UPDATE- Always Me – Always CHRIS

February 27, 2010 at 6:01 pm 3 comments

I wrote in the Always Me – Always Chris post the following:

I am sure you did leave an impression. There was that time you were very upset about a painting grade that you felt was unfair. You used your talent to enter into a project where , if you won, you could place your entry anywhere on the college.

You did a full size body cast of yourself , sitting slumped on a floor with the broken painting across your knee – dressed in jeans and a hooded sweatshirt pulled over the face, empty beer cans strewn about .

When the project won you had it placed outside the painting instructor’s office

.

I had wanted to show you the artwork in question but it had sat in many places, outside the Mainstreet Lorain office for a few weeks – scaring the hell out of one of the Stocker Foundation employees – who called the landlord of the building thinking a homeless man had taken up residence in the hallway .

Then he found a home in one of the windows of the empty buildings on Broadway as part of a display of artworks when we tried to brighten up the windows a few years before the latest much more succesful efforts of Joe Skodny and the Christmas Council.

However , the other self too met his demise just last summer due to a leaky roof.( a bad omen perhaps) .

I was sad really because although he would have been a painful trigger he could have been also a tangible touchable remembrance. I have been thinking a lot about the “other self” in recent days and wishing I had something of him.

This morning trying to find some records I needed, I found on an old hardrive a series of photos that I never knew were on my computer. I have never seen them before but obviously I was meant to find them 😉

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, Than are dreamt of in your philosophy. W. Shakespeare

Entry filed under: Arts, Chris Ritchey, death, journey, Love, men of substance. Tags: , .

Lorain- an Open Letter “Life is trying to break up with me!”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dave c  |  February 27, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I do believe that you were lead to the photos.
    Remarkable isn’t it!?

    peace!

  • 2. Grammy  |  February 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    When I faced my biggest challenge of being “cheated of his presence” I was led to finding a letter that had absolutely no business being where I found it. It should have been in my mementos box in the attic, filed in date order, a letter written to me by my beloved while we were dating and I was away at college. This letter was found on the same day, only 39 years later. Talk about “eerie”, it was almost scary. But it was something for a reason I was meant to find and read on that day.

    Let these experiences wash over you and help you know that these things happen to all of us. We need to just accept them, cherise them and continue to trust in something greater than the sum of all of us.

    Love and hugs,

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:50 am

    All I can say is that for the sirst time in days I had a respite from flooding tears because of it ….I didn’t cry myself to sleep last night – and had a mini break from overwhelming grief…. but I am typing this at 5 o”clock in the morning so it didn’t last long but a break….. thanks to ” the other self and my son”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728