” Win / Win” but not for the consumer

January 7, 2012 at 8:16 pm 6 comments

Well I am back- sort of…. The tale of a “win win ” situation but not for me……..

So January 3rd- all of a sudden I get an announcement come up at the lower part of my screen where my hidden icons usually live.

This announcement declaring a warning that my security has been breached and running “scan” has the following info:

Win 7 2012 security unregistered.

It has the windows logo and the windows security shield and looks just like a windows alert we are familiar with ONLY IT ISN’T!!!!!! DO NOT TOUCH YOUR MOUSE, YOUR KEYBOARD OR ANYTHING JUST SHUT OFF THE POWER AND HOPE!!!!! and cross your fingers

I knew this was a scam because two years ago I got the damned thing twice( only a kind a gentler version) – My virus protection was Trend Micro at the time and I realized that when I was being redirected to other websites that something was up .

I emailed Trend Micro and although scans showed clear. I had the bloody virus thing. In those two instances I worked with their tech support and they had me “hi jack this” and email them with the results and they told me which files were corrupt and had me delete them manually – There was no charge.

I also had Webroot on another computer and was satisfied so when this new computer came with it for free for 6 months I said:
OK! lets see.
And I was happy enough time came for renewal and I renewed – only the card information went to Best Buy.
I called:
What was this all about?

Best Buy has a deal with Webroot and I am assuming with the other virus programs they sell – I was told

Oh! it makes it easier for our customers as they are local

.

OK so on the 3rd I recognized this bloody thing as a virus I knew not to click on anything BUT when I closed the “warning” I OPENED the #4@**!!! thing ALLOWING THE VIRUS TO COME IN SO YOUR VIRUS SCAN DOESN’T PICK IT UP AS A THREAT.

. This new version actually stopped me accessing the internet so I couldn’t, as before, get hold of my antivirus people. Knowing this was beyond my capabilities I took it straight to Best Buy and yes….. it had imbedded itself nicely in my computer.

1. Not only does this virus wreak havoc it also asks you to spend $59.99 to clear your system of all the viruses on your computer

DO NOT BE FOOLED- THIS IS A SCAM AND will cause you untold misery because if you pay them (BY CREDIT CARD OF COURSE) YOU ALSO GIVE THEM CART BLANCHE TO ACCESS YOUR CARD ACCOUNT AND THEY ADD ALL SORTS OF EXPENSES ONTO YOUR CARD
.
This apparently isn’t even illegal because by giving them your card number and agreeing to their terms YOU UNKNOWINGLY ALLOW THIS!!!!!

I had to pay $179.00 to Best Buy for a two year contract to remove repair etc with a two year agreement ( just having them remove it was only a few bucks less) ( let us hope they are in business in two years)
http://www.forbes.com/sites/larrydownes/2012/01/02/why-best-buy-is-going-out-of-business-gradually/
And I was lucky at that because they were having a sale so I SAVED $100.00

WHY ? am I having to pay for Virus Protection and when I get the virus I have to pay for it to be removed.

Well that is the way it is, no virus protection is 100%

I argued that with Trend Micro they had helped me repair my damage two other times.

Never heard of that. We will need your computer for 2 days

So since I was stuck- I paid my money and waited impatiently with numerous phone calls for 4 days. I had important tax info I needed for next week and insurance paperwork etc sitting on that computer. I had a back up external hard drive- that they said would not be affected with the Win 7 but no computer to put it on and I am really worried I should have that external hard drive checked – note that I no longer TRUST anyone ……. The language in this house has been as blue as today’s sky.

The first thing I did when I got back on line was to contact Trend Micro- on line

“If I purchased your antivirus program and you let a virus get through and I ended up with it on my computer , do you charge me to help me take it off?

I quickly received a very nice “chat person” named Andy informing me he could answer my question for $42.00 Sorry readers I can’t afford the $42.00 I suggest you contact your own anti virus people.

So onto Webroot where I immediately received a phone response( probably from India by the accent) who told me:

“Oh Dear madam , ve ar so sorry dat dis as appened but if you would like to pay $259.00 ve can cover you for two years”

ED Note since the accent was extremely thick I am not quite sure of the 259.00 figure all he kept saying is

You vill pay 80 dollar for ( unintelligible) and in two year you could ave more than vun instance…

I gathered he was trying to sell me a two year contract.

I said:

“Wait a minute I am paying you yearly for 24/7protection you tell me how wonderful you are but when a virus- which is well known- slips through my guardian watch dog at the gate and wreaks havoc and destruction YOU WANT ME TO PAY TO CLEAN IT UP AS WELL?

Vell Madam I am so sorry this has happened but no protection 100%

He wasn’t very happy when I said I already signed a contract with Best Buy for $179.00

So there you have it :

you pay for the protection, put your virginal computer self in the hands of the those who are sworn to protect the “watchdogs of protection” seemingly are fairly TOOTHLESS AND WE TAKE OUR MEDICINE you only to end up paying the price “TWICE!!!!

And in the meantime the virus nasties just keep on keeping on…….. and remember nothing is 100 percent and actually you get the blame for accessing a suspect website….errrrrr and since my website trolling is mainly the media websites HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Entry filed under: Corporate responsibility, hell is other people, notorious opponents of exactitude, personal opinion, Ripped Off?, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Semantics and off line – the Win 7 Virus LCCAA – lots of “action” here- not all HELP ( ful)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aka mozart  |  January 7, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    What an ordeal…these dang computers. Never thought I would get into the viral world…mega~bytes..mega~millions…i”ll take the millions thank you. UGH!…(still looking for that vodka)! ha..,u have any? lol!

  • 2. Grammy  |  January 7, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    I had an anti-virus software that prevented me from getting out on the internet and their “tech-experts” could not find out the cause nor a solution. Fortunately I was able to access my own, personal tech-expert who managed to get me into another anti-virus program. He was also able to get me away from the “Win-” “Micro-” related internet and get out in a better fashion. Thank goodness for “personal tech-experts”.

    Hope all goes well now that a fix is in place. Missed you a lot.

  • 3. Joyce  |  January 7, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    I got the same one a few months ago I know how to get rid of it, let me know if you need help.

  • 4. Dennis Lamont  |  January 8, 2012 at 1:24 am

    Just today I got an email from a friend, subject : WOOW and a “click on this ” in the body. yah right. This was on a Time-Warner mailbox. I sent him an email from yahoo mail and sure enough his mailbox had been hacked.

  • 5. Mark  |  January 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    I’ve been the recipient of a number of “hacked” email accounts, sending spam, and less than “safe” links. I’ve sent the senders a heads-up and one of them had the gall to reply back to me (after I spent weeks looking for photos of her as a child), asking who I thought I was telling her that her account was hacked. When I told her exactly who I was, she suddenly became all apologetic. I told her I still wanted her to delete me as a contact. A week later, she still hadn’t done it because I got MORE emails.

    There are a lot of folks that the best thing they could do is to change their passwords from “abc123” or “password” to something with a little more thought.

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 8, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    the trouble with hacked email accounts is that the “cretins” get into someones address book and then send emails out through that address book……now my address might not be in the first address book but a friend’s ( facebook with a twist) so email comes from them to me I opne it and Bob’s your uncle I just infected my whole address book … it is vicious…… I received one from one of my “own” accounts ( one that has just few in the address book) and it sent it to me from “ME” bloody cheek…….. not much you can do except let the person know as you did and contact their account but when I did that YAHOO put ME down as a spammer SIGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I shut that account BUT my one email account has over 3,000 email addresses I have had that one for 15 years…… it is bloody infuriating……..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031