Political Pie with a side order of CHIP(s)

April 17, 2011 at 11:39 am 4 comments

Whomever wins the Democratic Primary will be the Mayor of Lorain- You as an Independent don’t get a voice.

How many times through the years have I heard that ? And yet whilst I see their point – it just goes against my upbringing.

http://www.rogerdarlington.me.uk/Britishpoliticalsystem.html

Of course in England ( there I probably would have been a Conservative) there are some differences as can be found in this blog
CONTRASTS BETWEEN THE AMERICAN AND BRITISH POLITICAL SYSTEMS

http://www.rogerdarlington.co.uk/USvsUK.html
For instance :

In the States, it is considered necessary for a politician to emphasize their patriotism. In Britain, it is assumed that anyone who wants to run for national office cares for his or her country.

In the States, virtually every political speech seems to mention God, especially in the final call “God bless America”. In Britain, no politician mentions God and none would think of inviting Him to show a special preference for his or her nation state.

Actually I find it amusing although proclaiming separation of church and state the call to bring “Him” into the mix even at Lorain City Council meetings causes me to wonder 😉

But back to being an Independent in a “one party town”. I have mentioned before on this blog and the old “WoM”- the beginning . I had my citizenship and as such decided to exercise my right to vote . However, I was unsure of what exactly the “Democratic Party or the Republican stood for” and an election was looming.

The internet wasn’t around back in those days so research took a little longer. I wanted to vote on an important issue to me at the time – A school levy- living across from Irving- the school was an important part of my “new ” neighborhood.

NOTE: It is a sad fact that I am NOW after being “enlightened” at least in the past 30 years I am still “undecided” on how to vote for even a “renewal”.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/undecided-no-9-lorain-city-schools/

And apart from the “usual rhetoric” I have had not one persuasive argument that I haven’t heard hundreds of times before. I AM WILLING TO LISTEN!!!!.

However it also seems that I am not alone in wondering about Lorain City Schools – Dr. Cheryl Atkinson also is in two minds about Lorain City Schools –

Morning Journal
Atkinson applies for Cleveland schools jobhttp://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/04/17/news/doc4daa6d723ab72593841579.txt

Chronicle Telegram
http://chronicle.northcoastnow.com/2011/04/17/lorain-schools-superintendent-applies-for-job-in-cleveland/ END OF NOTE

I called the Board of Elections and explained my dilemma, the nice man said Oh you can vote issues and register as an Independent . So off I trotted across the road to vote!

Only to be told unless I registered as a Democrat or Republican I was not allowed to vote – much toing and froing with the elderly lady who jealously guarded my right to cast a vote and after discussion with others I was told NO!

I went back across the street ( no cell phones then) and informed the BOE I was not allowed to vote. Calls were made and I got to sign in the “back of the book” as an Independent and issues only.

Things have changed and even in my own family there are now more Independents than Democrats- I am rather proud that they no longer have to sign at the back of the book!I have decided that as far as political parties are concerned I am somewhere between the stance of Democrats and Republicans .

Therefore, I am letting the Democrats choose their own “leaders” – I wish the Republicans would field a greater number of candidates so that I would have more of a choice between the “party’s top pick” but that isn’t happening locally at least- maybe a few more Independents who knows 😉

But I still try to be involved to get the measure of the man or woman running so I attend political functions even though I can’t vote in this primary . To that end I attended the CHIPS event last Wednesday……………

to be continued ………………

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Brit take, personal opinion. Tags: , .

Civil War Letters- Fannie Gilmore- Lorain Side Order of CHIPS- Salt with a dash of vinegar

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill Sturgill  |  April 19, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Rachel Rachel I’ve been thinking….Politicians…Northern Sea….I know most can fill in the blanks if they are my age. I truly hate politics because there is so much scheming going on I don’t have the time for it.

    So Loraine I heard this quote, It may not be enough to convince you but may put you in the frame of mind.

    Michelle Rhee said ” we cannot subjugate children to lower standards and expectations waiting for their parents to do the right thing…in some cases, these children would never be educated and its not fair….they have the right to a quality education no matter what the circumstances are at home.

    I have to thank whoever paid the bills for me when i was young for the fact that I took everything for granted. Actually I thought they were a little mean spirited making me go every day. Now I wish they required a little more of me.

    I guess all I can say is for me it has and always has been built in to me that I would support anything involved with elderly and children. This community will not always be down, things will get better and the sun will come up tomorrow. I love watching the little one’s coming to school. But hey I’ve always been a soft touch.

    Looks like the school accross from you Loraine will have new life in it in the fall if all goes well. Someday hopefully when all the financial woes of LCS goes away… we will be having the conversation of raising the quality. I thnk thats something worth working for. I am agreeable to change…its needed..Bill

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  April 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    Hi Bill I will be asking a few questions in the next part of the post re the schools. As for Irving it would be nice to see it used for education rather than warehousing . We will see but that will boad another question 🙂
    http://chronicle.northcoastnow.com/2011/04/19/charter-group-to-buy-lorains-irving-school-for-240k/
    For those unaware of the situation apparently a Charter school has made an offer to LCS to purchase Irving I believe though they haven’t toured the facility as yet. It is in the early stages.

    To say that I am very disappointed on the way things happen with the LCS Administration and what seems to the surface dwelling onlooker ” Board games” is an understatement. It seems more time and energy is wasted playing “hide the info ” well more on that one day as well….

    Anyway thank you once again for your thoughts it is appreciated
    Loraine

  • […] Part One – Political Pie with a side order of CHIPShttps://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/political-pie-with-a-side-order-of-chips/ […]

  • 4. Susie  |  April 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

    “I truly hate politics because there is so much scheming going on I don’t have the time for it.”

    Does that mean you’re planning to leave the BOE?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930