Time Lapse- July 3rd-Chris Ritchey

July 3, 2012 at 10:43 am 4 comments

1st Mother’s Day card- Christopher Ritchey


Another month has gone- and another 3rd of the month comes round-I know the weeks and months keep passing whilst I am standing still. If I choose to look, I can see through the veil of grief the lines etched upon your father’s face as they become deeper, the slowing of your Nana’s walk and the way her frail little body is bending more and more- her own struggle and pain written there – a countenance of sorrow. Misty no longer the puppy – Gavin who is now a little boy and Braedyn who arrived on the planet months after your death.

Yes I know time has moved on- people have moved on-
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/september-3rd-war-movin-on-hell-truly-is-other-people-chris-ritchey/
you are now just a memory fading in the hearts and minds of most- even those that professed love of you- Do you sometimes creep into their thoughts or have you become

Oh! you remember him what was his name again? Yeah Chris- Chris Ritchey- that was it -

Medical records deemed so important now archived …..unless….. they mistake your death. A phone call……

” Can I speak to Christopher Ritchey please?”

My heart constricts and time stops – I bite my lips as tears stream from eyes in that second’s pause- I choke out the words

” This is his mother – can I help you ?”

IS his mother – not WAS - try not to scream- try to hold onto the present – close your eyes so the world that is whirling about is blocked .

“Oh! Yes — this is the Cleveland Clinic can you remind Christopher he has a PET scan scheduled for tomorrow morning at 9:00 am.”

Tears now awash, flooding from my eyes , their path following the fingers of my hand as it grips the phone against my cheek , the taste of warmth and salt find the corner of my mouth. tears or blood from the biting of my lip- it makes no matter , breathe , the world is out of sync once more as I fight to bring the words up from the depths of my grief.

” Chris died” -

“Excuse me- I am sorry what did you say?”

The words strangle – they will not form, choking , forced from that place of dark reality- an intake of breath- a sharp cold pain – eyes squeezed shut – the words escaping from their imprisonment……
My son Chris, is dead”

Silence – confused – mumbling- from the “scheduling person”

I don’t understand – I am so sorry – there is obviously a mistake- sorry again – is this Chis’s full name- is this his information( which went into detail)- his Dr. ? Dr Pohlman-”


HARD- design Chris Ritchey

Yes! thoughts spinning as I see once again the man, from the Cleveland Clinic- Dr.Pohlman in his crisp starched white coat, beautifully talored slacks, white framed glasses and a small diamond stud catching the flourescent light of his examination room, he of the ice cold hands- he is before me once more- with his charts – every word reaching- pulling me back to the past – the memory of those days of death. The confused voice on the other end of the phone breaks through to the present

Er.. I am so sorry for your loss – I am not sure what happened Sorry I am sorry………

and she hung up

She- presumably went on with the rest of her day scheduling the tests or whatever calls she had to make – unaware she was the unwitting conductor opening once again the portal to a time past filled with anguish and pain..

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/the-good-dr-or-dentist-part-two/

I was once again in my living nightmare – unable to stop the tears and the missing of you – seeing you hooked up to machines and the “team” Drs. who now smile at me from the television screen selling their miracles——- yes another month and once again time stops with just a phone call…………..

and another night begins and another day — waiting for release ……. as the world rushes on ………. and it is so damned hard !

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Doctors/Physicians, grief, hell is other people, medical, Mothers, opinion. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Been round my block lately? Lorain’s story My immortality- my eyes- the new keepers of happiness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aka/mozart  |  July 3, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    ah Loraine…another month has roled by…another story…i am glad that this helps you heal…perhaps not heal…but it must do something.

    I wish you a peaceful day in your revisit…maybe the rain gave you some comfort….i went and saw the judge today…in the rain..and if felt…GOOD!

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 3, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    no comfort but I know that writing helps, gets it out of my gut……….

  • 3. gramster1  |  July 5, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    It’s no surprise that something like that happens from such a large “institution”. They don’t have a clue what’s really going on. Communications are non-existent unless they are looking for money.

    Luckily you didn’t have a religious figure tell you that your loved one’s death didn’t count for their celebration since they weren’t buried from the church. Money again!

  • 4. Loraine Ritchey  |  July 6, 2012 at 11:23 am

    no I had Chris stolen by them( the religious community) in my opinion- considering he wanted nothing to do with their church- ended up taken from those who still grieve ( we all knew that the Lombardis and co would soon forget Chris—once he was no longer a use to them. But the vipers – they had to have their way and now he lies in cemetery not of his faith surrounded by the family “plot” and that Priest KNEW how he could put my son in the ground and be a party to the fact his family were unaware …… Like everything else throw the money at them and well suprisingly the rules and the intent of those can change……. yeah I have no problem with religion just those that use it to benefit themselves……Priest ridden ( an old saying)

    As for the Cleveland Clinic…… well not their fault I suppose..we are all just another number ……. whether it is plot 216 or file 11216….Chris was a medical experiment in the end……

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 136 other followers

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers