May 3rd – The pipes were calling- Chris Ritchey

May 3, 2014 at 3:35 pm 1 comment

nikmiscelticso“a confluence of air and water to beat against the bastions”
( Mary Queen of Scots- Maxwell Anderson)

I have been trying to deal with so many “confluences” beating against me since your death- things change and yet stay the same. I have been hoarding memories, as there are no new memories to be made. I realize I can no longer pull your face into my mind -sight with out the effects of the damned cancer. I can look at photos of the before and “smile at the old days” but when I think of your face it is with “pain and dying”. So I run from the image, it is so much agony to stay.
MQSres
I wrote in the previous post about the “culture” club when I first arrived here and I was taken back to a time of the Scots.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/history-view-lorain-can-you-see-what-i-see/

The Highland Arts became quite important and took up a lot of time in those early days of your life. Your sister dancing , your father piping and I was on the performance trail with Jean Schaeffer and Mary Queen of Scots
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2008/01/24/that-mentoring-woman-jean-schaeffer/
and writing for Dancer Magazine with a Highland Highlights column.
http://lritch7.tripod.com/
Yes! Scotland and the Celts took up a lot of time and money.
nessie1
Whilst your sister sat atop Nessie that year a little boy was “kilted” and part of the festivities of that International Festival.
chris littleres
We travelled here and there , I was usually at the dancing and you were with your Dad.

– I believe, out of boredom with the dancing venue and more in tune ( no pun intended ) you started on the pipes.
getting readyres But you and your sister were never far apart from one another, usually moaning about judges and having to be in competition but there were good times and memories I will cherish til the day I hear the pipes calling me home.
OGMres1993pbdabceres

You grew into a teenager and all that goes with it , as I remember, the last time we persuaded you to attend the piping college only met with your agreement because of a dancer you had met , who was also attending that week-long event. It wasn’t love for Scottish arts that pulled you to Oberlin that year but girl from Illinois

Piping collage

It was the last time you attended – Soccer became all important and you were good but you had a talent for the pipes – you just hated the practice….. But I know all things Celtic never left you altogether

Breath of Life - Celtic Knot - Chris Ritchey

Breath of Life – Celtic Knot – Chris Ritchey


I wish so many things , I wish I could see your happy smiling face once more in my minds eye without the cloud of cancer.

Entry filed under: Chris Ritchey, death, grief, Love, men of substance, Mothers. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

History View- Lorain- Can you see what I see Humira- the Black Box and YOU

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  May 3, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I share some of those memories! Beautiful piece.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031