Gentleman Time Please!

April 15, 2010 at 12:53 pm 4 comments

and Ladies too!
No this is not about the “pub calling last orders” This post is about R E S P E C T

I admit I am in a fragile state, my emotions are raw and that isn’t likely to change any time in the near future.

I did surface a couple of times from my depths of despair to attend “meetings/visions/input” on the subject of what “COULD” happen in the vicinity of this “old neighborhood”.

The forums for the Complex Complex were more a slanging match than constructive thought process and sharing of concerns , they turned me off completely.

Gentlemen ( and a couple of Ladies) started the rants and insults to those facilitating or in opposition to their opinion and it was like a protective sound proof doors slammed about my being, all that got through to this somewhat befuddled brain was an irritating muffled noise.

I then, since I was informed that a Container Port in the downtown and in fact on the Pellet site of Charleston Village was going to be discussed at the Lorain Port Authority meeting last Tuesday , I once again dragged myself up and out.


I have definite feelings as a “surface dweller with some knowledge of just what is a Container Port” BUT I had promised Mr. Fallis months ago I would “listen” to his plans and proposals when they were definite. However, I would have questions that I would be asking ( in writing) as to how he would “negate the negatives” of which I was already aware.


It was already very difficult for me to attend this meeting and as I looked out the windows at BRL. My focus was my son once again as I gazed upon his contribution to BRL. I fought to maintain my emotional incontinence .

And it started, there were approximately 20 people in the “audience” all but three over the age of 50. The antagonistic, bombastic and insults to people and their integrity was the bar set for the discussion.


Just like the forum I attended the “polite policeman “ patiently tried to let the ranters have their say.

There is a small group of people who dominate these meetings and not just in this “Complex Complex” situation but in all things Lorain.

Is it because of the frustration and helplessness felt in the grand scheme of things. I don’t know – all I do know is –

please if you want to be heard then try being articulate instead of ranting like some old bull in heat bellowing at the top of your voice for attention.

Gentleman, please start acting like Gentlemen otherwise ears turn to cloth and maybe the point of view you have may be heard and “listened to” in the world of debate.

Entry filed under: Brit take, city of lorain, commentary, Lorain Port Authority. Tags: , .

April 10th – A Big Day in the Life of a Little Boy Unfinished Portrait – The Artistic Gene???

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis Lamont  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:09 am

    AMEN
    And I hope everyone realizes that all that noise is worth exactly ONE VOTE when it comes down to the bottom line.
    As “they” flit to new problems, the noiseys will attracted to the proposal to bring automated garbage trucks to Lorain.

  • 2. thatwoman  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

    That is the problem Dennis as I am over 50 too my brain isn’t as agile as it used to be and the confusion and noise just well I don’t want to deal with it …a couple of people at the forum I attended didn’t want to speak as they were not the “regulars” and therefore were intimidated by the antagonistic attitude worried that the antagonism would be directed against them…. . I don’t know who is right I just know that if you want to be heard ( as Jean Schaeffer used to say 🙂 whisper !!!! the old story of the sun and the wind and the man with the coat comes to mind

  • 3. Dennis Lamont  |  April 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    The first meeting was the best, the screamers were just getting set up to see what they could get away with. A whole series of items were logged in and a rational location vote was actually taken. It was all downhill after that. many folks in the rest of the meetings just shook their heads and gave up trying to get a word in… the same six people over and over. Six people, six votes !

  • 4. Ngaire  |  April 17, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Is the same everywhere I believe – those with the loudest voices get heard and the intimidation factor is always present. A good ‘Chair’ will allow ALL participants a fair go. I have chaired a few meetings where the over-zealous attempt to run the whole show however, I set the rules to begin with – limit the time to speak etc etc
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930