COW-elle – Are you ready?

May 21, 2010 at 11:30 am 4 comments

Robert Seymour -1878

Is polite society ready for COW-elle to come to the picnic? 🙂

Simon Cowell, the icon of American Idol made the American TV audiences sit up wide-eyed and incredulous with his ” style of critique”
From Times Online May 3, 2007
http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/tv_and_radio/article1743452.ece

Simon Cowell’s most vicious American Idol insults
(AP)

Is he a spiteful, malicious little man with ludicrously white teeth? Or is he a great wit who saves America’s top-rated show from becoming an all-out love-in?
I presume there was no mirror in your dressing room tonight.”

“Shave off your beard and wear a dress. I think you’d be a great female impersonator”

“Did you really believe you could become the American Idol? Well, then, you’re deaf.”

“You have just invented a new form of torture”

“If you had lived 2,000 years ago and sung like that, I think they would have stoned you.”

“You have the personality of a handle.”

“I’m tempted to ask if you sang that the night before your wife left you.”

Love him or hate him, he took his niche and ran with it all the way to the bank and the ratings.

This blog , has no ratings, no money, no prestige upon which to support a lifestyle. It is just me and a few guests. I write under my own name , they are my opinions as I see things at the time of writing. Sometimes my opinions have changed and some are definitely couched in terms where you have to be able to read between the lines or be party to the “back story” .

I have taken issue with people who insult, destroy people’s reputations because they can under “nom de plumes” , given them the white feather of cowardice upon occasion.

My family and some friends – the few I have left 🙂 know a caustic and irreverent side of me shared with them from time to time. You may have seen some of that on the “Old WoM”. https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/revisionist-history-by-omission/

I jokingly said to one who comments on this blog when discussing the “sock puppets and nom de plume posters” that maybe I should consider a reverse format:

“Yeah it could be a reverse twist on the sock puppet and nom de plume posters instead of reading the “blog post” and trying to guess the author you will know who the author is ( Me) and try to guess the “subject “

But are you ready for me to be a “Cow” of the “she” variety – do people really want to hear the unvarnished truth as I see it?

We play the guessing game as to who the nom de plumes really are – sometimes that misfires, as it did with me when thinking a detractor coming on WoM was one person and making an accusation as to the identity on that blog only to find out that infact it was someone completely different.

I try now not to get caught up in the “who is the mouth behind the name”. BUT I have to admit I have fallen back into that game a couple of times and I have to remind myself not to.

Thinking about “Cow-elle” would the fact I wouldn’t be naming the person who would be the target of MY truth cause distress to others who may erroneously be misidentified by readers. And, if I made it too plain as to who the MY truth target actually is – wouldn’t that be defeating the purpose of the exercise?

We will see but I will say this if COW-elle does surface some people are in for a hell of a bumpy ride 🙂

Entry filed under: Blogging, Brit take, notorious opponents of exactitude, opinion, tongue in cheek. Tags: .

AFTER 178 YEARS! – Ya think they would have found a cure! Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Just a reminder- Flags and Auditions

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben  |  May 22, 2010 at 12:45 am

    I mostly stay in my own little world, and don’t really know too many people, but I have friends that might know. It is always fun to speculate who is who. Even more fun is trying to figure out who is using new names after they say something stupid and have to change names to save fake face.
    Thanks for the emails. I am back, I will try to be more thoughtful and hold my tounge, really think about what I am saying, and the impact the words have. Hey, I am a slow learner, but eventually I learn

  • 2. thatwoman  |  May 22, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Been there done that myself on more than one occasion – glad you are back….I always and I mean “always” appreciate to read your thoughts Loraine

  • 3. Twbrit  |  May 30, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    May be just time to say it as it is…

    I got into what seemed to be a world of trouble recently, a nights sleep and a good think brought me to realise what I had written was straight up and honest if not a little hard and in my view – down right humorous.
    But the level of the back lash was the thing that shocked me.
    Simon Cowell would be the first one to say “Bad news – is ALWAYS good news” and he’d be right.
    Controversy always gets more readers, it always gets people talking and sometimes even thinking and where it’s in the world of entertainment – it makes everyone involved earn more money through interviews and personal appearances etc.
    Heck newspapers have been making news up and lying for years because they know it gets people to buy their product – to the point they can pay any out of court settlement with the proceeds.

    So, in my view (and may become more apparent shortly) say it as it is…

  • 4. thatwoman  |  May 30, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Ah that back – lash 🙂 I look forward to the TWBrit pages but then again I always do, your blog has done more to keep me grounded in recent months than you wil ever know thanks Loraine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31