Jan. 3rd- The Three- Chris Ritchey

January 3, 2014 at 12:40 pm 6 comments

chrnikhap

I was sure I would be receiving a bill from the hotel that year. Nikki had just come back from her honeymoon- Tony had flown over from London for her wedding gone back and then returned again to spend New Years. hottbres

It was a strange New Year’s Eve that year. Nikki had left this house for her new home – she had been here for all her life until the night before her wedding . That Christmas marked the first of the many changes. You and Tony made your way to Kennedy’s and apparently you felt badly your dad and I were by ourselves, so you brought back half the bar with you( complete strangers) so we wouldn’t be alone. I was not sure I fully appreciated that particular gesture 😉

nikski
January Third– and on a whim Nikki , Tony and you decided to go skiing for a couple of days. I watched as the three of you drove off laughing and waving, I knew then , even though Nikki was now married , you and she would continue to be close and be best friends. I was happy in the knowledge that you would always have each other and no one would come between you. I didn’t figure on cancer and cruelty ……

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/a-letter-a-legacy-nikki-to-chris-ritchey-sister-to-brother/

I didn’t know what transpired on that trip, there was much giggling and knowing looks passed between the three of you on your return but I was a little worried when Tony said :

if there are any damages just let me know I will cover them…..

I never received any bills but during the course of the months after you died and going through your portfolio I came across a box ( yes another box)
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/boxes-little-boxes-outside-the-box/

filled with photos that obviously held a special place in your heart – and there you three were – once again with your sister and the closest person you had to a big brother……….

crbed 003
The photos told the tale a Murphy bed -the entertainment

nikbed
crbed 001
crbed 004

I saw once again the laughter in your eyes when you were “up to something”

crbed 002and could it be to win a bet crbed

that caused you to take a “run ” in the snow that night…

chrsnow

The photos made me laugh and broke my heart at the same time. Oh ! how I wish this January 3rd was as full of laughter and life.
I will think of you running in the snow , laughing and loving your life , your sister, your true friends and “daring” thanks to another little box of mementos of moments I know were very special to you and are precious to me…….

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, grief, Love, Mothers. Tags: , , , , , .

Gabriel Miller- a light still reaches into the darkness A Lesson in Lilacs- Lilacs Past- Crumbling Concrete- Lorain

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robert J. Gargasz  |  January 3, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    My hope for all is to have that courage to take a run in the snow!

  • 2. Tony  |  January 3, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Special times with special people these memories will never leave me

  • 3. Mary Springowski  |  January 3, 2014 at 5:32 pm

  • 5. thatwoman  |  January 4, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    thank you everyone- when I started my journey after being told by his ‘bride” after he died that I didn’t know my son I didn’t think that I would still be finding him and who he was these many months and now years later – I am not sure anyone truly knows anyone but many months ago I came to the realization- I knew and know my son and that he truly put his family before even his own pain and I have also found compassion as well as cruelty and for those of you who have been patient and kind and come along on this journey with me your support means the world……. Love Loraine

  • 6. Loraine Ritchey  |  January 4, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks Geepa good to know 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031