THIS “thatwoman” Blog

February 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm 4 comments

“Loraine, I wish you would get back to writing”

I HAVE been writing! It is the subject matter that has changed just as my life has changed.

Oh there are plenty of “drafts’ done here and there .

I could write reams about “High Speed Rail” in Europe the good but mostly the bad!


I could once again put men in tights” – and would they turn out to be the NON RUN kind???

I could follow-up on the post with the most hits Dachau

I could write about all the wonderful happenings locally with the Arts

I could debate art or sport when it comes to competitive dance or even ice skating.

The history as it continues (for most) in this old town of Lorain.

I could write about politics, the media, disgraceful housing stocks , wheeling and dealing, crime, war, famine, disasters and healthcare.

But I have tunnel writing at the moment because although to those parallel to my world these things are so important they have faded in the fog of sorrow that exists in my world.

I have tried even in my verbal diarrhea of despair to research and educate so that you still come away from this blog with a little more knowledge than just the intensity of pain we are feeling. The subject matter may rankle but as with all things I try to find the truth and bring it to you unsugarcoated……..

I will be writing about the arts, religion and other subject matter as seen in my parallel universe. The humour –probably dark – there is no laughter here but once in a while a giggle will hopefully get through

Is it true that all babies look like Winston Churchill?

Entry filed under: Blogging, Brit take, personal opinion, writers and writing. Tags: .

Unless There is a Will- There is Another’s Way The Unfinished Portrait- In search of Chris (RITCHEY)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grammy  |  February 21, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    What a cutie!

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 21, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    yup he has changed a lot since that picture but he is one of the only smiles we have ….he demands happiness…. accepts nothing else but your total attention….. but he is also a trigger.. He actually fights sleep and to get him to sleep you have to hold him in your arms and keep him still for a few minutes….it is exactly the same behaviour I had when Chris was a baby only way to get him to sleep and as I sat in the chair rocking him the way I used to do , Gavin was fighting it , I had tears streaming down my face and I looked across the room to my mum who was also crying as she remembered the nightly get Chris to sleep tantrum. after about 5 minutes he would literally “zonk out”same as Gavin……. but it hurts so much ……even in the joy and warmth of holding Gavin and hearing him giiglge and grow…..

  • 3. Grammy  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:01 am

    No, no, no. . . it’s a sign that Chris’ spirit lives on. The precious things have been passed to Gavin to continue touching lives just the way Chris did. I have seen so much of my children’s dad in them especially now that he is gone. Thinking back to the beginning of our lives together, both before and after the I do’s, I see signs of him in them, reminding me that all the good continues to touch us, protect us, hold us, love us.

    Love and hugs, M

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Well Gavin seems to have inherited the temper from both Chris and myself of that I can tell you for sure 🙂 I wil l be writing about our “portraits ” tomorrow. and the artists 🙂

    Chris had his fathers hands and although looking at my husband’s hands brings some “tangibility ” of Chris and his existence in our lives it also breaks my heart at the same time

    We “all” had a horrendous day yesterday. not sure why it wasn’t a trigger day there are no good days just less than horrible days and sometimes half functioning days .but always always there is extraordinary emptyness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728