SHHHHHH! Secret- The British Are Coming

August 4, 2010 at 11:43 am 6 comments

The phone call came

Shhhhhhhh don’t tell Auntie

..but a world champion is coming to Lorain just to see her…. the fact that it is her nephew only adds to the fun.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/12/09/princes-williamharry-lewis-hamilton-me-between-the-covers/

Now the reason her nephew is flying in is to see his son drive in the American Le Mans on Saturday at Mid Ohio.

We will be having the surprise lunch Thursday for the visitors and for “The Dame” – it is a bit of a risk “surprising a 91 year old” but I think she will be fine- smelling salts handy ! Good job she doesn’t read this blog!!!!!

So it is left to us (that are in the know) to wangle it that I get this 91 year old down to the race track on Saturday – apparently this event is almost sold out ( at least the Grandstand) and golf carts are also all reserved.( I have a feeling they heard about my driving skills)

HEY HEY NANA- let us get in a practice lap you need to get in shape for this you know-

Saturday
8:00 – 8:45 a.m. Practice – Firestone Indy Lights
9:00 – 10:00 a.m. Practice – IZOD IndyCar Series
10:15 – 11:20 a.m. Race 1 – World Challenge Championships
11:00 – 12:00 p.m. American Le Mans Series Autograph Session (Upper Paddock)
11:35 – 12:20 p.m. Qualifying – Firestone Indy Lights
12:35 – 1:55 p.m. Qualifying – IZOD IndyCar Series
1:30 – 2:30 p.m. World Challenge Autograph Session (Infield)
2:00 – 3:00 p.m. American Le Mans Series Pre-Race Ceremony
3:00 – 5:45 p.m. Mid-Ohio Sports Car Challenge – American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patron Race
6:00 – 6:30 p.m. American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patron Post Race Ceremony
6:00 – 6:45 p.m. Race 2 – Patron GT3 Challenge by Yokohama


But the oldest and youngest member of the family – Nana and Gavin will debut at the race. Nana will take her hearing aids out and Gavin will have his ear protection in!

HMMMMMM this isn’t exactly what I had in mind- Nana isn’t so great on the cornering….
I kinda like Cousin Luke’s ride with Bryce Miller Racing I wonder if I will be allowed to have a go? after all I am the Lorain Dude– should count for something- little worried about this autograph business though – I can’t write yet- could be a problem…. I really like this car though


PHOTO SOURCE MOTORSPORT.COM
ORBIT No. 48 Porsche 911 GT3

ED NOTE: (Nag Nog) Oh ! Oh ! hope he doesn’t get to like this racing lark _ no more bleachers for Nag Nog please!!!!!!

For more information on Mid Ohio
http://www.midohio.com/Schedule/Mid-Ohio-Sports-Car-Challenge—The-Honda-Indy-200

Entry filed under: Brit take, commentary, motorsport/racing. Tags: .

Fate plus eight- Chris Ritchey Facebook- ouch -update

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  August 4, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    What is really needed is for Luke (or Martin if allowed) to take her round the track after the race to show her how it’s done!!!!

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 4, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    We will see what we can do 🙂

  • 3. Dawn Becklake  |  August 4, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Wow – what can I say – you are honoured! He never comes down on the farm!! The only race tracks we have are the fields!! I was going to ask Martin for some back-dated Royalties as he used one of my wedding pictures in his Book! Probably not – but Auntie will really enjoy – I think there are some pictures in that same book of Nana (in her younger days with Mark) in the GoCart racing pits! Before they moved on to cars. Have a great day and a great surprise – I know she will be thrilled.

  • 4. Grammy  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:50 am

    This is going to be so much fun for all of you. How fantastic to share such a time with generations of family. I know I have a photo of five generations together and I treasure it.

    Enjoy the family and the race.

  • 5. tony  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:42 am

    I would leave Aunty in the stands, I think her past experiences with sports cars has been soemwhat eventful. I had a lovely BMW 645 with light cream leather, Nikki, Aunty, Me and Dodger my then puppy westie, went one sunny day from London to my sisters in Leicester. The journey was going so well Aunty in the front, Nikki and the puppy in the back. Suddenly Nikki said as cool as you like, Tony I think your going to have to pull over, we all then experienced the most awful smell, the puppy had the squits all over the back seats and Nikki, Aunty as cool as you like opened her handbag and covered her nose with a tissue. I pulled over into a gas station, and went into the shop and bought the only thing I could find which was a pack of toilet rolls, when I came out of the garage there was Nikki using the water for windscreen replenishment to wash her jeans, we both burst out laughing, I still dont think Aunty was too impressed with my car or the dog

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031