Lorain Dude- Lorain Fire Dept.- WOW!-PULEEEZE

November 1, 2011 at 1:43 am 5 comments

UPDATE: Chief Brown from the Morning Journal Letters to the Editor

To the Editor: I would like to take this opportunity to ask the citizens of Lorain for your consideration of Issue 37, the Lorain Fire Levy. This 1-mill four-year levy will cost the owner of a home valued at $100,000 less than $32 per year for four years, then expire. This investment in the Lorain Fire Department will only go toward improvements in the infrastructure of your fire department, including fire engine replacement, station replacement and repairs and firefighting equipment purchases.

This levy will not fund salaries, overtime, or benefits. Annual reports of all monies raised and spent will be presented as well.
Rather than hold fundraisers to fill your mailboxes with fliers and your yards with signs, we decided that it would be far more productive to meet with our citizens and explain our services and needs. Please join us for open houses at each of our four stations on Saturday, Nov. 5, and allow us to show you our operations and explain our needs first hand.
The open houses will be from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at Central Fire Station (1350 Broadway), 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at Station 3 (3042 Grove Ave.), 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. at Station 7 (2111 West Park Dr.), and 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. at Station 4 (401 Idaho Ave.).

If you are unable to tour our stations and have any questions concerning our operations or the levy please contact my office at 440-204-2220.

I look forward to answering your questions and hope for your support of Issue 37, the Lorain Fire Levy.

A YES vote on Issue 37 will truly be an investment in safety.

Thank you for your consideration,

Thomas Brown, Chief Lorain Fire Department


After Saturday and the “elephant caper” I was a little worried when Nag Nog said we would see fire trucks today— hmm I also heard them talking about a haircut!
But WOW!! we did see some big fire trucks -I loved them

they were very big and shiny BUT even I could tell there are problems

the back doors of the truck were all eaten away with rust
and
the fireman had to duct tape along the side of one truck. ” wonder what would happen if the tape came off?

I couldn’t reach the pedals so I sat on mummy’s lap to drive.

just as well as the seats weren’t very nice

Nag Nog found some other stuff YUKKKKKKKK!!!

The ceiling leaks

Not exactly what I think of as “fire buckets”

No that isn’t oil in that bucket it is the colour of the water coming from yet another leak! The parking lot at Fire Station 1 is sinking“what lies beneath???” We can fix these things and more but don’t take the Lorain Dude’s and my word for it

You can see for yourself on Saturday November 5th – the fireman are inviting you all to come to their houses and see:


Saturday November 5 2011

9:00-11:00 at Central (1350 Broadway) .

11-12:30 Station 3 (3042 Grove ave.),

12:30-2:00 at Station 7 (2111 West Park dr.),

2:00-3:30 at Station 4 (401 Idaho ave.)


ED Note- I admit it I am biased when it comes to the Lorain Fire Dept. They saved my home when my children were small. They came quickly and professionally and I have always had a soft spot in my heart for the Lorain Fire Dept. I want them to have roofs that don’t leak, windows that actually close , a safe environment without the dangers of black mould and equipment to fight fires– this IS NOT ABOUT WAGES. ISSUE 37 is important to our quality of life but also to the quality of the Lorain Fire Dept. If you say YES the Fire Chief assures me the problems he and his men face can be eliminated within those 4 years.

“This tax is a specific tax for a specific situation”. WE will be able ( for once) to SEE what we get for our money… On a 100,000 dollar property $32.00 per year for 4 years so- $128.00 as the Lorain Dude said:

Please vote YES! on Issue 37

Entry filed under: Brit take, city of lorain, commentary, Lorain Dude, personal opinion, Safety, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Guest Blogger Renee- It just doesn’t “AD” up- Lorain The journey continues – I long for laughter- Chris Ritchey

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  November 1, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Works for me.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 1, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    I know how jaded we, as tax payers, have become in Lorain- ME TOO!!!!I know even with the schools issue running an income tax up to 3 1/2 percent is a really bitter taste. To be honest I have decided not to endorse or come out against that issue publically and I know there is very little money to around – believe me I know…….

    all I am asking is people who are against this temporary tax amounting to about 32 dollars a year less than a penny a day….. I am told… take up the Fire Departments offer to tour the open houses on Saturday – see what I saw – and make up your minds .talk to your firefighters.. that is all I ask on this one

  • 3. Grammy  |  November 2, 2011 at 11:54 am

    It is a much better deal than the forever tax monies that the police get. Even when their numbers fell, they still received monies from the tax and the saddest thing when asked to share with fire, they said NO!, sorry can’t, it’s ours. (Yes, that has me jaded too!) Bottom line, we need to support OUR services so that if we should need them, they can do what they need to do with the best working equipment possible.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  November 2, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I believe the LFD is being transparent in their needs and are asking as per the letter from Chief Brown come and take a look , see for ourselves and then decide……can’t be fairer than that. And thank goodness not another yard sign or political flyer Oh heavens I hate those things…..

  • 5. Grammy  |  November 2, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I agree 100%. The fire department has been more than open and deserves whatever we can give them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930