Oh! to be in England…The wedding of William and Katherine

April 29, 2011 at 5:21 pm 2 comments


Photo Source –MORNING JOURNAL/ANNA NORRIS

Morning Journal article:
Transplanted Brits watching royal wedding by Ron Vidikahttp://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/04/29/news/mj4461622.txt

I went to bed early last night knowing I had to pick my mum up at 5 am. I do not sleep well anymore but since I will be babysitting Gavin later on this evening I knew I was going to need some rest .

Gavin does sleep well but when he is ready to roll the rest of the world stops and Nana’s and Nag Nogs are rushed off their feet trying to keep up!

Best laid plans …. well you know the rest….. I was awoken from a fitful sleep by Misty who decided she needed attention at 1:56 am.

I decided rather than taking the chance of falling back asleep and missing the great day “live” I would wait and watch the events unfolding in my hometown. Of course I knew that my cousins etc would be watching so phone calls back and forth to London as I sipped my third cup of coffee ( to keep me awake)

I picked up mum to take her to Nikki’s , who thankfully had had her power restored from the storm yesterday. We wanted to watch on the large screen ‘plasma”- although right now I think I could used a transfusion .

Breakfast was not traditional but McDonald’s. Unfortunately their computers were down this morning at 5: am. it did take a very long time for the poor chap to add up our order sans computer or calculator – Oh dear….

However we arrived with juice and bacon egg and cheese biscuits for us all. ( maybe it is the computers that always mess up my orders hmmm)

SourceI was proud of the British people and their visitors – I longed to be there – to feel the patriotism , the sense of belonging – the history but I will remember sharing with my own mother , my daughter and her son a day shared by so many across this world.

I thought of my own wedding, my daughter’s wedding and I couldn’t help thinking of another broad-shouldered young man whose wedding and bride brought not joy, laughter and sharing or compassion but pain and anguish eventually to his loved ones. The tears that fell from my eyes this morning were those of great unhappiness on such a happy day.

And the naysayers as to the Royals can say what they like
http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/04/29/news/mj4461622.txt?viewmode=comments but there is no denying the Brits do pageantry well, the bride was beautiful and to hear hundreds of thousands of voices singing a national anthem was awe-inspiring – I just wish I could transplant a little of that to my adopted home town and the home town of my daughter and her son.

Entry filed under: Brit take, commentary, Love, weddings and funerals. Tags: , .

Vote FOR Issue 10- Lorain Public Library Issue Two- Amherst- “Good to Great”? WE are Already EXCELLENT!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ngaire  |  April 30, 2011 at 2:42 am

    Republican that I am, I watched it with my two grandchildren whom I also was babysitting! You’re certainly right about the Brits knowing how to do the pomp and ceremony well. All appeared to run like a dream – a stuff up would’ve been an organisers worst nightmare – even the english weather played its part! And of course, the bride looked superb, the groom looked pretty good too.
    Good show poms!

  • 2. Connie  |  May 6, 2011 at 1:28 am

    My British ancestry really bubbled to the top this past week or so. I Tivo’d the wedding and have watched it twice already.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930