What happens after you die?

January 12, 2010 at 12:02 am Leave a comment

Here we are the 2nd week of January have you put your wishes in writing yet? I don’t want anyone to go through the hell we have been going through .
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/a-letter-a-legacy-nikki-to-chris-ritchey-sister-to-brother/

In case you still are wondering about what route you should take, I am taking a little detour from the road “In search of my son” .

I would suggest if you ‘REALLY DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS AFTER YOU ARE DEAD JUST SKIP THIS PARTICULAR SERIES!!!!”This road is full of potholes!

C.J. Hodge – Turning Away

Ok! so for those of you that are still with me. I am at this point in my life , 2nd guessing because a “slip of a girl” based a decision to deny closure for this family in our way partly due to “ignorance” of the cremation process.

We are infact , unless a Funeral Director , Mortician, Cemetery worker , “surface dwellers” ( pun intended) when it comes to death and what happens to our bodies.

There are many ways of dealing with our earthly remains….( as I said read no further if you really don’t want to know BUT you really should be making an educated decision) many cultures have different ways of dealing with this . For instance :
http://www.wyfda.org/basics_2.html

History of Funeral Customs

Although we may find ancient burial customs to be strange or in some cases repugnant, they obviously arose for a reason.

The first burial customs then, were crude efforts to protect the living from the spirits which caused the death of the person.

Fear of the dead caused the burning of bodies to destroy evil spirits.

Many primitive tribes even today simply run away from their dead, leaving them to rot.

Zoroastrians similarly allow their dead to simply rot or be devoured by vultures. They consider fire to be too sacred to be put to use disposing of the dead and burial is thought to be a defilement and injury to mother earth.


Hanging Coffins China SOURCE

Please bear in mind as you read the rest of the series and you are shocked- possibly sickened by what other cultures and beliefs do to ‘Honour their Dead” some of the traditions, beliefs that YOU find so normal and an every day occurence – I find just as “strange” and against our way of dealing with things coming from my cultural ubringing. I am not saying they are wrong or right just NOT FOR ME OR MINE . I respect those beliefs and customs – just as I would have expected my beliefs and customs to be respected. (SIGH!!!)

I was frankly shocked at what I found here in the US the first time I experienced “visitation”
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/05/11/tres-difficile-den-parler-noces-dargent-et-de-mort/

Certainly in my family, children were not part of seeing a person laid out etc. so the first “viewing” I experienced was at the age of 21 –

I was “mortified”! Not knowing what to expect and not having been prepared beforehand I walked into what I thought was a living room and well the first thing I saw was the deceased.

So in the next few posts ( since I am living here in the USA) I will give you some if not all of the options ( in detail) and what those options mean to your “body” as you morph……


Credit: Larry Landolfi of Rochester, New Hampshire.
A road in Texas
Source
To be continued…….

Entry filed under: commentary, death, weddings and funerals. Tags: .

“In Search of My Son- Chris RITCHEY- Thanks Let us talk Burial- NOT Green

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031