Murphy’s Law or Mother’s intuition……… which came first

January 28, 2012 at 1:32 am 6 comments

I knew it!!!!! – I remember looking at my daughter a few months ago and thinking to myself

she’s pregnant

– I told my mum- then a few weeks later lo and behold an excited pregnancy test – she was 5 weeks-

No! you have to farther along – you can’t be 5 weeks I knew at least 7 weeks ago. I told Nan

But they all snickered and said

Oh just mum and her premonitions again

and when last month she looked a little bigger than she should be at 32-3 weeks they did an ultrasound and said

oh no the due date is still February 15th.

HMMMMMMMM I think there are wrong – Gavin came 2 weeks early and I figured Murphy’s Law would get me again . I somehow knew that whilst Christopher was having his 1st stem cell transplant in Cleveland I would be running between hospitals and I was right even though Chris was due out of the hospital a week before Nikki was due however Murphy was not to be denied and I ended up to-ing and fro-ing between Cleveland and Elyria.

I looked at my daughter last Friday night and told her Dad

you better pack a bag

. It was going to be his job to stay at the house with Gavin whilst mummy and daddy went to get the new baby. I was ignored, but I packed mine.

Of course according to Murphy the time was ripe – the previous Wednesday Gavin decided to give me his cold and not being a young it was three days coming – three days staying and three days going. I said to Nikki please hold out til Wednesday when I will be over this “gift from your son”.

Sunday just as I was ready to down a shot of NightQuil and crawl into freshly washed bedding that beckoned the weary – the phone rang- I grabbed my bag my husband grabbed his bag ( Oh wait he didn’t have one because

“there is plenty of time she isn’t due for weeks”

MALE non Murphy thinking

The family birthing unit at EMH was the destination- I was not impressed the first time and was decidely unimpressed this 2nd time – more on that later. Braedyn made his appearance into the world just after 6 in the morning . And although they maintain this 6 lb bundle complete with eyebrows etc. is 36 weeks – Murphy and I know better he had at least two weeks on them………

I have realized just how old I am trying to keep up with Gavin, whose energy is seemingly limitless and whose imagination gets us both into trouble- when the dog gates become a makeshift Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and a muddy Scout rushes into the room. Bath time – is an experience to be believed – Gavin nightly tries to prove Archimedes wrong and the water he displaces usually ends up soaking me. One towel for Gavin , one for the floor and one for me.

I have loaded logs with a crane, eaten all sorts of make-believe food- there goes the diet- been sent to the naughty chair more times than I can count for telling him No- flown an airplane, dumped all sorts of things with a truck , danced to Hot Diggity Dog and watched Toy story 5 times without ever seeing the whole thing and that was just today……..

to be continued

Entry filed under: Brit take, Lorain Dude, Mothers, personal opinion. Tags: , , .

Baby Update from Nag Nog – Lorain Dude 2 Christopher Ritchey- The scholarships continue-Thank YOU

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grammy  |  January 28, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    But it’s soooooo much fun to see the world through a child’s eye.

  • 2. Mark  |  January 29, 2012 at 5:12 am

    Being around kids drops your chronological age by 10-15 years. You get to have tons of fun. But when you leave said child, your body feels 20 years older. Ouch.

  • 3. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Ouch is right- yesterday we dodged for hours the flying fish as he flew incase he peed on our heads………. and he helped me make breakfast – lunch and dinner ala ratatouille 🙂 Mother and baby doing well

  • 4. aka mozart  |  January 29, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Are you speaking of “thee” flying fish?..lol…and how is the knee holding up for you? Can we say multiple “curamins” wonder if that herbal capsule was really supposed to be for men…Cure a man…wow, can you imagine if we could bottle that…(No offense to
    Men ofcourse) we’d be rich rich rich!!

    Nice to hear all is well…and a few new tidbits on gotdirt, if find a minute.\
    Chao!

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 30, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Yup it was the dreaded clown fish- who is now on a “leash” and doing things that I don’t think the manufactured ever envisioned…. so far he is holding up which is amazing in and of itself considering the “punishment that takes place ” Gavin’s new favourite ……

    the knee is tolerable and consdering I spent the afte noon being a race car whilst Gavin drove his tractor – he always wins- 🙂 I am surprised I can still walk 🙂 — the curamin seem to be helping

    I am going to watch Downton Abbey and then off to sleep

  • […] https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/01/28/murphys-law-or-mothers-intuition-which-came-first/ Braedyn made his appearance into the world just after 6 in the morning . And although they maintain this 6 lb bundle complete with eyebrows etc. is 36 weeks – Murphy and I know better he had at least two weeks on them……… […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031