Lorain City Schools- what will it take Lorain?- the emails

December 7, 2011 at 11:41 am 4 comments

It is apparent to me just how uncomfortable people are to “speak” – it is a fact – and considering on this December 7th – I am reminded how dear the cost paid for the right to speak freely and yet …………………

However, I have put down some of the questions / observations that have come directly to my personal inbox.

1.

– ‘sharing’ rather than ‘reporting’ to the public honestly about all general fund monies and how they are spent. Sharing with the public regarding all grants, and why they ‘match’ goals for our school district…if not apply for one that does. (in order to that the district should have ‘clear’ goals- first, then apply for grants and have programs that support those things).

2.

This ‘could’ be a time to start over and ‘rebuild’- honest dialogue , painful though it may be .

3.

I have been informed there are “empty classrooms in some locations ( Masson?) while some teachers have no teaching space- if true, someone from Charleston needs to walk through these building and take inventory.

4.

When the ‘cuts’ occur how will this happen. Will some programs be ‘gutted’ to save others in their ‘entirety’?

5.

Will special community interest groups continue to have favoritism?

6.

Shouldn’t we try to instill a “love of reading” rather than reading to a test?

7.

The schools keep asking for more money . I just don’t have the money! Stop trying to blackmail me using the students!

8.

Too many problems to be fixed any time soon and under Dr. Atkinson too much micromanaging. The morale at Charleston was very low. Ask a question and you would be seen as an “enemy”.

9.

How many of the new school building have leaks and problems?

10.

IT’S MY MONEY AND I ‘NEED IT ‘ NOW!

to be continued ………

Entry filed under: education, opinion, personal opinion. Tags: , , , .

Lorain City Schools- What will it take- The Ugly (My Ugly) The way of white….. Chris Ritchey

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  December 13, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    The situation that the school system is in can only be fixed by those that have the ability to change it. Unless one wants to continue down the same path that has been traveled over and over, the proverbial ball is now in the systems court and they have to serve something up.

    Discussions about what to do by the public are like asking a six year old to run a company. The public is completely and totally uninformed EXCEPT that the system keeps saying OVER AND OVER they NEED MORE MONEY FROM THE TAXPAYERS.

    That’s all we know. Give them more money or programs will be cut. Give them more money or the state is taking over.

    No options given, all or nothing.

    My van needs the front suspension redone yet again. If someone doesn’t give me some money soon, I might just start having to walk to work. Yea, that’s my story. Who is going to solve my problem for me or should I make adjustments and provisions to address my problem before it gets so bad that I have no other options available?????

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 13, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Brian I can’t argue with you on that ..you are right ……Oh I could give a direction on how I perceive the system to be workable but………. in the end????????? and maybe that is another reason for the apathy …..

  • 3. Brian  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    But the reason why my van is in the shape it is in is because the city doesn’t fund road repairs like it should and why should I try to fix it? I applied for a grant to get a new paint job and it was only enough to do half of it and now why should I pay to get the rest done?

    I forgot to mention that my van was a Ford. Surely if everyone doesn’t want to give me money to fix the suspension, do it for the Fords. If you don’t give me money you must not care about the Fords. This is all about the Fords.

    And also, if someone doesn’t give me some money, I might have to lay myself off because I haven’t gotten a raise from my funder for five years.

    Did I tell you about all the great things my van has? It has hydrolic ladder racks and stuff that no other vans in the county has. If someone doesn’t give me some money I might have to get rid of the great stuff on my van that makes it special.

  • 4. Dr. Tammy  |  December 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Speaking of money….who pays the boards stipend and health benefits (I really don’t know what benefits they have)? If it comes from the same pot the rest of the salaries and bonuses come from, doesn’t that make the board responsible to the system rather than the people who elected them??? Those voters just become a necessary hazard (means to an end). I don’t think I’ve heard one board member say they will run for election and do the job for no money.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031