Martin Hines- King of Karts- A Tribute – Part 2

November 8, 2011 at 12:24 pm Leave a comment

PART ONE : https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/martin-hines-king-of-karts-the-tribute/
Waltham Abbey was filled to capacity and more , friends , family names familiar to those in and out of the world of motor sport gathered to say goodbye.


Lewis Hamilton and Carolyn Hoy Source: Karting1.co.uk

Carolyn Hoy, along with Geoff Barker gave the eulogies. Carolyn had known Martin throughout his rise in the world of Motor Sport. Her words can be found in the following jpgs. Please click on the following jpgs. to enlarge:
Page One

Page Two

Page Three

Page Four

Page Five

As I read the eulogies and went on my own journey down memory lane with my cousin Martin, I realized humour, along with always being somewhat opinionated coupled with you either like us or not , has always been a family trait. Sometimes we are irreverent, sometimes we shock,our humour can be cutting, sometimes annoying but there is always a twinkle in the eye.

My Uncle Mark, Martin’s Dad, had that twinkle more often than not and so I am sure he would have appreciated the fellowship as on the 13th October ( The anniversary of Mark’s death) a tribute was organized for Martin at the BRDC (British Racing Drivers Club) at Silverstone for the 100 or so friends in attendance.

It was an afternoon of stories over a microphone full of smiles and laughs as the anecdotes flowed. How wonderful leave a legacy of laughter and good times as your friends gather, how wonderful to have “lived” life whether people agreed with you or not “he dared”.

And finally from Tuesday – Martin’s daughter:

TO DAD
I never got to say goodbye
I never got to say how much I love you
I never got to have you walk me down the aisle
I never expected you to leave

If only I could see you again
If only I could ask you one more question
If only I could have helped you
If only you didn’t have to leave

I wish I could hold your hand
I wish I could hear your voice
I wish I could go back in time
I wish you never had to leave

I will never forget your passion and determination
I will never forget the strength you showed in your eyes
I will never let you down
I will always be your little girl- LOVE YOU DAD



Those were the days cousin:


May your energy and passion still fill the heavens – Loraine

Entry filed under: grief, Lest we forget, motorsport/racing. Tags: , , , .

Martin Hines- King of Karts- The Tribute Cleveland Institute of Art- Chris Ritchey Scholarship -Year Two

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930