Cleveland Institute of Art- a journey continues – Christopher D. Ritchey

June 2, 2011 at 11:35 pm 2 comments


Another month passes but we are so very fortunate to have the very walls that surround us reach out to embrace our memory- my son -through his works- speaks to us every day .

Sometimes the glimpse of remembered humour of the piece will pierce my being with the torturing spear of longing and missing – I see his smile- his anger – his love – kindness – laughter as I try to go through my day .

My son is here, in all his moods and his talent, still speaks as I find yet another design, project, photograph or sketch. Some I know existed others reach out through boxes in the basement and attic.

Some of the best times Chris had were at Cleveland Institute of Art and they have given me more of my son than they will ever know.

Last year we were able , thanks to the generosity of contributors along with Chris’s sister,uncle, and nana offer a $1,500.00 scholarship

The recipient was a very talented young lady Jessica Obando

We met with Jessica at a CIA meet and greet for scholarship recipients
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/flames-the-fire-of-talent-and-remembering-cia-chris-ritchey/
Jessica invited us to come to her BFA presentation but I knew I wasn’t going to be strong enough to walk back into the display area where I had walked in such happiness in 2006, to see the pride on my son’s face , the excitement of starting his professional life –

I just couldn’t, no matter how I tried, to walk that path- just yet.

Thankfully, Jessica understood my plight and that of my daughters, however she did send me some photos-

I decided to publish three of them as readers have been so generous in this living rememberance of Chris.
THESIS

BFA presentation display

The graduate and her mom

I am pleased to say that this year’s $1,500.00 recipient of the CIA scholarship in Chris’s name has gone to a young man Andrew Frank. The following is from this month’s CIA publication LINK

THANK YOU SO MUCH TO ALL WHO HAVE CONTRIBUTED!

We are hoping to continue with the scholarship at CIA for 2012 in order that another “communication design student” can share with their loved ones the excitement and pride as they too receive their BFA and continue a journey denied my son.

Should you wish to contribute to the 2012 scholarship in the name of Christopher D. Ritchey
please contact or send checks to

Megan French
Assistant Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Relations
The Cleveland Institute of Art
11141 East Boulevard
Cleveland Ohio 44106-1710

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, education, grief, journey, Love, men of substance, Mothers. Tags: , , , , , .

Because THEY CAN!!! The Manipulators – Lorain What Day Would You Choose ?

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930