Slings and arrows of advers(IT) y Ah ME!!!!City of Lorain

April 8, 2013 at 11:21 am 5 comments

meSSENGER

Apologies to William Shakespeare and to Sophocles

Is it nobler to suffer the slings and arrows ?

” . Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them”………

…….The insolence of Office, and the Spurns
That patient merit of the unworthy takes,

“No one loves the messenger who brings bad news”.

mantiniarcher
And it seems I, the email messenger, am the bearer of bad news- tenacious and annoying as I am – I am apparently getting up the nose of the City of Lorain ( once more) well at least Mr. Mantini’s nose. You see he “seemingly ” just doesn’t know what to do – I don’t add up and that is what he does best – adds up.

Since last year I have pointed out an issue with my emails to the city of Lorain not going through more often than not.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/blacklisted-who-knew-it-is-all-in-a-ip/
Like a good little consumer I went the route I did as that is what I was supposed to – from changing emails- to changing servers from Yahoo to G mail to Roadunner – and then

“It’s you ” It’s Time Warner, It’s Yahoo, It’s windows, it is your email addy , it is your server , IT IS YOU… but it isn’t US say the city.

I have pointed out my issue for days, weeks and months and of course it is most frustrating to be the complainant for a situation over which you have absolutely no intellectual or physical control. You see I am paying for the expertise on both ends the sending and receiving. I cannot understand how it is I have to be the one to find a solution but

that being said I have worked ( especially after my complaints at the public meeting)

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/a-time-with-time-warner-lorain-city-council/
with the technicians from Time Warner I have been on a learning curve of a journey ;)-

Just a note here: CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE: the people I have worked with one on one from Time Warner techs have been professional and patient with this troglodyte of technology and the terms. They have done their level best to find my solution to being blocked . As the city says “
ecelerity

“This message was created automatically by the mail system (ecelerity).not authorized, your IP has been found on a block list

Time Warner and I have worked and worked and this week I have had THREE, count them three IP “different IP addresses”, – all of which according to the great and powerful “ecelerity” have been found on a block list.

After the latest round of inconsistenly blocked emails I sent out this email to Time Warner and also to the some of the city folks –

The email:

Ok I have unplugged the router (WIFI) taken it away completely and interestingly I have another IP today by the way the old IP address which “ecelerity” said was on a block list was

71.XX.XXX.XX it was on the PBL list

the next IP address after we changed modems came up as 71.X.>XXX.XX that also came back as a block when the router was off…….. not consistently one out of three

However the router is now totally removed the new IP address of today is
24.93.XXX.XXX also on the PBL list

I am sending this to the city IT and the Chief of Staff…. just to keep them in loop- theirs is the ONLY email server causing this issue for me and that is the City of Lorain …. Derek I am sending this to you private mail as well just to make sure – I will be sending out emails to city dept in the next 24 hours they will say test as obviously yesterday some got through and some didn’t in the same email. eg CaXXXX.

notpeng

An email from Councilman Given( who was instrumental in holding the public Time Warner meeting) was sent to Mr. Mantini ( you see my email ( above) did NOT make it to the IT dept or anyone else in the city of Lorain that day.
Mr. Given sent his own email to Mr. Mantini

Looks like it’s a CITY problem

And the response from Mr. Mantini – not to me “directly” mind you- you know ME – the one who has been trying diligently to sort out the issue but to Dan Given, whom apparently is my new postmaster and messenger middle man himself………
emphasis mine!!!!

Dan, on average we get 3-4,000 emails daily and we have turned down our security and are only running our spam filter. Tell “her” to send the Time Warner tech. to my office and work with my IT guys.Ron Mantini

My patience is lost and my response to the City of Lorain Auditor ( what is it with auditors anyway- they seem to have a very annoying impact on my blog 🙂
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/hear-ye-hear-ye-all-rise-the-right-hon-public-opinion-presiding/

arrogant

Ron:

I don’t believe your spam filters are the issue – you have a larger issue –
and IT IS NOT JUST ME having these issues but I am the messenger . However, I and Time Warner are negating everything that could be a problem from my end , since you seem so sure I am doing something to cause the issue – leaving only your end.

Mr. Mantini
IT IS NOT UP TO ME – THE CONSUMER- TO SEND TIME WARNER TECHS TO YOUR OFFICE- IT IS UP TO YOU TO CONTACT THEM- I AM NOT A PAID EMPLOYEE OF TIME WARNER NOR AM I AN ELECTED OFFICIAL IN CHARGE OF AN IT DEPARTMENT . Let us remember this I am the consumer – I pay taxes and fees both of which the city benefits from-

Now ,you can ignore the issue, hope I go away ( which is not likely ) , you can pass the blame and the buck, you can admit you haven’t a clue as to why this is happening BUT YOU CANNOT expect me to do the job of an IT person trying to fix the problem or keep acting as a middle man. If it is not my IP or Time Warner then that leaves the city of Lorain mailserver – did you ever discover who ecelerity is???

Questions I would suggest you get answered from your mail servier

1. I now have had three different IP addresses in a week not all can be blocked IP( spam ) list- I believe that is an erroneous message as to a blocked IP list- as none of the three IP’s of this week are on a blocked IP list just the PBL list -if that is the issue then that is the “filter” I would check into from YOUR end…. and why when sending to 8 city of Lorain emails does 7 get through with no problem but one comes back undeliverable. Your server is inconsistent ….

and just because you get 30 thousand a day does not mean you are getting ALL of the emails sent to you.

I have CC this to Mr. Thomas of Time Warner who attended the public meeting – sorry you weren’t there to be introduced.- whom I am sure would be only too pleased to to introduce a Time Warner rep to you . As I said at the meeting- had you been there to hear- it is not up to me but to the parties involved who are receiving my money for a service to sort it – Thank you Loraine Ritchey

I am not, at the time of writing, sure of anything that has happened since- but I do know that City of Lorain IT ISN”T ME!!!!! But what I will say is: the ME who happens to be the MEssenger and the consuMEr has a long MEmory!!!!

squeaky  wheelIT

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

April 3rd- changes- the empty chairs – Chris Ritchey Clotted Cream, The Grey Lady , The Iron Lady, The lost gardens

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich Robbin  |  April 8, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Go, go, go!

  • 2. gramster1  |  April 8, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Amazing also is the fact that ALL of you messages get to Georgia, through lots of “technical” gizmos!!!!! Seems that there is a “shield” around Mr. Mantini’s computer “service” that has selective acceptance components in place.

  • 3. muley  |  April 9, 2013 at 12:52 am

    maybe he needs another raise to fix it. (smile)

  • 4. Dennis Lamont  |  April 9, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Funny thing, mine bounce for awhile to some city individuals and then go thru, then bounce again, then go thru, doesn’t correlate with moon or the planets or the tides. ???? Sometimes the mailbox is shown as full, other times blocked. It seems that I have no problem answering a message from the system just getting an original thru the service screen.

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  April 9, 2013 at 11:35 am

    you aren’t alone 🙂 Dennis and neither am I but “they didn’t believe me” 🙂 also it wasn’t just a YW issue it was also centurytel customers having this happen – but I am such a prolific mail most days to the city .anyway I am now on my 4th IP and although I hestitate to check this morning it has been fine since Friday –

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930