The way of white….. Chris Ritchey

December 9, 2011 at 12:43 pm 9 comments


I have watched the dawn break once more this morning- not with rosy pink clouds but with a softening of white- the first snow brings with it heartache magnified.

I will be letting the schools series perk over the weekend as I am dealing with an avalanche of emotions… Loraine

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, grief, Love, Mothers. Tags: , , .

Lorain City Schools- what will it take Lorain?- the emails The not so “secrets of the garden”- Lorain- Part one

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  December 9, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    The memories of joyous occasions with family from chilly times from the past can fill our hearts with warmth today.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    would that were the case……………

  • 3. Peter Potamus  |  December 10, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    The kid was born with a talent which was taken from everyone here too soon, Loraine…

    …i’m not just talking about talent of the “pencil” “crayon”, “pen” “brush” or “chalk”…

    …that poster he fashioned “speech can segregate you from everyone” was brilliant in “thought” and that thought had as its manifestation what truly became “a work of art”; to wit, the poster that he fashioned AS EVIDENCED by the poster and its meaning springing to my mind every time I see….

    … these occupy protesters and how the news media is attempting to bury their message (a $.50 surcharge on the trading of each share of stock which would generate $1/3 trillion each year) in about 50 other messages.

    …every one who sees Chris’s poster comes away with something a little different in meaning as it pertains to what they experience within their own lives…

    …that “speech can segregate you from everyone” poster therefore serves as a form of “illumination” and in the shadow of that “light” your son still stands among us all.

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 10, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Yes he did have talent – I remember talking to one of his instructors at CIA he told me – I can give an assignment and it will take a day for the group to come up with a concept- Chris will give me three in 20 minutes…. I can’t teach what Chris has …………. there are so many times I wonder what he would have been able to accomplish……….and I miss him…his humour.

  • 5. Peter Potamus  |  December 11, 2011 at 12:50 am

    The humour, or more accurately “an oblique depth of perception”, is what emanates from the life he lived & the experiences that surrounded him.

    Thanks to you we all have seen a young child playing confidently in the snow become an adult with the soul of an artist

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 11, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Thank you Peter, I knew when I saw that awful self -serving obituary that I could not let the last words written about my son come from the minds of those that hardly knew him. Writing about Chris, sharing his work and who he was has helped me realize I did know my son and I want others to know him too……everyone has a story and this is Chris’s…… not the one I wish I could write but it is his story and my truth and as difficult as it is to write sometimes – there is a peace in putting the words down.

    I have been asked to write a book- I am not sure yet….but I am seeing where the flow of life takes me ….but thank you for your words they mean a great deal.

  • 7. Peter Potamus  |  December 13, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    LORAINNE WROTE:
    ‘Writing about Chris, sharing his work and who he was has helped me realize I did know my son and I want others to know him too……’

    On that topic you have performed swimmingly well, Lorainne… I’m grieving the loss of my little 17-year old chihuahua mix yesterday evening.

    As crushing as my dog’s death is to me, it pales in comparison to a mother’s suffering…

    All who knew my little baby for the four years that I was fortunate enough to care for her saw a confident little doggy who seemed to take delight & entertain herself by “lighting a fire to my behind” & compel me to quit moving so slow…

    I sure didn’t want to wind up on the business end of one of my little baby’s barks; that was for sure

    ..”confidence to be oneself” is a subset of “feeling safe enough to explore” in order to “make sense of the things one experiences around them”

    …and again on that topic, Lorainne— you performed swimmingly well.

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  December 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I am sorry about your little dog- I know that without Misty ( and she is a handful and not the brightest of canines 🙂 she, quite frankly, during the first months of Chris’s passing kept my husband together, her needs, her companionship and sheer love and warmth has done more for him than anyone or anything…….. they love unconditionally and when you lose them your heart is sore pained…..

    in fact you have reminded me that one of the last conversation Chris had was about Misty – he had come home- she was his dog and everynight before he got married and was still living here he would take her across the road and throw the ball again and again and again……she got a bit fat and lazy whilst he was in hospital but when he came back from Texas during his last treatment option he took her across the road and kept throwing the ball for her and then she decided she had had enough took the ball proceeded to trot back across the road and lie down in the front garden. Chris found it very funny and told the tale in the hospital………..

  • 9. Peter Potamus  |  December 14, 2011 at 6:45 am

    Whether we’re here by design or by the grandest of cosmic accidents, it is amazing how our pets, children, siblings. extended family, neighbors and coworkers(who we spend at least half of our waking hours with)become enmeshed in a mosaic that forms the fabric of our life…

    ..keep telling Chris’s story, Lorainne.. there’s a lifetime of memories for you to share with us all

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031