I am SHE!- Who Waits

May 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm Leave a comment


Source

I waited, waited to be loved, to be needed, to nurture. I had brief encounters -as those who passed by – took refuge in my bosom for just a short while and then once again I was left to my waiting.

Then a war , I awoke to activity , felling of my trees, building of dwellings, laughter and men’s voices ringing true in the clearings they made in my heart. Times of hardship for man , but they rose to the challenges presented to them. I became “home”.

I didn’t change! I was still here to nurture to give a place in my heart. The needs of man changed, money became important , dwellings needed to be bigger and better – the needs of man became “give me” – I gave what I had.

Another war, where man died for me and the thought of me. I was home, freedom- a way of life to be cherished.
Now came the dark time – I am no longer looked upon with a love of home – I am prostituted- a place of ridicule and held in contempt – even by those that I had held in my grasp.

I am beaten and abused , my name has changed on more than one occasion – hardly anyone remembers why – but I do – as I wait once more to be loved and to give nurture to man. Just a few of my children of man are left to care – they are so few- they are outnumbered- I am weary .

I am SHE – a place – a home – LORAIN

Entry filed under: city of lorain. Tags: , .

My Florence Nightingales- The Nurse The Pride and The Preparation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31