Kinks – On being a hyphenated – American part three

June 25, 2014 at 3:26 pm 4 comments

Untitledres

Back to the series of an immigrant trying to immerse herself in America and the “American” way of life in Lorain, Ohio

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/06/15/kink-s-in-fathers-day-best-of-british-pt-one/

https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/kinks-culture-shock-best-of-british-pt-2/
after I was so rudely interrupted by “topical news” of Judges, taxpayers https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/lorain-county-judges-crowing-with-chandra/
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/chandra-cha-chinging-away-county-coffers-and-how-it-is-done/
and Point of Sale, Lorain.
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/history-view-lorain-can-you-see-what-i-see/

Lorain – How did I end up here? The bus broke down as mentioned in part two.

My young husband never one ( at that time) to let the grass grow under his feet whilst waiting for a replacement bus looked up electronic establishments, called one , got an immediate interview and thus we became Lorainites.

My  Dad and I happier times

My Dad and I happier times


And I tried, so help me I tried, to immerse myself as my father had suggested into the American Way of life and style. However, that was more difficult than he ever imagined it would be . You see I came into a hyphenated community .
https://thatwoman.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/history-view-lorain-can-you-see-what-i-see/
Apparently in Lorain you were Italian- American, Afro -American, Native-American- Irish -American , Polish American, Dutch- American, Scottish – American, Hungarian- American, German- American , French -American, Croation- American, well you get the picture! Lorain, celebrates her hyphenated diversity with a large “ethnic festival” attended by thousands. Lorain will be celebrating this week the Polish Community poland

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lorain-International-Association-Festival-Bazaar/223402224350863
flags

Rarely does Lorain celebrate being American, Oh! Veterans Day, Memorial Day , they come together as Americans after disaster strikes- our fighting men and woman are classified as American – no hyphenation then and this week during the USA world Cup we are the “Americans” . But the diversity of the team is discussed by the USA ” newscasters, “he is part Cherokee” .

You can see my dilemma, as when I took my
American citizenship test (that is correct you are tested, at least you were)I was specifically told by the Department of Immigration and Naturalization

“there is no such thing as a “hyphenated American” you are now a citizen of the United Sates of America !

, how could I become solely American as required by my father and the US government when the Americans in the community were hyphenated? What exactly does it mean to be
American?

Which group should I go with , the Italians, the French, the Irish, the Germans, errrr no that would have been too much to ask of an ex pat Englishman/woman. Funnily enough I didn’t find any hyphenated “English- Americans” or British -Americans.
raising of te grand union flag

I suppose a little war in 1776 didn’t make being “British” too popular- maybe we “English” felt more comfortable being low-key and becoming non- hyphenated Americans . All I know is I couldn’t find any hyphenated “English – American” closest was the Canadian Legion but they were mainly, Irish Welsh and Scottish at the time. I was at sea.

I have never been one for organized religion but in strange country and city where every one was hyphenated I looked for a familiar church- I was Church of England – or an Anglican – in fact I was brought up as Low Church on my mother’s side .


Low church is a term of distinction in the Church of England or other Anglican churches initially designed to be pejorative (derogatory). During the series of doctrinal and ecclesiastic challenges to the established church in the 17th century, commentators and others—who favoured the theology, worship, and hierarchical structure of Anglicanism (such as the episcopate) as the true form of Christianity— began referring to that outlook (and the related practices) as ‘high church’. In contrast, by the early 18th century those theologians and politicians who sought more reform in the English church and a greater liberalisation of church structure were called “low church”. “Low church”, in an Anglican context, denotes the church’s simplicity or Protestant emphasis, and “high church” denotes an emphasis on ritual or Anglo-Catholicism.

For the life of me I couldn’t find even a “C of E” anywhere. The someone suggested that I need to look into the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer –Episcopal what ever was that? http://danielebrady.blogspot.com/2011/06/church-of-redeemer-then-and-now.html
enlarged

I had heard of Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian etc. in my native land but Episcopal, no can’t say I ever heard of it. But there was probably a reason for that

photo Dan Brady

photo Dan Brady

Episcopal Church- USA
The church was organized after the American Revolution, when it separated from the Church of England whose clergy are required to swear allegiance to the British monarch as Supreme Governor of the Church of England, and became the first Anglican Province outside the British Isles

So here was I – without a non hyphenated culture in which to immerse myself, and even a church that was “missing”. What was a young immigrant to do ?

to be continued

Entry filed under: a Cow -elle opinion, city of lorain, everything else, opinion. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Point of Sale , Lorain- A history – a result Kinks- All In a Name- A Carta and Constitution- A Trojan Horse part four

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30