March 3rd- feeling the energy- Chris Ritchey

March 3, 2014 at 12:00 pm 4 comments

Hard signature

The domain in the garden past the pond

pondlife

is a place I don’t frequent- it was and is your father’s “area’ and like his basement not a place I care to go or for which to take responsibility. The Weeping Willow hid a lot of his sins- but that too had to go last spring.

treestumpcol

I still kept to my end of the garden and closed my eyes to the time it was taking to get the garden back into some sort of order. The truth be told I no longer had the “energy to fight the blight” that is the male idea of “need.

But one day , late last summer , I could stand it no longer and I had to do “something’ to tidy up. I moved the wrought iron trellis which had been leaning up against the garden wall. I positioned the trellis by the side of the garage over the curve in the pathway by the boat. Hopefully this would hide the “boat” from my view, a job the Willow did so well. I took the grape vines that were in abundance and tied them up on to the trellis. Then, as I precariously stood upon the step-ladder, I turned toward the garage to tie in the next side of the trellis. My eyes became fixed , not really taking in what I was seeing – they saw where you had left your name in paint on the garage wall.
chrpnt2res

Unexpected, as it was, the effect was instantaneous I felt my knees buckle , my breath catch, and those eyes that have cried so many days and nights filled once more with tears. I was transported back from the present once again, in the memory of my mind, to another place and time where once again we walked, talked, hoped and waited in vain for a cure ………..no work of art ever touched me so profoundly as that signature .

Oh! the explanation is simple enough you were , that spring , helping your father to paint the side of the garage – but everything went wrong – cancer and chemo put paid to painting but not before you had taken a brush and used your energy to write your name in the old paintwork.

Your father told me that he couldn’t bring himself to paint over your name so there it has stayed these many , many months, unbeknownst to me, as I never venture past the pond if I can help it. .

I can still see the energy you used in the writing of your name , the pressure of the brush to wood, the adding of paint to the brush as you proclaimed you were here at that time” .

Not being an artist or an art critic, I was always a little perplexed when I would hear ” the energy of the brushwork”- but here it was – not a Van Gogh or even a Boccioni http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umberto_Boccioni
or Julia Watkins https://www.facebook.com/pages/Energy-Artist-Julia-Watkins/69027658560

Chris Ritchey

Chris Ritchey

Just a young man on a warm spring day leaving his mark on the garage before he painted over it -something that never happened. Yet, seeing your name, left there these many months brought home once more how I much I still love you , a love that grows and doesn’t diminish , miss you, your laughter and your energy

My heart is in pieces and I miss you more than life itself………. and yes it is “Hard” harder than I ever thought possible to bear.

Artwork Chris Ritchey

Artwork Chris Ritchey

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, Fathers, grief, Love, men of substance, Mothers. Tags: , , , , , , .

What Happens when you hit Publish instead of Preview The Hat and the Tour Guide- CVSI- Lorain

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark Teleha  |  March 3, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    He keeps finding ways to say “Hi” to you.

    I think of you every 3rd, too. Hugs.

  • 2. Loraine Ritchey  |  March 3, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks Mark and yes there are stranger things than I ever dreamed of in my philosophy 🙂 and they keep me on the planet…. 😉

  • 3. Barbara Macgregor  |  March 6, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    Memories and love will always be with you and that is a beautiful thing

  • 4. Retribution- DYE a Tribed- The process | That Woman's Weblog  |  January 29, 2015 at 11:40 pm

    […] . But that is NOT ALL I am guilty of – that 90 year old garage – well shame of shame -it needs painting ( as readers were aware) and was in need of repair when my son went to help his father to do so -Unfortunately cancer and grief got in the way- https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/march-3rd-feeling-the-energy-chris-ritchey/ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31