Knight or Tin Man – coming up on the first 100 days- Chase Ritenauer

April 5, 2012 at 2:45 pm 10 comments

artwork Scott Bakalar - WoM


The peasants view still holds……..
96 days and counting—— I am sure the local media will do the first 100 days of the new Lorain- Ritenauer Administration. The city that needs hope and has pinned its hope on the young shoulders of Chase Ritenauer .
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/chase-ritenauer-the-peasants-plea-sir-knight-what-will-you-be/
100 days is not a long time in order to change the direction and health of this city /community- but I have seen some things that worry me of late.

However, I will hold those thoughts for a bit and give the chap a chance to get the “house of Lorain ” in order but time will tell – but my optimism is tempered after 100 days – but we will wait and see what transpires but our wishes are still what they were…..

We want jobs, safe streets, good schools, honesty, transparency, chivalry, communication, no playing the game of the snuffleuffagus of suck-ups and integrity- NO MORE POLITICS AS USUAL”

The land of OZ does not need “politicians of the same old political pontificating”

WE NEED LEADERSHIP WITH INTEGRITY- WE NEED LEADERSHIP SET BY EXAMPLE AND STRENGTH – WE NEED COMPASSION – WE NEED INTELLIGENCE – WE NEED PROMISES KEPT-
WE DON’T NEED THE TIN MAN IN THIS RUST BELT OF A CITY WE HAVE HAD ENOUGH OF THAT – THOSE OF US THAT ARE LEFT TO CARE…………

SO WHETHER YOU ARE RED OR BLUE (DEMOCRAT OR REPUBLICAN)
HERE’S TO BETTER DAYS- 100 AND COUNTING – ( NO KOOL-AID PLEASE)

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain, notorious opponents of exactitude, personal opinion. Tags: , .

Grief – Depression- Listening???- American Pyschiatric Association Responds-somewhat Ahhhhhh!!! Easter /Eastre – resurrecting memories, eggs and crabs

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aka mozart  |  April 5, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    Kool aid? that is all that I have been drinking…UHG…what i would give for a peanut right now..,,red of blue…
    .
    Some folks are starting to loose hope Loraine. Supporters that I thought would never utter such a word. I have not thrown in the towel yet…I am still hanging on to that four letter word.

  • 2. Brian  |  April 6, 2012 at 12:29 am

    “We want jobs, safe streets, good schools, honesty, transparency, chivalry, communication, no playing the game of the snuffleuffagus of suck-ups and integrity- NO MORE POLITICS AS USUAL”

    Politicians generally do poorly at creating jobs and safe streets depends on which block you or section of town you live in. There is little hope for the schools, it’s just a matter of time before the State of Ohio rolls in, but everything else you mention carries quite a bit of weight.

    The rest of your list are “character traits”. While you are counting the days… I see it as almost seven 2 week paychecks into the job. It isn’t as much as what our new young mayor has accomplished over the last several pay periods, it is what everyone else that “now works for him” has or has not accomplished over this same time period.

    The last mayor hardly did a gosh darn thing in four years, so my expectations of any “aye inspiring and fireworks blaring news” from the new mayor are quite subdued.

    I believe that many things are the same right now and they are not going to change in the immediate future. Name a single city service that has not been greatly reduced, eliminated, or compormised over the last several years?

    Look over the list of taxes, fees, and renewals that have gone up over the last several years topped off by the borrowing of millions upon millions to get these reduced or eliminated services that I mentioned and I am humbly gonna guess that its gonna take a little longer than a hundred days.

  • 3. gramster1  |  April 6, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Got to have hope, things have to change.

  • 4. gramster1  |  April 6, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Brian, we have to have hope. Without hope we might as well go sit in the basement, pull the wool over our eyes and give up. I for one choose not to take that path. If too many people believe as you do then we are indeed in trouble of apathy taking over. I choose to hope. I will continue to hope that things get back to a positive place for all of us.

  • 5. thatwoman  |  April 6, 2012 at 11:26 am

    sitting in the basement with the wool over one eye 🙂

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  April 6, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    ah Brian – I am beginning to wonder if the rarified air of the 7th floor might have a strange effect on those inhabiting the lofty heights— but time will tell ….but tiny little cracks are appearing in the tower of power – hopefully they are caused not by “settling for suck ups” …. from the one open eye perspective….. 😉

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  April 6, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Mozart well I would like some peanuts too especially the non sugar coated “gallery type” 😉

  • 8. Brian  |  April 9, 2012 at 2:24 am

    Gramster1,
    I never mentioned that I was apathetic, I just believe that thirty some years of how our city has been operating is going to take longer than a hundred days to untangle, let alone reorganize into a lean mean fighting machine. Don’t ask why I just stole that line from the movie, The Longest Yard, but it is optimistic.

    Loraine,
    My eyes are open, I try to to worry about the things that I cannot control, but I keep one eye on what’s going on around me, taking one day at a time, and the other on where I want to be when I turn the big 5-OH in a few short years.

    There isn’t really anything that I can really do for our city except do my part in the little things that I am involved with and think where I want to be a few years from now.

    My kids don’t really give two hoots about Lorain. They are all very bright intelligent young adults now with aspirations that are going to be very difficult to achieve in our community. I didn’t know our Chase until he called me one day a few years ago about my countup on Loraincounty.com about the employee manual.

    I understand that he is a really smart person with an educational background to back it up, is not afraid to get dirty when working with his hands, and lives by goals. I believe that there comes a time in ones life where it is time to allow the younger generation the opportunity to take the wheel.

    The older politicos and workforce, while very experienced with doing things very well “the old way” is never going to create the opportunities that my children, or even other young hardworking goal orientated young adults need to succeed in this city. The older generation has sucked the life out of this city.

  • 9. Brian  |  April 9, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Our younger generation of educated hard working goal oriented young adults don’t give two hoots about the condition of the roads, the waterfront, talk about who is corrupt, or even how broke our city really is. They WANT GOOD NEIGHBORHOODS and GOOD SCHOOLS to sent their kids to. Many of these kids today commute long distances to get to their jobs because unlike forty years ago, everyone has a CAR and can get their jobs just as fast or faster than when our parents had to go to work.

    This sorta explains the mass exodus of people that had good paying jobs years ago that left Lorain for other communities with better neighborhoods and better schools. The job didn’t keep them in Lorain, the automobile allowed them to leave.

  • 10. Loraine Ritchey  |  April 9, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Maybe the gas prices will stop the commuteoil or lack thereof the new non driving force of Lorain 🙂

    I understand your points again- I am just hoping we have guts in leadership and not a cheer leader……….. all I am saying

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30