Guess who came to dinner and stayed – Guest Blogger Misty

January 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm 5 comments

Photo Mark Teleha

Ok! my turn to take over the blog! SWMBO ( She who must be obeyed) is in a rare snit this morning ( not that that isn’t unusual) I am hearing her going on about preferring dogs to most people– this is unusual because she really isn’t what I consider a “dog lover” -so those people persons must have done something really annoying.

I don’t know what she has to complain about I have ended up with this house guest who doesn’t seem to be going home . Infact the way he behaves he thinks this is his home. Now he, a rather yippy Pekingese named Tetley, belongs to the one they call Nana.

They have both been here to stay before -for a couple of days at a time- and I would be relieved when they left. But they have been here since the hot days of summer. There was a lot of commotion those first days they arrived. But now things have settled and it looks like the “Tetley” has decided he likes it, I have a feeling he is here for the duration. He has taken over the house!

Hurumph! he sleeps where he wants – EVEN is allowed on the couch and SWMBO’s lap – I am not allowed to do that – I tried the other day to jump on her lap and wa told ” You big lump get off you are too big” – well I may have put on a couple of pounds – I have to make sure I get my fair share of biscuits because Tetley is always in the doggy biscuit barrel. In fact he eats like there is no tomorrow, he is the one getting decidedly pudgy if you ask me – The Nana can hardly pick him up anymore .

One good thing is though that I get extra treats from the one they call Nana so it is OK if she stays, but her “Tetley” is spoiled if you ask me. He likes to bark at pussycats, squirrels and the mailman but has NO CLUE how to stalk his prey quietly – I have missed more squirrels since he has arrived, as for pussycats most of them are bigger than he is – he has a nerve getting in their faces- I have to protect him from them more often than not.

I even protected him from the black and white type and what thanks did I get for throwing myself between him and the danger- a face full of stink and yukky bath stuff and sentenced to the den for two days with the door open. And HE wouldn’t come near me and just laid on the couch with I swear a grin on his face. There is gratitude for you!

In fact he won’t even go out in the morning until I get up ( my one place of sanctuary- he isn’t allowed in the “HWTHSBO’s ( He who thinks he should be obeyed ) bedroom. But Tetley barks and barks at the door until I get up and he follows me out- can’t a girl get any peace and privacy.

The other day all hell broke loose here in our hood- Tetley got out of the fence after another dog- ( not that he could do anything if he tried)- SWMBO was in her pajamas trying to get through the gate and couldn’t – she wasn’t happy because she was saying some very nasty things about HWMBO’s “junk”- doesn’t she know all those buckets etc are needed and are his treasures. I thought I would help and decided I could squeeze through . I thought I might head Tetley off if I went the other direction- all I got for my efforts was MISTEEEEEEEEEEEEE- just you wait- get back here……..

The man from the next street cornered Tetley for SWMBO but she still couldn’t get out the gate (although I did) and Tetley was growling and spitting at the man ( just like a cat if you ask me) so he was scared to pick him up. SWHMBO was yelling to HWMBO to get up, come out and get the dogs. I don’t think he could hear her and as I was on the trail of some delicious smells in the front, I thought the Nana would get him. Apparently she didn’t because she didn’t have her hearing aid in.

SWMBO was getting very angry- paths and junk and gates and hell to pay. There was also something about retwisting her knee and being in pain. I guess she managed to get HWTHSBO because he got hold of Tetley, who was still growling and spitting at the man, then he came and found me down the road..hmm even he wasn’t too pleased with me- can’t understand it I am a “tracker” after all.

Well finally we all came into the house and SWMBO wouldn’t talk to any of us except the Nana. ( that wasn’t too bad actually) for the rest of the day but HWMBO did have to move some of his treasures and spent most of the of the day clearing the path.

Still I suppose it could be worse Tetley makes for good company when everyone is out and is so annoying that I look good by comparison. Oops – gotta go Tetley is going to have a bath and I better make myself scarce unless they decide I might need one too!

Entry filed under: MISTY. Tags: .

Eden Valley Enterprises – Emma “Grandma” Gatewood I am folk weary – God with us or Gott Mitt Uns

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grammy  |  January 15, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    Ah Misty, such are the trials and tribulations of living with those who must be obeyed. Sorry to hear about your troubles, but thanks for trying to help Tetley. Next time you have a run in with the black and white strip, try a combination of hydrogen peroxide, Dawn and baking soda. Does wonders removing the smell, makes your coat shine and although it involves a bath, it definitely helps. Rascal has the same problem with lap sitting, but once in a while I’ll sit on the floor with him so he can cuddle with his head in my lap. Have a great week,

  • 2. aka mozart  |  January 16, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    (i was afarid)…nice!

  • 3. aka mozart  |  January 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    afraid…sorry..i hit send before my brain said “hey stupid”!

  • 4. Lady Marguerite  |  January 18, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Misty, this is Lady, Henery’s cat. So sorry about all the ruckus you have to go through. I know what it’s like to have to deal with someone else. Tigger used to chase me all the time but, after he went to that that big catnip patch in the sky, things got lonely around here. It’s nice not to be chased and hissed at, but sometimes we slept all curled up together, too, and that was nice. I’m finally getting Henery trained to understand when I want to eat, but he wants me to eat real food, when all I want is the snacks in the treat bowl.

    If you can get me a packet of treats, I can sneak over and make something happen to that Tetley character. He’s small enough that, well, let’s just say he might suffer an ‘accident’. Let me know.

  • 5. Misty  |  January 19, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Hi Lady- well I am well and truly in the dog house – our french doors ( don’t know why they are french look Amercian enough to me are now missing two panes of leaded glass. who knew I was that strong I was just trying to get out after that black and white cat that keeps showing up and drive her stinky butt out of the yard…….. Now I am banned even from the den and there has been a lot of moaning about getting special glass and the lead and having to wait until the weather is warmer as heating the lead caused the other glass to crack because it was too cold…… hmmmmmmmmmph I don’t get any respect around here – Hey but I am a good chaser I love to chase pussy cats -come on over…….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031