Lorain Dude: And so THIS IS Christmas

December 21, 2010 at 6:22 pm 10 comments

Apparently I was around for this last year – but I don’t remember much- This year though I have been introduced to the goings on in an around my little place on the planet.

I know Nag Nog and mummy have decided to break with old traditions they used to have and start some new ones for me- ( they say I am special)

I did get to go to this park at the end of Nag Nog’s street- the Christmas Council people had hot chocolate, stories , lights and fireworks and Mayor Krasienko of Lorain got to have his picture taken with mummy and I-

It was really cold- and I couldn’t stay for the fireworks but ‘Uncle Mark” has a lot of photos and video
http://www.locophotogblog.com/?p=568

Photo – Mark Teleha

I can’t figure out this tree thing though. The grown-ups bring in this tree into the house- and its OK but whenever “I” try to bring in this stuff called snow- (haven’t made up my mind about snow yet) or logs or dirt or branches the dog chewed off the tree,or that lovely pile of wet leaves – it is a

No! No! Gavin!!!

moment .

I decided to go along with this decorating business


Now what to put on this tree- have to get stuck in here

AHHA found something will this do?

Whew!!!! well at last – now I can take a break

I think Nana has made me some cake and a glass of milk- this decorating trees is hard work!

That is fork in the left Right?????

Now I did get to Lakeview to see the lights and I did go to Carlisle Visitor Center but Nag Nog is not to be trusted with the camera- nothing came out- soooooooo you will have to check out those lights here
http://www.metroparks.cc/events.php#holidaylights
Photo Lorain County Metro Parks

What do you mean the village isn’t for eating? Now you tell me!!!!

I will let you know how this “Christmas ” works out- hope yours is great!

Entry filed under: city of lorain, Lorain Dude. Tags: .

J’accuse- Truth -Justice – the American Way MY Gift for your December- Grace’s Fur Coat

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  December 21, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    He looks absolutely gorgeous! I think ‘new traditions’ for him is an excellent idea. We are making a change as well in that we are going to Helen. However we are sticking with the new arrangments we made last year and are not cooking a Christmas Lunch but are going out to a really good restaurant on Boxing Day. Out of the choices put forward for Christmas Day Shepherd’s Pie was the outright winner but it will be made with rump steak! I’m making that & Helen is making profiteroles for pudding.
    On Friday evening last week we went to a service of Blessings at Christmas at the funeral parlour. There was a tree with silver stars on for everyone they had ‘assisted’on their way plus extra stars for us to write our own messages. There were candles to light in memory and a local vicar did some readings (not all religious) and blessed the souls. It was a lovely little service and very well attended. My star was rather full as not only Mum was remembered but also my Uncle Peter and my cousin Margaret who both died this year , and as the previous day had been the 70th anniversary of Dad’s death and the 67th anniversary of his younger brother Roger (Peter was the youngest of the three and escaped the war), I also included them.

    I hope you have a peaceful Christmas cherishing all your lovely memories and enjoying your lovely Grandson.

    Love from us all to you all

    Anne

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 21, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Thanks Anne and I will think of you all tucking into shepherds pie 🙂 knowing you to be a phenomenal chef I wish I could join you….. we are hoping Tony will be able to fly out of London………things don’t look good at the moment Love Loraine

  • 3. Anne Molnar  |  December 21, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    My how he has grown. Resembles your husband some, especially around the eyes.
    Merry Christmas to all , and may the New Year 2011 be of good health and happiness.

  • 4. Uncle Mark  |  December 21, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Great pics! He’s growin’ fast, and is quite the cutie!

    May Your Christmas Be Peaceful and Pleasant. Thought are with you all.

  • 5. Ngaire  |  December 22, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Every child deserves to have a ‘special’ christmas surrounded by the warmth and love of their family – and what’s wrong with wet leaves inside may I ask?? Haaaa
    Go Gavin!!

  • 6. Lisa  |  December 22, 2010 at 1:47 am

    Way to rock the new picture toys, NagNog 😉

    I am looking forward to the next part of Gavin’s Christmas story.
    He is so darn handsome!

  • 7. Joyce  |  December 22, 2010 at 5:26 am

    Gavin is “gorgeous” !! He’ll warm your heart for sure. There’s nothing like a wee one to get you back into the whole c’mas thing, believe me. Awe the best..

  • 8. tony  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Hi can’t wait to see the little fella he has changed so much, Good news the flight to Detroit is actually operating today 17 minutes delayed, so fingers crossed that we don’t get anymore snow.

    I think after the sour grapes of the UK not getting the 2018 world cup, we should put a bid in for the winter olympics. Imagine downhill skiing on the southdowns, speed skating around the M25, bob sleigh through the dartford tunnel haha

    See you all very soon and wish all your readers a safe and happy christmas

    Tony

  • 9. thatwoman  |  December 22, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I will pass along the thoughts to the Lorain Dude- I think he is in for a surprise this year as his “Chris Miss” present should bring a few squeals I am looking forward to that I must admit- Chris would have been the one to buy him the things that mummy and daddy may not appreciate ……and I see myself as the “enabler” in this instance….

    So I will “visit” the holidays this year……. Thank you all for all your love and support ion these past months……Loraine

  • […] to sink further into my sub surface world and wake up in 2011. That can’t be done not with a little boy who eyes dance and delight with the trappings of his first realized […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031