In Search of My Son- Chris RITCHEY- Thanks

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane Wargo medina  |  January 7, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I LOVE THIS STYLE YOU ARE WRITING!!!! Wonderful, full of love and memories, and it made me laugh, this is a good way, an outlet, I love the birthday card, so damn true of who YOU are…

  • 2. Mark  |  January 7, 2010 at 1:33 am

    After reading the above, Chris would whole-heartedly support and agree with what you’re doing. And he’s probably watching over your shoulder, smiling at every sentence you type.

    It’s pretty obvious where he got his fight.

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Thanks… I couldn’t bear to think that “self serving” obituary in the paper would be the last words written about my son.he was so much more than a high school sweetheart but also in my 2nd guessing I decided to explore those questions I have and see how he would answer them. ….. so the search for my son and answrs will continue and hopefully there will be some more smiles but at least some understanding of why our pain is so great to have had him taken from us not once but twice. Loraine

  • […] posts: (automatically generated)In search of my son and in search of meMy only son- Chris Ritchey-Always me – Always ChrisFather and […]

  • 5. UPDATE- Always Me – Always CHRIS « That Woman’s Weblog  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    […] are dreamt of in your philosophy. W. Shakespeare Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Always me – Always ChrisProfound Stupidity? [part 2]How to: Breakfast in Bed (Guest Post)AFC Corsham Does Comic […]

  • […] Always CHRISUPDATE- Always Me – Always CHRIS « That Woman’s Weblog on Always me – Always ChrisLoraine Ritchey on Lorain- an […]

  • […] As we took our chairs by the window I noticed the large pillar in front of us and realized it was the spot that Chris had built his “display area” the marks were still there. https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/01/07/always-me-always-chris/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031