What would Chris do??? Chris Ritchey

August 29, 2013 at 8:13 pm 10 comments

chrismarket.

Today I received an enquiry as to whether I would like to display some of Chris’ work in a show in Cleveland along with his peers.

I want so much for the world to know there was a young man full of life and talent who fought so hard to live, to contribute to this life , to share his talent , his art but was was cut off in his prime. Ironically today , 4 years ago – The Cleveland Clinic for all their “stated miracles” – pronounced his death sentence. I have been reliving that scene over and over today

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/september-3rd-drs-love-labor-lost-cleveland-clinic-chris-ritchey/

I received a note after Chris passed from his employer who stated he was on the verge of doing great things in his chosen career field. He never got the chance to blossom.

Every mother who has outlived her child wants and needs for their son or daughter’s life – no matter how short- to be not only remembered but acknowledged.

Design- by  Chris Ritchey

Design- by Chris Ritchey

Oh! I have so much of Chris’s work here BUT it is basically his homework from college- his learning curve . Some of the most important pieces to me are ones I rescued from the trash as he threw them out. Having been an actress, at one point in my life, I know the audience should see the well rehearsed- finished production not the “read through and blocking rehearsals”.

My son , speaks to me through his work – he confirms to me that I did know who he was and what he wanted from life.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2010/04/20/i-didnt-know-my-son-chris-ritchey/

This is the quandary! What would Chris do?… would he trust me to be critical of the pieces I chose for public display among his peers. Should I even consider it? Would he agree- or would he say?

Mum, what are you thinking?


csp

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Love. Tags: , , , , , .

” Victory ” no longer empty handed – V for Volunteers Sept 3rd- Tears Shed as Humour Found-Chris Ritchey

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gramster1  |  August 29, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Chris trusted you always, I believe if you were asked to display works, then display works. His message continues always. If DaVinci, Michelangelo and the other “masters” can continue to display, then those of masters to be should be displayed. Trust your heart to chose the right pieces, you’ve displayed them here, display them for a wider audience.

    Love and hugs,

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    well I will have to see what sort of space… here I have the jpgs and scans not sure about mounting etc. Oh well I guess that can be sorted…….. I am leaning toward his freedom of speech posters….. and including those because that is what he was all about…. 🙂

  • 3. Dave  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    Go for it!! Maybe the CIA folks can help you with selection, framing etc. As long as we celebrate and enjoy his art work, he lives on.
    (y)

  • 4. Dave  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    shucks! The (y) was supposed to be code for the “thumb’s up” symbol…

  • 5. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    well I only have a week soooooooooooooooooooooo

  • 6. Rich  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Display! Don’t criticize pick whatever number they want and ‘just do it’. If you do it wrong you KNOW you will never hear the end of it …..and from you know who 🙂

  • 7. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    Hmm thumbs up Dave – that was the only way he communicate when he was on the vent maybe he will be OK with my choices.. a lot of his work was on slides and computer files – anyway we will see…. I guess I am going to do it – Nikki says yes……. well I guess we are on…. will announce the where and when… once everything is confirmed…

  • 8. Loraine Ritchey  |  August 30, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Well I have decided to participate with some of Chris’s work…. especially in the hopes of promoting his scholarship at CIA

  • […] They know each piece of art work , they know you,they trust in you and love you. You are as real to them as their cousin Tony who lives far away…. Your art has graced the pages of periodicals, the web and continues to be shown . https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/what-would-chris-do-chris-ritchey/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031