The dangers of being a non entity- Checking facts and who is who

October 7, 2011 at 4:01 pm 21 comments

Source
Back in the days of Wom I got caught out in my own guessing game – a comment came on WoM with regard to me. I had been accused by the “debby -webby”, on Lorain County dot-com of being a Democrat and writing for a blog that was made up of Democrats.

How she got that idea I will never know, although I was taking a series of pops at Mayor Foltin, the Republican. There was a really diverse cross-section of political beliefs on that blog and I was the resident INDEPENDENT. I will sign anyone’s petition who wants to run for office though and that has set the cat among the pigeons on more than one occasion including recently.It is amazing how threatened people are by something called the “tea party” – gosh you would think they were the Brits πŸ˜‰

However, I really got up this ” debby webby” woman’s nose and I was subject to all sorts of comments under various “nom de plumes”. Yes, unfortunately the “no names” tend to have more than one and have been known to post under all and sundry.

So when I put up some documentation on WoM with regard to a candidate’s claim( funnily enough a Democrat), an ensuing insulting comment came across the comments section directed at me and stating I had felony convictions etc. I made the mistake of connecting it to the Debby Webby personna from Lorain County dot-com. I was wrong and had to eat crow and apologize to the non entity and it soon turned out it was the “candidates girlfriend” who then publicly apologized, although I doubt that would have happened if she hadn’t been totally caught in the act πŸ™‚

I made a promise to myself never to play that game again. Yes, I am aware of who some of the nom de plumes are on various sites and I understand their reasoning. You will find a few writing under a pen name here on this blog BUT! I know why they have to do so and I know who they are and they provide me with documentation to support their opinions.

I have been brought into various conversations on the Morning Journal site in recent days, even insulted by a couple.

Just a note here if you haven’t the guts to insult me under your own name “why the hell do you think I would be bothered with your opinion as nutty nutso or ticked off tarantula or whatever monika fits you at the moment-.

However, my lesson learned:

it is dangerous to play the guessing game BUT it is also irresponsible for the crazy daisy contingent to be involved in the “gotcha commenting” on these blogs.

For instance there are one or two regular comment makers on various sites including the Morning journal and Lorain County dot-com who are consistent in their platform – Fact Checker ( Lorain City Schools and the BOE) and Zebulon- ( Lorain City Schools, Lorain and politics) .

Of course they have their right to defend their platform and tell their side of the argument BUT as they know their on-screen persona is being attributed to others in real life, is it fair to those being “named” to have to bear the brunt of their writings?

Fact Checker is being outed frequently on boards as the new “media ” person at Lorain City Schools and also sharing the screen name with another administrator – so the cutesy little quote

” I am not XX – I am much better looking

could be seen as telling the truth if that is the case. Problem is the “we are so clever” wink, wink, nod, nod in our little game showing through. SIGH especially since the subject matter merits a seriousnessnot found in the touche retorts.

Zebulon , of course has been attributed to a local attorney who is “involved” in most things Lorain. The attorney stirs up his own “confluence of air and waters to beat against the bastions”( Mary Queen of Scots) under his own name πŸ™‚ doesn’t need anymore from a Zebby Webby .

Now I ask you Fact Checker or “checker(s) is that fair to the media person at Lorain City Schools? After all this young man is earning $65,720.00 for the 2011-2012 school year from Educational Service Center from the Title 1 21st Century – Gear Up and Carl D Perkins Grant.

I am sure that a “professional media person”would know from Marketing 101 the aim is to take a negative and an unknown and turn it into a positive and known. NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND! I am sure Title 1 monies aren’t meant to promote a negative. Lorain City Schools needs to put paid to the rumour mill of who is who checking the facts- “credibility” is being lost ????? If indeed Lorain City Schools are aware of an employee or in-house supporter writing as Fact Checker – I would suggest they rethink their strategy this situation is not worthy of an educational system striving for transparency and excellence.
http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/10/07/opinion/mj5100012.txt?viewmode=comments
When you write under your own name, people who read your writings “KNOW FROM WHENCE YOU CAME” – IF YOU INDEED HAVE AN AGENDA OR A PERSONAL REASON OR ARE PAID SO TO DO – in putting forth your opinions.

However, FACT CHECKER AND ZEBULON ( whomever they maybe ) and no matter how much you are trying to give a positive position with Lorain City Schools you are doing them a disservice– Why hide behind such names? if you are proud of your opinion and LCS then speak out .

Unfortunately, what you are managing to do is to take the away the focus on what you are saying as to who is saying it and I am sure that is not a good marketing technique. Yesterday as part of the ongoing “conversation of the covert” FC said :

I suspect you want to put down this Superintendent because the current Board picked him, and you are pushing the Tea Party challengers to this Board.

Perhaps you should go tell the Board where you live what they should bee doing.


ED note – pot calling the kettle black and speaking of kettles -there is that “tea party” again I am going to have to explore the tea party- they must be dreadful bunch to be cast as an insult time and time again.

I would think that would make the new “media person” for Lorain City Schools very concerned – his paid position for promoting a positive image being negated by a nom de plume.

So Fact Checker when the facts are in –you are losing credibility for the very system you so admire – no longer the focus of what you say but who is saying it. This community has had enough of game playing – they are distrustful- they are tired of word games and the name game you are playing is costing votes and credibility at a time when Lorain City Schools needs both .

It is very simple really when people disagree with a real person they focus their disagreement, or in some cases anger on THAT person , what is happening here, in my opinion, is the Lorain City Schools is now becoming the target of the frustration and angst , as LCS is the focus of writing – I am sure that is not your intent BUT that is what is happening .

As for Zebulon – sorry same goes and another maybe taking the blame as well and the target is becoming once again Lorain and her schools.
http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/10/04/opinion/doc4e8a8bf113442888576992.txt?viewmode=comments

The name game is one fraught with pitfalls but I stand behind my thoughts on this under my own name . Oh and as an aside to the Lorain Board of Education I DO NOT WRITE FOR loraindirt dot-com – if I have something to say – I say it and stand behind it or apologize for it- it is much easier that way!

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain, education, notorious opponents of exactitude, Open for Discussion, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Scotland- Airth Games- A Champion- An open culture Black River Historical Society – Ghost Watch

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  October 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Brava!! I’ve seen those clowns taking potshots at critics on the mj site, and wondering if the school system was aware of exactly what was going on. Definitely not doing the system any favors that way.

  • 2. denise aka mozart  |  October 7, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    A COWARD IS SIMPLY A COWARD. NO BALLS…NO GAME…JUST HIDING BEHIND WHITE KABOOKI PAINT…FRAUDS….ugh…

    Chief giving his depo today at Terry Gilberts office…hope he can keep his stories straight…bet he is wearing his kabooki paint today.

  • 3. Hester  |  October 7, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Now that it appears Fact Checker is back to being one person, his new semantics song is “Fact Checker still is not employed by the Board of Education.” That’s right – but he does have a contract with the Board thru the ESC. If he spent as much time doing what he was contracted to do – and under his own name – as he does playing word games with the commenters, he might have actually been able to make a difference. But the damage has been done and Dr. Ed needs to terminate FCs contract and speak for himself & the district like he was brought in to do. Dr. Ed is who the people want to hear from, not irrelevant anonymous combative condescending MJ & LC.com commenters or Paul Biber.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 7, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I agree LCS needs to be transparent in all things if they wish to gain the confidence of the voting public, even those “tea baggers ” vote don’t you know πŸ˜‰ . I remember when Dr. Atkinson came into town and said she had no need of of PR person , she would do her own talking but when I met with her last December that was being changed as she “needed someone to do the face book thing and answer the critics on line” —— hmmmmmmmmm coinkydinky as Fact Checker certainly does that or tries at least…. but the way this is being done is more of a negative than a positive for the system . By all means have a spokesperson for Lorain City schools go on line etc. but as a real person …. also unfortunately stats are boring and most don’t read past the first few lines…….. I know readers “scan” :)( isn’t that right Mike??? there will be questions on this one πŸ™‚

  • 5. muley  |  October 8, 2011 at 10:33 am

    I’ve seen those clowns taking potshots at critics on the mj site…..oh my.

  • 6. Dennis Lamont  |  October 8, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I find it totally impossible to believe that “those” folk represent a cross section of the community ! Am I an optimist ?????

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 8, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Well Dennis I think that some of those personna are the same people … three for the price of one in some instances. πŸ™‚ It is hard to take on board their opinions or their points because they aren’t real .

    I honestly do understand the case for anonymity in some cases, but then keep to the point …the accusations and tit for tat have no accountability … As I said everyone who comments or posts on this blog .. I know from whence they come ……The danger I see for LCS is the fact they will take the fall out from the “dislike” of a Fact checker or a Zebulon, no matter how their writings reflect positively on LCS. The content of the message is lost in the tit for tat and aggresive stance and really do I want my source of “positive information for LCS to be a non entity????? No how can I trust that source……. where is their accountability???……

    It amazes me for instance one “punter” told me he had contributed monetarily and helped physically with the to the AK site – I did have to laugh because I know everyone who did and maybe he donated money but they he /she were not among those that helped physically with that site πŸ™‚ so if they lied about that involvement should I take their opinion on board NO…….

  • 8. Mark  |  October 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Still pathetic, muley. You really should try to grow up and get over it. I know it’s asking a lot, but if you reach deep down, you might be able to do it.

  • 9. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  October 9, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Here is how I see it. The Internet is a powerful medium for sharing a message — which means that it can be a huge opportunity if the message is communicated well and a double-edged sword when not done well.

    To pass a levy, information must be shared accurately and completely in a way that makes the readers feel as if he/she wants to be part of the solution. Voting “yes” would make them part of the solution.

    Because of the argumentive ways in which the information about the school system is being shared online, it doesn’t really matter whether the screen names in question are officially part of the school system or whether they are community advocates for the school; and whether the facts being shared are complete and accurate or not; because the crucial third ingredient — that of sharing the information in a way that makes readers want to vote yes so that they can be part of the solution — isn’t there.

    So, I agree 100% — that the method of sharing info must change, ASAP to for the levy to have a chance this November.

    My two cents . . .

  • 10. kendra  |  October 10, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Bravo, Loraine!

  • 11. Lisa  |  October 10, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Funny how ol’ Fact Checker and zebulon won’t come over here to defend themselves…

  • 12. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 10, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    They won’t do that as they would have to “out” themselves with a real name and email…….. and that would be too transparent πŸ˜‰

  • 13. denise aka mozart  |  October 11, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    i thiought pj carter already did that here…mr factchecker!

  • 14. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    No, not to my knowledge I haven’t had a pj post apart from my Hugh Hefner and Me post and those were totally different PJ’s πŸ˜‰ although they aren’t transarent either πŸ™‚ which can be a good thing when it comes to MY pj’s πŸ™‚

  • […] between politicians/government and “real people”. Like it or not from what I am seeing the”credibility” gap is darker and wider and a warning to those on the voter train and the political platforms beckoning the voter to alight […]

  • 16. Bill Sturgill  |  October 12, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I have to confess that I thought I knew who these people were. I even shared with Loraine. My thought is when a person seemingly writes for a district and has to constantly defend an almost indefensible position sooner or later its going to become confrontational. I agree with most. I will ask that we , if it is a we cut the crap and let Dr. Ed Branham speak for himself and the district and we will be a lot better off.
    I myself believe what you are seeing is a district getting desparate. A lot of what factchecker is saying is true. I personaly don’t believe the 1.5% tax was a good idea. But on the same hand a 1% didn’t generate enough money so that we could get to where it would be manageable. 1% generates about 5 million.
    None of this sets well with me when you know for a fact that it became unconstitutional in 1994 and still to this day nothing is done in our legislature in Ohio to fix it.
    I wanted to give people some things to sink their teeth in. We are 11.4 million in debt at the end of 2112-2113 school year. The district has no choice but to balance the budget. The board ran this Earned income tax to spread the cost around to everyone that works in Lorain and not to put it on the backs of the homeowners in particular 57.8%, or those senior citizens that are on fixed incomes. Very simply put if you live in Lorain you would help pay for education.
    I would go on record as saying that I will support Dr. Branham. In the first few weeks he has been in the process of finding out just what was done before him. I would like to say this, the three Directors that were hired right before Dr. Atkinson left was told to me that they were paid thru grant monies. I have a problem with salaries of $100,000 and above especially in times like this. I feel this was a mistake, in the board briefs it read no additional monies to the general fund. I am sorry I let it go thru without decent…..
    I will tell you this, I know of 4 admistrators who left and weren’t replaced. They were very good people, but couldn’t work with the then current administration, and thus they did retire or take other jobs.
    Lastly I would just say I do believe things are changing for the better in Lorain. The schools are new and becoming safer all the time. People are busy writing curriculum and aligning it in the district. Right now I know this district could use some support. We will do everything in our power to try and drive cost down, its not like its a choice at this point. Come back to the board meetings and voice your opinions, I know I like to here them.

    Respectfully Bill Sturgill
    My opinion alone

    PS. Please Keep Jim Smith and his family in your prayers, he just lost his son and use all the support we can give him. He’s a good man and a wealth of information to me personaly and to this school district..Thank You again… Bill

  • 17. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Thank you Bill for your thoughts . Our thoughts also go out to Mr. Smith he is I am sure in a world of hurt at the moment. He has always responded quickly and with documentation to any questions I have had on this blog.

    I have a meeting with Dr. Branham on Friday Loraine

  • 18. thatwoman  |  November 2, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    OK the beat goes on – I have been “kind of ” on Lorain County dot com- although I read the posts apart from Charlston Village info I don’t comment as I said I wouldn’t when ZZZZZ and another nom de plume said they were sick of me OK- well thanks to a reader I have spent time today researching some of the Facts that Fact Checker said he / she couldn’t come up with – It wasn’t very hard….Lorain City Schools enrolment 7488 NOT 8200

    What is worrying to me is that the Journal etc rushed to publish
    on September 4th the GOOD NEWS 600 more students
    http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2011/09/04/news/mj4974546.txt

    and Hurricane Cheryl gushing OOOOOOOOOOO looky looky we
    have 600 more students I am doing such a good job ( Georgia buy me buy me)
    Also her main man who gave out the information Gary Brantley is down in Geogia by her side now with a lovely salary to boot

    “That is an increase from around 7,600 students this time last year, according to Gary Brantley, the district’s chief information officer”

    This could be laughable BUT it is Lorain City Schools that is left with the lack of credibility baggage and that is a shame and I am sorry but Fact Checker is still not doing them any favours -although I must say he/she has toned down the agression in his posts – although his/her reasoning for voting Biber I find really peculiar ….. bottom line is LCS has a problem and part of their problem is left over baggage and decisions made by people who are no longer held accountable for them and that is a real shame

  • 19. Kelly Boyer Sagert  |  November 3, 2011 at 12:12 am

    So, fewer students — not more?

  • 20. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 3, 2011 at 9:51 am

    Looks that way -Oh what a tangled web they wove……….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31