Lorain City Schools -going – going ?????

September 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm 18 comments

UPDATE – PLEASE LINK TO THIS POST
THE SCHOOL SECRETARY
(it makes for some eye opening reading and will make you think!!)
http://bustershouse.wordpress.com/2010/09/28/the-school-secretary/

There was not a lot of hope that many of these sixth graders would ever make it to twelfth grade, so this was their only chance at the “prom” experience. The families never failed to pull out all the stops for this event every year. Yet, when it came right down to it, the families were giving up on these kids. They were just accepting what they perceived as their inevitable fate. They weren’t even trying to give these kids a better life and break the vicious cycle.


For the most part I am ignoring issues , I am ignoring what is happening in the real world of Lorain. I am leaving it to others now. I probably won’t even vote this year – first time since the age of 24. (I am still debating that in my head- it will depend on if I feel I can make a difference) you see I have changed.

But it is hard to ignore the fact that a neighbor, whom I have said good morning to every day that I have lived in this house, is in its death throes.
Irving School is going and today there is an on-line auction for Lorain City Schools

LORAIN CITY SCHOOLS

SURPLUS INVENTORY ONLINE AUCTION
BEGINS MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010
WWW.PUBLICSURPLUS.COM
FREE ACCESS FOR THE PUBLIC.
ONLY PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS SELL THEIR ITEMS ON THIS SITE.

From my self-imposed prison I scan the newspapers ( on-line) and read of problems with Lorain City Schools . I think back to just 3 years ago and another September, when Lorain City Schools was rocked financially all the problems faced and it seems that I am reliving those times three years on.
http://chronicle.northcoastnow.com/2007/07/21/ax-falls-in-lorain/
Not a lot has seems to have changed

They must often change, who would be constant in happiness or wisdom. ~Confucius

As I archived the comments from Lorain City Schools Forum and the happenings on WoM I noticed In the space of just one month and 22 days on that forum there was over 1074 comments. 262 pages filled in “word” a small book.
Wom LCS forum 175 Sept 2007
Wom LCS 175-350 Sept 2007
Wom LCS forum 350-525 Sept 2007
Wom LCS forum 525-700 Sept 2007
Wom LCS forum 700-875 Sept 2007
WoM LCS forum 875-1074 October 22nd

The posts on WoM penned fast and furious as to the state of the schools and what needed to be done. Brian , Scott , Kelly, Jim and Roman
Lorain City Schools- Roman, hundreds of comments followed each post, so much so Scott had to set up another page.

ALL had suggestions and in the case of Brian
http://web.archive.org/web/20080103090107/thewomblog.com/?p=696
he organized rally after rally drawing people from their apathy, but that was of another time and another blog.

Things changed on the Wom – just as they have with me but not to wisdom and happiness unfortunately .

Sept 2007 was a time of upheaval and cost cutting. Employees, teachers , citizens and candidates found a place to vent the frustration – the financial situation was dire – we are being told now the financial situation is dire once again
http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2010/04/15/news/doc4bc696f920a43770853175.txt .

Have things “changed” in those three years?

Yes! we have another superintendent, different members on the BOE , we now have one high school , new buildings to replace the old in some cases, new uniforms but the report card is not good- a score of 1 out of 26 that isn’t good no matter how optimistic you are. In that year of 2007 we rated 4- in 2006- 6 in 2005 -8 and 2004 -4 and I say WE because how Lorain Schools fare so do we all- we are in this together like it or not. http://ilrc.ode.state.oh.us/Districts/District_Questions.asp?sel=044263,Lorain City,Lorain County


We have another newspaper editor at the helm of the local paper , Tom Skoch at the Morning Journal who states on Sept 24th-2010

SOMETHING good is happening in Lorain’s schools these days, and at the same time, a door is opening to further improve student achievement.

http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2010/09/24/opinion/mj3343813.txt


But we also have the “old ” newspaper editor of the Morning Journal, John Cole , who wrote in his column for the rival newspaper The Chronicle on Sept 8th 2010

ED. NOTE -John we must remember was the long time editor of the Morning Journal and was at the helm through the LCS continuing decline so his opinion should come from experience.

“So, as the education available in Lorain stinks like a dead cat on the curb the superintendent and board find all manner of activities to look busy”

ED NOTE: The whole article can be found here by clicking on the PDF file link below
20100908112943798

A tale of two editors???- who does a mere mortal believe?

Something does need to change – even I can see that from my place beneath the surface- but what???? YOU tell me – what will make a difference and “quickly”. As I see it from the “outside” Lorain City Schools need to pass a levy but the voters are not in a giving mood- what is needed to change that mood? What can be said that hasn’t been said before, what change for wisdom and happiness?

After all what is being asked of the voters is not “small change” in these trying times –

“The Lorain school board officially placed a 9.12-mill, 10-year emergency levy on the November ballot. Members voted 4 to 1 last night, with the dissenting vote coming from member Jim Smith.

The levy will bring in $6 million per year and cost the owner of a $100,000 home roughly $306 per year or $25 a month.


On top of what we are already paying???No not small change!
Morning Journal

The previous levy (May 2010) of
generating $5.9 million each year and cost the owner of a $100,000 home $274 per year, or $22.83 per month.
failed
http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2010/05/05/news/mj2688412.txt

as did the previous The 6.43-mill levy in November 2009
http://chronicle.northcoastnow.com/2009/11/04/lorain-schools-levy-fails-leaves-district-with-some-very-serious-challenges/

WILL THERE BE A CHANGE COMING????( apart from the mills that is)

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” George Santayana

Entry filed under: blogs, Brit take, commentary, education, personal opinion. Tags: , .

Long time passing- Gone to fighting – Part 6 Lorain City Schools- Guest Blogger -Kelly Boyer Sagert

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grammy  |  September 27, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    OK, now you’ve gotten me on a soap box. Every elligible person needs to vote. Each vote counts whether you think so or not. Our way of life declines if we don’t exercise our right to vote. By NOT registering an opinion (that’s what a vote indicates) you are allowing the few to rule the many. Only making comments when you don’t agree and then following it up by not voting leads to a decline in how democracy works. Even if you vote on one side of an issue and your spouse votes on the other, it is not canceling out either vote, it is registering your opinion, thoughts and directives to those elected to serve.

    Sorry for the soap box, but voting is so very important for all of us.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Yes I agree Grammy and in my past life I voted issues only in primary , made the effort all my adult life BUT I am on a knife edge teetering on will I or won’t I and I don’t think I am alone….. looking at some of the choices there isn’t much in it is there they seems to be all the same in the end …..I am sick of politics…. I am sick of promises….I am sick of those that proclaim transparency but it is like looking through frosted glass

    .. it seems to me the agenda for the most part just changes with the name in power……. and not just locally……if my one vote counts to put in more of the same that is a terrible responsiblity to put on my shoulders 😉 …….although I have a feeling that I will go to the polls as usual “guilt” will get to me and those that gave their all for the right to vote will propell me down the road….. I may click submitr to a blank ballot

    So here is the chance since I am now a prime example of the “show me disenchanted voter” why should I votre for anyone or any issue….

    Why should I vote for LCS …why should I vote for any of the issues……. why should I the epitomy of a jaded voter who is an Independent bother to go to the polls an give you my confidence and my money!!!!!!!!!!

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 27, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    An Offer anyone who represents anyone or any issue can “convince the cyncial” by availing themselves of a guest blog on this blog un edited…….just write your piece for or against and why and I will put it up. Although it must be under your own name with a real email address and contact number….. we will see how many partake of the opportunity

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    MONEY ALONE WILL NOT FIX SCHOOL SYSTEMS ACCORDING TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE USA……..

    By John Springer
    TODAY staff and wire
    updated 2 hours 36 minutes ago
    Share Print Font: +-Money alone isn’t the cure for America’s ailing school system, President Obama says.

    Speaking to TODAY’s Matt Lauer in the Green Room of the White House for nearly 30 minutes, Obama said that additional funding tied to significant reforms — including a longer school year and lifting teaching as a profession — is a much-needed fix.

  • 5. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  September 27, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    I do have something related to the schools that I’d like to blog about . . .

  • 6. CA Uncle  |  September 28, 2010 at 5:38 am

    “It is a thousand times better to have common sense without education than to have education without common sense.” – Robert Green Ingersoll

    If you do not have both, you get to be in politics. – CA Uncle

  • 7. Paula Tobias  |  September 28, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Links:
    Wanted to let people know that if they put their cursor over the “words” in “green” and the cursor becomes a hand they can click on to the link.

    I think people are unaware they can go back to those articles.

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:16 am

    You have the space Kelly anytime and thanks Paula

  • 9. The School Secretary « Buster's House  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:29 am

    […] Please check out Loraine’s post, “Lorain City Schools – going – going ?????” […]

  • 10. Ben  |  September 28, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    It is a thousand times better to have common sense without education than to have education without common sense.” – Robert Green Ingersoll-
    Can you teach common sense in a class room? That is what seems to be lacking in many youths today. Lack of discipline, work ethic and common sense. What is the answer?

    I just read a study that merit based pay for teachers did not lead to increased test results. The test results of the control group(non bribed) and those that were offer up to $15,000 to get students to pass the tests were basically the same.

    I heard from a Lorain teacher, that truly cares about his students, that trying to get through to his charges is “like fighting an uphill battle in mud during a rain storm”.

    Maybe tests to be a parent would be a start( kidding of course)

    I think the problem comes in with the lack of decent paying jobs and the population increase of the under educated(of which I am one of the under educated.) Used to be you could go to Ford or the ship yard or sweep the streets(not bombing on these professions of course, skilled labor provided a happy upbringing for myself and my siblings!). None of these things are available to a high school grad in Lorain any longer.

    So now what?

  • 11. Ben  |  September 28, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Allow me to clarify a few things. A record number of students enrolled in college this fall. More folks, young and old are pursuing a college education. I would tend to think this means more and more students see themselves as college bound capable.

    I would be interested to see the % of college bound students in LCS. Is it more or less the % than 10-20- or 30- years ago?

    Secondly, concerning the work force, it used to be there were many more opportunities for a high school grad than there are now. A college education is almost a requirement to provide a decent living for your family. When my parents were growing up a labor position was an honorable living. About 1/4 of my graduating class went off to college, 1/4 went off to the military, and the rest hoped the mill and Ford would be around until they could retire. I would estimate in my child’s class, 50-60% are pursuing some type of higher learning. The mill and Ford are no longer considered reliable employment

    Sooo, I guess I am asking is there truly a higher % of under educated young people in LCS or is there just less opportunities for those that are not cut out for school?

  • 12. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I would be interested in seeing the figures for those that entered HS grade 9 and those that graduated, I realize that Lorain has become somewhat of a transient community but……. or even how many that enter Grade 12 actually graduated??????? Do they track those numbers.

    I know listening to NBC last night the one chap was saying that the USA pours more money into education and that it is one of the worlds last super powers but we are almost thrid world in our education .true??????????????? Read ing the Link this morning on the School Secretary surely is eye opening

  • 13. Grammy  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    You are looking for the graduation rate/percentage and that sort of appears on the state report card. It’s a complicated formula that sort of punishes a district if a student leaves and we can’t track where that student went (it becomes a negative in the equation). It would also be great to know how many students had actually wanted to go into the “skilled trades” but lacked the chance to receive training because we have moved away from those “vocational courses” (there is not a wood shop class to be had in Lorain City Schools; what happened to small engine repair; where is home economics; how about electrical shop; do we still offer welding?) and put emphasis on “college bound students.

  • 14. Grammy  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Sorry, meant to add that not every student is meant to go to college so we need to re-address that theory.

  • 15. thatwoman  |  September 29, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I agree in my day ( in both countries England and Canada ) that sought to educate we had availability of Home ec, skilled trades ( basics) – it is where I learned to sew ( not well I must admit) where I learned to make pastry ( did better on that) and where I learned to use thousands of words to prove a point 😉 ( that stemmed from having to visit a slaughterhouse in Canada as part of Home Ec. – I didn’t like it at all ( but we weren’t mollycoddled in those days) so when I refused to watch the process I had to write a 1,000 word essay on ‘Obey”.hmmmmmm it eded up over 2,000 and I remember Hitler and Ghandi in the mix of that essay.. I got an A and a detention 🙂 I learned then and there there is more than one point of view and those in charge have the power……..

    So who is in charge here the voters? The admin? the employees? the BOE? The government? somebody better be and our children need an “all round” education , they need to be articulate in the Global community – Lorain is not alone in the issue of the dumbing down and throwing money at the problem will only give you a partial solution……..

  • 16. Loraine Ritchey  |  September 29, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    And the offer is there to anyone wanting to clarify the position for or against “anything” in this election especially anything to do with the schools just under your own name please…… stir the passion if you can………
    other wise there maybe more who vote but not for anything or anyone 😦

  • 17. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 4, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    So I have teetered off of the knife edge I will vote this year …… I will go to the BOE in the next few days—— not a lot of time to convince me as to some issues and some candidates .but since I am biased as to one or two of the issues and or candiates……reasoning on why I support at least one of them will be forthcoming in the next few days…… I feel I should put my X where my mouth or at least keyboard is 🙂

  • […] 24, 2010 Word had it that Nag Nog was not going to vote! Now there is one thing that I have learned on my short time on this planet (all of my 18 months) […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930