ZONED OUT from ADVERTISEMENTS -Are “WE” not Worthy- Guest Blogger- Renee Dore

October 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm 19 comments

ED Note : Renee Dore wants to know why it seems Lorain is zoned out? Is old Lorain (44052 etc) being “outed” as not worth the corporate “out lay”? ERRR “ad men” we are noticing in case you haven’t noticed – some of us still READ!!! πŸ˜‰

It’s a typical Sunday morning and part of the usual Sunday morning habits is to look at the Sunday newspaper while taking a few moments to relax and think about the happenings of the week in front of us. Part of our plans include shopping, and many of us use the advertisement inserts that we look forward to which only come in the Sunday newspaper. I had been noticing that many of the usual ads were not showing up on Sunday morning. I drove to the nearest gas station and purchased another Sunday paper.

The inserts MISSING in “our “ papers were IN the paper sold at the gas station. So I thought it was the fault of our local paper the “Morning Journal” . I called their advertising department the next day and with their help , they told us of the advertisements that were designated for my zip code or zone as they described it.

After learning that it was not the lack of assembly of the newspaper, we found out that the “ corporations” had made the decision to ZONE OUT or exclude their inserts in certain regions of the newspaper delivery areas. Our area was one to be excluded which includes some of the 44052 zip code!

The stores doing this were Sears, Lowes, Kmart, Walgreens and Rite Aid. This has bothered me for several reasons:

These stores are in Lorain and the count on local customers for their business
We are part of the shopping base for their stores to remain open and for local citizens to retain jobs here. Given the economic times we are in, not reaching out to the customer base in certain regions of the city where stores are located doesn’t seem like a smart move.

I contacted the local stores listed above and spoke to their store managers, some were aware of the corporate decisions and some were not. The gave me addresses and numbers to call. The answer I got was that

“we could use the computer to look at their ads or drive to the stores and pick up a flyer for their sales”

I, for one, have not become part of the digital age entirely and there are still people who don’t have computers.

I think this might not have bothered me as much if the store simply discontinued this style of advertising altogether ( which is probably going to happen sometime in the distant future). I just don’t appreciate being excluded because of where I live . So I told their corporate representatives that

if they choose to exclude me, perhaps I may choose to exclude them.

I will shop at stores who are still reaching out for my business.

The holidays are just around the corner but in order for me, in this part of Lorain to be in the know for the latest sales I will have to do my own searching- the information will not be sent to my door as it is in other parts of Lorain .

If this bothers any of the other readers, you can call and let the stores you too are not happy with this change. According to some of the store managers, they have gotten many complaints in the past month!

If anyone would like to make some calls to here are some numbers:

Sears – 1-800-549-4505 (ED note ) K-Mart is part of Sears Corporation
Walgreens– 1-800-289-2272
Rite Aid-1-800-748-3243
Lowes 1-800-445-6937

Source

Ed Note : Or you can download and drop off this blog at your local store or just send them the link- we aren’t all “zoned out” in the 44052 πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: city of lorain, Corporate responsibility, media, personal opinion, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Lorain Dude – Checks out “Little Lighthouse Learning Center” Veteran’s Park- a THANK YOU !!!to the Girls Scouts!!! Troop 145

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy Whitmore  |  October 24, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Rene, just as a point of order, it’s been over 10 years since I last worked at a newspaper and advertisers have always been able to zone their inserts if they chose to do so. Yeah, It IS annoying, but it’s a bottom line thing.

  • 2. thatwoman  |  October 24, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Yes you are quite right Kathy – I know that if I go to Amherst or Avon ( the richer community πŸ™‚ and buy haircolour it is more expensive than in the “hood” also the choices are restricted and I have to go to the upmarket Heinans or sometimes Giant Eagle to get my to get my British Blend Tea bags …. .everything is geared to the quality and expendable income of the consumer and the “bottom line”

    However it seems that corporate has now made a decision that advertising in these areas is not worth their while based upon what the “poverty level” in our community so just another sign that this community is considered ” not to be considered” . However this area is also one of the areas where there can be the most growth and potential… but corporate too is not seeing that it is just indicative of the “perception that is Lorain” validated by the ad men πŸ™‚

  • 3. The Captain  |  October 24, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    You can thank the direction taken by more than one administration and communty development for depending upon the social service agencies to fill the downtown buildings and their clients making Lorain their home in the 44052. You can thank the lack of building code enforcement contributing to the glut of of substandard homes and abandoned homes. The incoming populations with criminal records due to the above pushing out the middle class to the edges.

    The advertising demographics are only validating the true picture of the 44052 and yet they want more taxes from us. You want to know if your neighborhood is healthy look at the ad inserts!

  • 4. Dennis Lamont  |  October 24, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    There, the captain went and said it! A brief description of “what it is” and “why it is”. Extend the advertising boycott to the developers boycott to the family boycott and what do you have, a no growth, no change zone, totally dependent on government handouts unable to support local businesses, or have a noticeable impact on the tax base of the city. Is there any interest or incentive to change any of this in the near future ?????

    Loraine and Renee I sincerely wish there were enough folks in the area to make some sort of boycott effective otherwise it is just a drop in the bucket.

  • 5. thatwoman  |  October 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Well I have to agree with the Captain and the amount of money earned by the business of social service agencies and their Directors is bordering on the obscene … the money being thrown at these programs.

    The grants that keep our city and school system alive are killing rather than helping because this community is dependent upon grants to survive….. and when the grant money runs out then the service or program that provided has to be picked up by the general fund ( and those high salaries welllllllllll)
    grants should be the gravy not our meat and potatoes somewhere we have become the handout community and it shows …..44052 is obviously not considered to be a consumer based zip code anymore and the ads show it. as Corporate targets their audience………

  • 6. Renee Dore  |  October 24, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    44052 is NOT the only region in the city or county that has been eliminated. It also has a domino effect-my coworker got the Sunday Morning Journal mostly for the adds-when her area was one who was chosen to discontinue the adds in-she dropped her subscription to the paper. I think having a home delivery subscription to a newspaper no matter where they live-may indicate to the stores that the consumers are interested in shopping and may have a means for being able to purchase goods. That might not always be the case but it might be a good point.

  • 7. Renee Dore  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I forgot to mention that my coworker who I just mentioned lives on the west side of Vermilion.

  • 8. Dennis Lamont  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Out here in the sticks the journal has very few advertising inserts while the “elyria paper” is loaded. Wonder it the folks out at Oak Point get anything different????

  • 9. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 24, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Dennis I bet they read the PD πŸ˜‰

  • 10. Renee Dore  |  October 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I heard that there are some people near Lowes who don’t get some of the flyers -I think that is Elyria Township. I just think it stinks-they want our business, they give us ” shop your way rewards”, blah blah blah-some reward!!! NOT!

  • 11. kathy whitmore  |  October 25, 2011 at 2:55 am

    as I said, zoning is a newspaper practice that has gone on for years. when I got the PD home delivered, because my paper was delivered out of Vermilion, I was considered 2 counties removed from Cleveland and didn’t get many of the inserts. I agree that we all shop at those stores, but that doesn’t appear to make a difference to them. the advertising cost, to them, is not justified. and how exactly do they KNOW this???

  • 12. Renee Dore  |  October 25, 2011 at 3:28 am

    I am not sure about how they decide this but I one thing is for sure-when I have a purchase to make at any of the storeslisted above that might be located in 2 different cities ( say Lorain & Elyria) I always try to make them at the Lorain stores-I sometimes go out of my way to do this because I know it adds to the business and customer base for this city. But you know what- it meant nothing. So from now on-I’ll shop where it’s convenient for me.

  • 13. Renee Dore  |  October 25, 2011 at 3:34 am

    or avoid them altogether and continue to shop at places who still act as though they’d like my business.

  • 14. Dennis Lamont  |  October 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Its still amazing with the new stores in Lighthouse village and out at Oak Point are “they” that backward. Maybe thats why the parking lots don’t seem that full ????? You don’t have to boycott them, they are doing it to themselves.

  • 15. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 25, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    They know this in a couple of different ways how many times have you checked out and they ask you for your zip code hmmmmmmmmmm and also the census and the demogrpahics supplied .coincidence that we got zoned out after the census report showing how “poor” we are……..but there are any number of stats available to those that market as to their target audience………. and yes Kathy you are so right it is the bottom line of course and you can’t balme them BUT I wonder if they counted the 7 times my husband went to Lowes Sunday for the one project…….

  • 16. Dennis Lamont  |  October 25, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Oak Point and Lighthouse are a heck of a lot closer to me then Elyria and/or Sandusky.and they are right on our way to the other places we shop or library or visit.

  • 17. Loraine Ritchey  |  October 25, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    There you go I think they need to be told don’t you – at least we can show them be shouldn’t be dismissed too lightly πŸ™‚

  • 18. Renee Dore  |  October 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Call the 800 numbers listed and let them know-I sent letters to their corporate offices and told the local magaers what I thought about it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31