Lorain City Schools- What will it take- The Ugly (My Ugly)

December 5, 2011 at 12:40 pm 22 comments


Part One – The GOODhttps://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/lorain-city-schools-what-will-it-take-lorain-the-good-the-bad-the-ugly/

Part Two – The BADhttps://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/lorain-city-schools-what-will-it-take-lorain-the-bad/

I have said for many years that I am a surface dweller when it came to the “business” of Lorain City Schools. Why?

I live in Lorain- lived across the street from a “neighborhood school”- had two children that needed to be educated- I was and am still an “involved” parent – and yet I know very little about Lorain City Schools. So what happened that someone with that curriculum vitæ becomes a surface dweller?

Lorain City Schools happened! I won’t go in-depth as to situations but a short history. AND as usual there are names, witnesses to all events mentioned.


1. IGNORED and BURIED:

My daughter and her little friends crossed the street every morning to go to “their school”, Irving – all was well – through kindergarten until 2nd grade. The little “girls” who lived on this street and played Barbie’s and Strawberry Shortcake started not wanting to go to school- two even developed stomach issues and would stand crying by the fire hydrant every morning as they lined up to go. They went to Dr.s and finally it was determined they were just plain scared to go to school.

It was a long detective story, finding mothers standing outside and under the open window of the classroom to eventually find the problem. The “teaching style” of their 2nd grade teacher including accidental hairpulling when “her ” bracelets kept getting entangled with the children’s hair. The three little girls were scared they too would become the victim of the bracelet and her wrath.

The mothers met with the principal – the issue was not addressed the “swept under the carpet” and the “blathering”
“children misunderstand – great teacher yada- yada- yada”.

We, the mothers, handled our children’s fear in alternative ways but the damage was done. I used wonder what happened to those children who didn’t have mothers who stood guard. Eventually two of the little girls left the LCS system.


2. My son also crossed the street and went to Irving- 2nd grade he was found to have a reading problem but there was a solution- they had a lovely grant for a special “reading” program. I watched, attended conferences and his reports were showing improvement by being in the program- leaps and bounds.

This program continued when LCS moved the neighborhood kids to other schools. My son went to Lakeview – where the infamous 2nd grade teacher had transferred- to the 3rd grade ( of course even though I met with the principal and said – I don’t wish the teacher to be involved with my son– well you guessed it he came home and I said who is your teacher???????- ignored again and more meetings with the school!

3. HYPE The dismantling of the neighborhood school for magnet programs – In my other life I was extremely involved with theatre and dance – I went to the open house for the “arts program”. I was dismayed at what was being “touted” – I knew too much

One person recently, whose children had gone through that program, said to me _ Oh it was wonderful my child gained so much– but as I said :

“And just what did you or they have to compare it with?

“Bubble Gum ballet” and “community theatre” hardly equate to “training in the arts”.

I am not being an art’s snob here -just stating a fact – there is and was a difference- the arts program that I saw that first couple of years before I “left” Lorain City Schools was amateurish at best.So I decided NOT to camp out in a parking lot and leave my daughter where she was across the street.

ED NOTE: Things may have changed later on in the program – I know one or two people who went on having discovered the love of theatre in those “pods” but what happened eventually to the programs???


4. SAFETY CONCERNS 3rd Grade Lakeview- the fact for a week the Lorain City Schools system bussed the children of this street and lost them, didn’t pick them up at the corner they stated they should be or the time – it was a mess- put them on wrong busses drove them all over town. Mothers were frantically calling for that one week trying to sort things out and the buck kept getting passed- kids were blamed – parents blamed – the problem was not addressed. The children suffered that week, nothing was done to alleviate their fears. It was once again the child that paid the price whilst the “professionals tried to get it right”

In fact, after trying to drop my son off by Lorain Community Hospital a small riot broke out on the bus- my 3rd grader Chris – refused to get off the bus until they took him and his friend Michael to his house . As I was on the phone to the Superintendent at nearly 5 o’clock demanding to know where my child was, when a bus load of screaming, crying neighborhood children drew up outside my house- I held the phone out the window so they could “listen” to those children and what they had done- finally something was done but . Michael never rode a bus again, transferred out to a system where his daddy worked – and I drove my son to Lakeview.
The case of the live ammunition 3rd grade Lakeview once again – a husband banging the hell out of the washing machine which was “stuck” because of something that was caught- it was a bullet in fact more than one that had fallen out of my son’s pockets apparently -( who thinks to check for live ammunition in the pockets of a third grader?)

” my friend gave it to me at recess “

Obviously we went to the school,because the concern was – if a 3rd grader had access to live ammunition what about the gun that went with it.
I was fobbed off with a speech about

home conditions etc etc. parents not there, complaint could be seen as discriminatory due ethnic background, we are at the beginning of court ordered desegregation, this could be seen as detrimental to the process-yada yada yada….


Actually looking back I don’t know WHY I didn’t make more of an issue but my husband was all for letting the school handle it.

Of course this was also the time that “gangs” were coming into the schools in a big way and that too was being ignored. Living in this neighborhood you tend to know what is happening. The community was placated with

“oh! just harmless wanna be’s”

…we knew better we watched the “after school fights” on 6th 5th and 7th! Painted over the gang graffiti – I actually spent one afterschool protecting some kids in the middle of 4th street whilst waiting for the police – standing up to these “wanna be’s”

REPERCUSSIONS:
We jump ahead -LCS moved the kids back again from Lakeview to Irving. My daughter had by this time left Lorain City Schools- the children of her neighborhood went to other schools, some within the system and others outside the system.

Unfortunately, the children she had been left to attend class with were unruly, disruptive and many had problems. It took a lot to get my husband to agree to send her to the new junior high class opening up at Lorain Catholic High School. We weren’t Catholic- we weren’t wealthy but after a few disturbing incidents he agreed.
My daughter had been an A student but tested in and was C at LCHS and had to do extra work to “catch up”.

In the meantime Chris ( now in 5th grade at Irving) was being “attacked” at school – Chris had a temper and a strength belied by his appearance at the time . I was frightened HE would be the one doing the damage. But after I literally stood and watched two eighth grade “yobos” attack my son in front of me . I told him do what you have to do- he did and HE got detention but they didn’t touch him again.

Ignoring the situation until it escalated to a point where a child paid the price again

GRANTS AND THE STATS :
In the 5th grade, 5.5 to be exact, I was very concerned about Chris’ reading ( knowing he too would be going to LCHS) although his reports gave him solid C’s and B’s I was worried- Nikki an A student going to a C at LCHS -what would happen to my C student? I didn’t realize that grant driven programs had to show positive results to receive further funding – my son was being passed through– I took Chris to be tested privately :

In Grade 5.5 Chris tested as having a reading level he was reading at a grade 1.2 level… comprehension 2.5. vocabulary 4.9

We also found out that his temper was also part of the problem he felt “stupid”- why? because a grant driven program had to “show results” (that is my opinion anyway) and a child was the price- For three years Chris went to a tutor to “catch up” at our expense .

Now you know why I am a surface dwellerI left Lorain City Schools- You could say this is ancient history of past administrations etc. etc. BUT as I see it – we are still dealing with the same problems I dealt with when I was “involved”

“hype – disconnect- ignoring problems – dependent on grants – lack of thinking out the repercussions of one’s actions , and parents who care leaving the system “

PARENTS WHO CAN AND CARE WILL PUT THEIR CHILD FIRST AND WILL MOVE ON IF THEY CAN. PARENTS WANT SAFETY, ACCOUNTABILITY, A HIGH STANDARD OF EDUCATION- EQUAL ACROSS THE BOARD, A LEARNING ATMOSPHERE AND THE ABILITY TO FINISH WHAT IS STARTED- NOT THE PROGRAM OR GRANT DRIVEN ‘PROGRAM OF THE MOMENT’ HONEST COMMUNICATION AND TRANSPARENCY.

Worrying to me is how many children slipped through the cracks in the years of “low scores”. How many children were the victim of stats ………..and those stats work both ways – because the mothers that “walked ” took with them not only their children but LCS has also lost the grandchildren.

Well that is MY UGLY What is YOURS? How can we fix this ?
TO BE CONTINUED…………

.

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, Brit take, education, personal opinion. Tags: , , .

December 3rd- Chris Ritchey- “yesterday” Lorain City Schools- what will it take Lorain?- the emails

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. becky smith  |  December 5, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Dear Loraine,
    My ugly deals with my children as a parent and as a teacher. I am since retired from a long dedicated run with Lorain City Schools. I was a very diligent hard working educator and one who spoke her mind when felt necessary, and when others were afraid. My ugly dates back to the early 2000 years,. My husband and I made the decision for build a home on the far west side of Lorain.In making that choice we also had the option to place our children in Amherst Schools. My husband and myself are graduates of Lorain City Schools and loved our district. Our children were thriving in their classes and had amazing teachers at the time. All was wonderful so we decided to open enroll our children back into the system that I worked in and back to where they were comfortable. We believed in Lorain City Schools and the power they had to produce a well educated students. At this time, there were many who teachers had their children in Lorain Schools. The teachers were given permission by their principals to take their break time to transport their children to late schools or pick up from early schools. Those teachers were respectful of their jobs and shared responsibility in transporting children back and forth. The teachers flexed their time and did not abuse the situation. I personally took my daughter to my school which was Homewood at the time. She went as early as 6:30 in the morning so I could make sure that I was on top of my job. She would sit in my classroom until school started and play, read, and keep herself occupied until it was time for class. She was never a bother to anyone in the building and she was an asset to Lorain City Schools as we brought back the money for the district from Amherst.
    Meanwhile, across town, there was a certain principal that decided the teachers should not be having their children in her building and the teachers sharing coverage to take their children to the late building, so she deemed it not a workable situation. It became a district policy that a teacher could not have their children on school property while they were at work. I had to find morning care and after school care for my daughter. I actually paid a mother to drive my child around for 20 minutes til I was off the clock. Now, that was not all that was going on. In the same school that the principal decided to change the rules, she also changed the wonderful program that my son was in. They decided to split up the advanced classrooms and place non-advanced students in the classrooms. My son went from working hard for his A’s to tutoring others and playing video games the rest of that year and received all A’s and never brought home one book or one challenging assignment. The team of teachers were split up with the main goal of breaking up a team because they had the best students. The principal made those decisions and destroyed a wonderful program and a wonderful situation for students and parents / teachers of Lorain City Schools. My husband and I went to meetings and fought with administration and the results remained not in our favor. With the circumstances as they were and our children’s education and welfare at stake we had no recourse but to pull them from Lorain City Schools and move them into Amherst. To this day, I think to myself, they lost two of the best students ever and supportive parents. All due to the principal and her power struggle. This district needs to support the teachers who are the bread and butter of their district and support their children.
    I continued my tenure with Lorain city Schools ,still dedicated to my students and my district, but my heart was heavy with the feeling that I was forced to move my children. The district needs to respect all children and all parents and support their own teachers. Perhaps the big flight of students would not have been so bad if things were handled differently.
    I think it has been a long time since this district really listened to what teachers had to say and where they are coming from. The teachers are in the trenches and first hand know the needs and academics of the children of Lorain. They have been placed on the bottom of the opinion poll for a very long time. Especially, that past four years. It was them against us mentality. I feel it is vital that the board and the administration have open discussions with the teachers, Find out what is working and what is not. Find out what the needs are and listen and learn from the teachers. Do not make it an “Us vs. them situation.
    If they had listened to the teachers back when, my children would have graduated from Lorain High School and I would have been a proud parent and teacher.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 5, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing Becky and from a unique perspective as both a teacher and a parent. I am hoping with open and honest dialogue we can show how LCS got to where we are today and make sure we don’t fall into the same behaviours. For every parent that leaves the system “quietly” there is a very loud “ripple effect” and we are seeing the results.

  • 3. becky smith  |  December 5, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Loraine, I have followed your blog for a long time. You have brought me to tears and cheers!! I have always been out spoken and to the point and when I read your post it struck a note with me. I sincerely hope with all my heart that LCS opens the door to total communication and honesty. And!!!! opens the communications with the teaching staff. Not just opens the door but allows them in the room with the right to speak, good or bad, NO more lip service but actual attempts to hear and respect them. For the teachers of Lorain to not be able to even speak at a board meeting regarding something great was criminal in its self. I am hopeful that things will change for the better and the Board of Education will see what the past has done and move in a better direction. I worked with extraordinary teachers who have amazing ideas and are dedicated to the children of Lorain City Schools.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 5, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Once again thanks Becky – I hope the powers that be LISTEN and I hope the communication is open and without fear of retribution…… because we NEED a healthy school system to have a healthy community .and the teachers are on the front line………. their input is critical……….

  • 5. aka mozart  |  December 5, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    question..why does the schools attorney sit in, in all the board meetings.? I thinik that leaves folks with a bad taste..I don’t see how that is necessary that he is so visible ALWAYS…esp.when there are those who have such a bad taste about him.. Is this common practice with all the school board meetings in other cities?

  • 6. Grammy  |  December 5, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    The tales are endless on the ugly side. My son had to leave LCS and move to Columbus to finish his education at a private school. The powers that be wanted to “insure” passage of a levy so they (in their not so wise minds) eliminated ALL extra-curriculars (arts, music, student government and clubs, sports, EVERYTHING!) My son who was up for a possible appointment to a service academy was left in a position to NOT have the required “extras” they would be looking for. Friends stepped up and offered to allow him to live at their homes and attend another school in a local city. The Lorain Board of Education and Administration were not going to back down, no students would get athletic waivers in order to complete their high school careers. Left with some odd choices, not limited to writing to the Commandant and saying “Sorry, our schools are eliminating the things you require, but please consider him anyway.” So, did I give up custody of my son or break the honor code before he possibly arrived? I did what was best for my child and while he did not get the appointment, he learned a life lesson.

    Of course, this is the same son whom I was told to “find” him a different school to attend at the elementary level. You see, the desegregation program was changing our neighborhood school’s program and my child did not fit the profile. It became my responsibility to “find” him a home. Of course, I could not take time off work to sit in line over night to get a spot at the Academy he qualified for academically and besides, he didn’t fit the ethnic criteria, so we had to settle for the best other option. Isn’t it sad when you have to “settle”.

    UGLY! Accept grant monies for wonderful new, innovative programs. Start them up, get the students enrolled and excited. OOPS, part way through the funding expires and the program disappears. The grant was supposed to START something and be continued through our budget when seed money expired. Not Lorain. Money comes, great program. Money gone, program gone. This does nothing to complete an educational program track for any student. Reminds me of, Jack of all trades, Master of none. What a dis-service to our children, BUT, big salaries for some.

  • 7. Bill Sturgill  |  December 6, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Its amazing to here the testimonies of how people’s lives are impacted by a principal or a board of education. I wonder what ever happened to the attitude that if you can’t help some one try not to hurt them. A lot of what I’m hearing on this blog just defies common sense and flies in the face of the image that I would hope would be one of being part of a community. Things like the above does not set a friendly tone or set the stage for co-operation or colaboration on anything. We have to remedy that.
    I’ve often wondered if Dee Morgan or Dr. Atkinson ever cared about any of this. The last thing Dr. Atkinson did before she left was bring in a speaker on Customer Service, but she directed it at the teachers. I think it should start at the top…Might be a good question for the next Supt…

  • 8. Bill Sturgill  |  December 6, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I think if Tony Giardini wasn’t as active politicaly as he is no one would actualy care where he sits. Mr. Giardini does not speak at the meetings unless he is asked by the board or the supt. for a legal opinion. I guess I would agree that he would be less visible if he sat in the audience, but not as accessable.

  • 9. Grammy  |  December 6, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    But WHY is Mr. Giardini so present? The LCS has had attorneys on retainer for years and years, yet they NEVER sat in. What exactly were Mr. Giardini’s qualifications regarding SCHOOL LAW when he was brought on “board” by a superintendent who was also renting living space from him? Why him and others when we are in a money crunch and the city’s legal department was available to the LCS?

    These questions have been raised Mr. Sturgill but never answered. Once again adding to the angst people feel.

    Some of the above incidents happened long before Dr. Morgan and Dr. Atkinson. That being said, the problems have been growing rather than being solved.

  • 10. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Bill, I know there are more people who have been impacted by the lack of common sense and very recently and once again LCS lost the good will, and a good student because of the way a situation was handled. I know I witnessed the situation and the impact.

    The thing is most just leave quietly and the problem continues and the cracks in the foundation of trust continue to widen.

    The thing about the last two superintendents and I did have interaction with both was, I felt , and this is a personal opinion- they talked a good game – told us what we wanted to hear – and took care of the business of “self” – that is just how I saw it –

    The checks and balances of a school board etc. who needed to put LCS first became involved with the “personalities” likes etc of a superintendent became clouded and for the most part polarized on their personal likes and dislikes.

    I am sorry but to have a “sitting” school board member, Dimacchia, touting Atkinson’s attributes to a prospective employer and writing references was just plain wrong- even to speaking about her in their local papers – the priorities of which hat was being worn became blurred .As a school board member you have to be an employer representing the people who voted for you – not a “buddy boy”

    I won’t go into the “housing situation etc. that member is gone but credibility suffered and ” once more an example of “game playing and circumventing the intent of the rules..and it seems there has been a lot of that going on – over the years. and it all adds up in the end

  • 11. Bill Sturgill  |  December 7, 2011 at 11:34 am

    The situation with Tony Giardini and the school board started long before I got on the board. Myself and Mr. Williams never had a say in his hiring. I can tell you that the attorney fee’s were cut approximately in half for the district.
    As far as the city law director acting as our official attorney I can only say that in all probability isn’t ever going to happen because of the financial situation of the city. It is true that under ORC the law director can represent us. I can’t say any more on this because the conversation happened in executive session and situation at least for now is resolved.
    I did discuss this with Mark Provenza a few years ago and even suggested the schools hire an attorney through his office. Turned out it was illegal to do so under the law.
    I understand most who write in this blog and their angst with Tony Giardini. I’m beginning to wonder if anyone has anything good to say about him. I’ve only known him for two years so I’ve had less time than most to build any contempt against him. Grammy thanks, you did give me an idea for a question that I need to ask the supt.
    I do however wonder how one is qualified in education law. It looks to me after attending the Ohio School Board Association that firms gravtate to big money.
    On a lighter note Grammy I wanted to tell you who my favorite all time teacher was and I wondered if you knew him. Mario Columbaro from Garfield school, my 6th grade teacher. Just a very good teacher and person, I will always remember that he cared…

  • 12. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 7, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Bill Whew – a loaded question 🙂

    I understand most who write in this blog and their angst with Tony Giardini. I’m beginning to wonder if anyone has anything good to say about him. I’ve only known him for two years so I’ve had less time than most to build any contempt against him

    I would say the “public’ official who wears many hats takes on angst and controversy- polarizing support and non support in those roles. “the private” man may have a whole different timber.

    The public ( we who tread lightly through the mine fields of politics etc) do not always distinguish between who what and how many “hats” one wears. The angst of experiencing a negative in one situation can bleed over to the next different hat wearing issue or situation.

    Therefore , just as the problem I had with Mr. Dimacchia wearing two hats with the Atkinson references etc.it is UP TO THOSE WEARING THE HATS TO MAKE SURE THE LINES AREN’T BLURRED” to those of us who have to buy the hats…..it is a dangerous thing for those who are funded by the great unwashed ( the taxpayers) not to have a clear line of what hat someone is wearing and for them also to understand how they are being perceived- good intentions aside-

    I was asked recently to be “involved” in a committee- I wrote back that I wasn’t sure I would benefit that committee as I bring “baggage” an therefore may add more of a problem than a solution.. we of many hats need to also take a responsiblity when our hat wearing is beneficial or detrimental to the situations in which we want to make a difference…..

  • 13. aka mozart  |  December 7, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    well some folks just don’t look good in hats..others just wear them for vanity… big and bold….look at me hats..and there are those who wear them to keep the hot air from escaping from the top of their head..(.i guess that is when it comes out of the mouth)…I think some wear their hats much too tight…and that is where the hoodies are justtttttt fine!(can’t see me now)!….

  • 14. Hester  |  December 7, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    “I can tell you that the attorney fee’s were cut approximately in half for the district.”
    You can tell me anything you darn well please, but are you telling me this because you have done your due diligence and know it to be fact or because that’s what you’re supposed to tell us? When is the last time the Board saw and/or approved one of his invoices?

    6/12/08 Giardini to work for schools
    http://www.morningjournal.com/articles/2008/06/12/top%20stories/19766876.txt
    “The school board, by a 3-2 vote, accepted Giardini’s proposal to charge the school district $6,000 per month for his services. The $72,000 annual fee…”
    Do you really think that’s all the district is paying him? Get real. Who else was given the chance to submit a proposal? What did they bid for the job?

    This is the kind of stuff that the public wants to know – is entitled to know – and the district should be openly, honestly and transparently sharing and discussing with us instead of making us dig for this public information via public records requests.

  • 15. aka mozart  |  December 8, 2011 at 1:49 am

    Hester, how bout tony’s office that he has at Charleston…Why..why is he always around? In my opinion he is what makes everything look shady. Maybe I will give Loraine the hand written letter he wrote to me so she can share with you,,who he really is.

  • 16. Brian  |  December 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    While some may have a problem of Tony G having an office at Charleston, what is being pointed out is more perceived than an actual problem. The building is an old school building and if another few dozen offices were allowed for others, no one would notice any additional utility costs or even if someone new was walking around the building.

    Schools and city government are the same. The problem isn’t as much about the money coming in. When you borrow money long term to pay short term debts and call it balancing the books and actually expect others to believe you, that is just the tip of the iceburg.

    Mitch Fallis is now on the school board. I see all the leadership he provided with balancing the cities finances, cough… hac… I know what to expect from him on the school board.

    I posted a comment on this board by accident as Hammer, a name I use on another discussion board. I just admitted that I made a mistake and am far from being perfect. People that don’t admit their mistakes are either untrustly, or liars, or a politician.

    There is a lot more to the lost trust issue that goes into peoples decisions and a few words are not going to fix them.

  • 17. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 8, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    You are correct Brian – admitting mistakes is the first step in a process. I know there is a lot of angst and issues. I believe though that we have to explore the road we came on and and where we got lost to retrace our steps and back to a starting point and ensure the sign posts are not missed this time around.

    There are many positves in LCS but the positives are not the problems as my grandmother used to say “sweep out the corners and the middle will take care of itiself”- and words aren’t going to fix the problems you are correct- so what will?

  • 18. Bill Sturgill  |  December 8, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Hester, this is the truth as I know it. I read everything give to me even the financials. I believe all of this is public. The amount Giardini’s firm has been paid over the years would probably average around $300 K, which is approximately one half of what was being paid when I started monitoring in 2004. It ran closer to $600K.
    Grammy’s question above is prevelant in this discussion. Do we pay Mr. Giardini to set in on our board meetings or just in executive session where we need him. Those will be my questions to Dr. Branham on Monday when I meet with him. Also who has access to him in a way that we could be charged. We need to lower all costs no matter what they are.
    I know Mr. Giardini may not be liked by many on this blog. I concern myself with how he serves and helps the school district. It would suffice to say I think he is a very good attorney if I am just judging him on that fact. I can not defend him being head of the Democratic party or whom he rents his property too.
    I can only promise an honest effort and explanation. I hope to see things change for the better in the next couple years. We need to get back to serving the community and the children.

  • 19. Brian  |  December 9, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Mr. Sturgil,
    The statement that the school system has paid Mr. Giardini half of what it paid Stumphouser is a very little value or merit unless it can be demonstrated what services were received and the value.

    If I charged Loraine $600 dollars to landscape her entire yard, mulching, trimmings and put in flowers and charged you half of what I charged Loraine and only cut your grass, would you be getting a super great fantastic deal? I theoretically did the same service, landscaping for both of you and you get to claim that you paid me half…

    What a bargain, what a deal…

    If it sounds to good to be real, maybe it isn’t…

  • 20. Hester  |  December 9, 2011 at 1:48 am

    @mozart
    I wouldn’t know anything about Mr. Giardini’s office at Charleston.
    Maybe your question would be better directed to Mr. Sturgill.

    @Mr. Sturgill & Brian
    Good analogy, Brian. That was exactly my point when I asked about the board seeing and approving Mr. Giardini’s invoices. I have to provide an itemized invoice in order to be paid for my services. Does he? Is the district getting my money’s worth? How do I know? Just ’cause someone says so? That’s not good enough anymore.

    Show us – don’t tell us.

    Just like some of the district’s students, we need a little extra help in order to gain a better understanding of why things are the way they are.

  • 21. Brian  |  December 9, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Hester,
    We have been told what we are allowed to hear about what we are allowed to hear. The fact that the public was told one and only statement that attorney fees are half, knowing darn well that if there was “more of a value to it”, factchecker would have been blabbing it anywhere and everywhere.

    The statement made by the schools needs clarification. There is an IMPLIED statement that Mr. Giardini is charging one half per billable hour than what Mr. Stumphouser was charging.

    I believe that Mr. Giardini is a very talented attorney, but I don’t think that he does the same workload that the other firm did for half the money per billable hour.

    In grade school we are taught that we should compare apples to apples, but as voters and stakeholders, we are given breadcrumbs of information knowing fully by the school district that figures can lie.

  • […] The last few days I have not been able to write and to continue the series on Lorain City Schools. Oh! I could fluff a piece – copy and paste- but the situation in which Lorain City Schools finds itself is worthy of more. https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/lorain-city-schools-what-will-it-take-the-ugly-my-ugly/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031