It Is Only Words, BUT Words Are ALL I HAVE-

March 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm 15 comments

My Darling Gavin :

This week a year ago I saw your little face for the first time as you burst into life on this planet. You have been firing on all cylinders ever since. You make us smile, demanding our attention every minute you are not asleep. Your little body giggles with mischief and deviltry. You are a wonder! I watch you as you discover the world about you unafraid to try just one more thing.

Those stairs were just MADE FOR CLIMBING, then there is the big window, where is the dog – he is always up for a game , and what is down that hallway ? If I push the drum in front of me they will think I am playing with my toys and I can make it to the back door..Oh look I can walk ( sort of)…



Your thoughts are written all over your little face, you are a joy and a spark of life amongst all the sorrow.

Gavin, your Uncle Chris wanted so much to be a part of your life. He didn’t get to spend a lot of time with you but he loved you , that I promise you .

The night you were born he was in a hospital undergoing the first of two stem cell transplants, but he was on the phone with your mummy the whole night. They traded cell phone pictures back and forth that night, he talked to her , kept her going when she was tired, making her laugh when she was scared.

When you were born and we knew you were a boy , he was the one that called family and told them

“It’s a boy!!!”

Your Uncle Chris was so excited , he had great plans for you , he wanted so much to be a good Uncle. You were the first person he wanted to see when he got out of that hospital room and on April 10th he saw you for the first time.

He was a little nervous Gavin as he had never held such a tiny baby before but he held on tight to you.

Whilst your “Nag Nog”(me) stayed with him in Texas he would talk about you and what he wanted to do for you . He wanted to teach you to play soccer, ( said with your big hands you would probably end up in goal).

He bought you the cowboy belt in Texas and we went looking for a hat and he made me buy the camouflage fleece bunting rather than the blue one I was planning on.

Your Uncle Chris discovered a love of horses in Texas, and even I managed to get my more than ample rear end on one. He and I went riding through the Texas brush, but just like you -your Uncle Chris was straining at the bit to get his head down and gallop. He was strong and incredibly brave and I promised him in Texas he would always be a part of your life. I had thought in a different way than it has unfortunately turned out to be .

I knew what your Uncle Chris wanted to buy you – a horse- (well not just yet )but he said to me after that very hot ride in Texas.

“When I get through this – I am going to buy some land and a horse and I will buy Gavin his first pony “

He couldn’t keep that promise to himself or to you Gavin. He is unable to be part of your life in the way he wanted to be, but he loved you just as he so loved your mummy .

Your first Christmas had a “Chris Miss present” under the tree and whilst it was a little big for you at first you have managed to “gallop”.

I will keep my promise to my son , your Uncle Chris and there will be a present for you always from him , one that I know you and he will appreciate. Although I am not sure mummy and daddy will always agree with the choice 🙂

And on my part my little “beautiful boy” I will take all the words I have written and will write about your terrific and wonderful Uncle Chris and save them for you – because that is all I have are my words and memories but know this Gavin he also left you words – words from his heart to help you grow.

From Your Uncle Chris ( Your mummy has the original artwork)
No 1 in the series-

Artwork CHRIS RITCHEY

HAPPY FIRST BIRTHDAY GAVIN CHRISTOPHER – NAG NOG

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, Love, writers and writing. Tags: , .

It is all in a “name”- comment or commodity ? Love plus Loss does not equal Logic

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Molnar  |  March 30, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Happy Birthday to Gavin. My how fast the years go by. He is quite a hansome little boy. I hope he gets his pony some day. May he enjoy his special day with many presents and with much hugs, kisses from his family and friends.

    Here is a Big Kiss for you Gavin ,HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  March 30, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Thanks Anne I will pass on the wishes and hugs ( if he stops long enough for me to give him one 🙂 We are celebrating his 1st Birthday and Christening on you guessed it April 10th , Nikki wants it that day for Chris …. Gavin’s Christening had to be postponed twice because of bad news so hopefully three times is the charm …….

  • 3. Audrey Bruck  |  March 30, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Hello Ritchey Family ! Wonderful to hear from you and see your precious grandson(ours are almost grown eldest already 21). We hope to meet him in person one day!Yes, I know that you will keep his Uncle Chris alive in Gavin’s life. Have a wonderful day on his Christening Day, know that we send our love and caring to you and yours. You are always in our prayers, Dan and Corky. Hope this message works as I am not too good at this. HUGS!

  • 4. Ngaire  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Oh my how time flies! Our little grandson Hamish is also just 1 and he has the cheeky boy grin as Gavin does – what a wonderful handful grandsons are! His Uncle Chris would indeed have loved him and (as all good uncles do) teach him all those things that mothers hope their sons never learn! Enjoy his birthday with him Nag Nog – another little man to cherish. xxx

  • 5. Gary Andrea and Nataalie Fischer  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Happy Birthday Gavin!

    We hope that all of you enjoy his special day! Find joy and the beauty of life in his eyes.

  • 6. Judy Hines  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:40 am

    He is gorgeous you must all be very proud. Love always. Jude XXX

  • 7. Lisa  |  March 31, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Happy Happy Happy first birthday Gavin!!
    You are getting so big, strong, and handsome!!
    May you have many many more of these happy days to celebrate!!

  • 8. Rich Robbin  |  March 31, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Happy Birthday little guy! That timidness won’t last long.
    It has always been a pleasure having your entire family
    as a part of mine. MANY BLESSINGS to you!

    The Robbin’s

  • 9. muley  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    ……..happy birthday, Gavin.

    …….much love, muley

  • 10. "B"  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    LOVED your story and what a beautiful way to share your memories with not only Gavin but all of us.

    Speaking of Gavin… Damn is he cute or what!!!! And those dimples…. I could just eat him up

  • 11. Anne Hayward  |  March 31, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Happy Birthday Gavin. You do look a mischevious little imp – which is as it should be.
    Hope your second year is a fun year for you all.
    xxxx

  • 12. Mark  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    A big Happy Birthday to Gavin! Let him know that Uncle Chris will forever be just over his shoulder, watching over him, and probably encouraging him into some mischief as well.

    That’s a pretty big grin on that little guy. May he have a long, fun and wonderful life.

  • 13. dave cotton  |  March 31, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I love your dimples, Gavin! Happy B’day!

  • 14. thatwoman  |  April 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Thank you everyone both in the comments and in emails. It is hard because I wasn’t sure how to give Gavin a “Chris Miss “present without being morbid…. I think I have hit upon a solution.. after the “party” I will explain……. but once again thank you everyone…… this life is certainly Ying and Yang….. Loraine

  • […] https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/03/30/it-is-only-words-but-words-are-all-i-have/ You weren’t able to be there for his first birthday although he had his “Chris MISS present” that year and ever since. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031